Book Reviews

The Looneyspoons Collection

Janet Podleski, Greta Podleski

Inspirational, Health & Healing, Diet/Fitness

978-1-4019-4196-3

Lick your lips and shrink your hips with THE LOONEYSPOONS COLLECTION Jam-packed with "the best of the best" Janet & Greta recipes... made even BETTER! Better carbs — Better fats — More fiber — Le... More

Mar 27, 2013 moneysavingmommiesx2
Mommy in Ga says:
I am a mom of 4 so I am always looking for new ways to shed a few pounds!! The baby will be 4 in may and I swear people only accept "It's from my pregnancy" as an excuse for so long!!

I saw this book in the Hay House Book Nook and thought it looked like a fun and easy solution to the problem I have! There are tons of recipes and they all have really fun names. I was trying to think of ways to tie Easter into this post and ran across:

Deviled in Disguise (your not so traditional deviled egg) and Shanks for the Memory (old-fashioned, smokey ham and split pea soup) thinking they would tie in to Easter nicely for the mere fact you can use your leftover ham and boiled eggs to do these!

These are only 2 of the 325+ ("I can't believe these are healthy") recipes in this book and I just want to tell yall, almost all of them sound delicious and the motto the authors, Janet and Greta Podleski, is "Lick your Lips and Shrink your hips!"

This cook book covers your:
appetizers (get appy)
Salads (Become a beleafer)
Soups (Ladle Gaga)
Vegetarian (Eats Without Meats)
Pasta (When Ya Hasta have Pasta)
Chicken (Chicken Worth Pickin)
Your Fish ( A fine Kettle Of Fish)
Beef and Pork ( It's a Meat Market)
Ground Meat (Ground Keepers)
Sides (The Bright Sides)
and of course you have to have:
Sweets (Bring Home The Bakin')

These are just a few of the fun Play on words' that they do, I was reading some of these titles and actually laughed out loud.

The recipes taste good, are good for you and best of all, help you keep an eye on your figure without losing the flavor!!!

Hope you will keep this cookbook in mind when you are in need of a new one!!

disclaimer: I received this book from Hay House Inc. in exchange for as honest review and all opinions are my own.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 21, 2013 KJRoche
Jeff and I picked up the Looneyspoons Collection recently and haven't put it down. It's simply that good. It's funny, easy to read, accessible in cooking techniques, loaded with nutrition fun facts, and brimming with recipes. Yes, there are 325 recipes - almost all of which we actually want to make!

So far, in the month we've had the book we've poured through more than a dozen - all with rave reviews. Aunt Chilada's Stuffed Tortillas were a great weeknight treat as was the Bye Bye Burgie portabella burger and the Rice is Right fried rice dish. The Eggplanet Hollywood was so delish we sent a batch to a friend caring for a sick child. The Piled High Veggie Pot Pie was warmly comforting on a cold winter Sunday. The Pumpkin and Spice and Everything Nice muffins were a hit with the kids. And, the Batter-Be-Good-To-Me Pancakes are my favorite pancakes...ever! (And, yes, all the recipes have corny titles like these. Hands down to the women creative enough to concoct 325 unique, corny recipe names!)

If you are new to the kitchen, expanding your go-to recipes, or interested in learning more about healthy eating, this collection is fantastic. We wholeheartedly recommend it! In the nutritional nuggets, recipe tips, trivial tidbits, and other fun facts you'll learn about everything from the health benefits of ingredients and cooking tips to the evils of diet soda and factory farming. It's all here in the nearly 400 pages of yummy goodness!

With a caveat, this book is a great resource for real foodies, too. Consumers of unprocessed foods will have to make some substitutions because some of the ingredients in this "healthy" cookbook are anything but clean. For example: light dairy products, Knorr soup mix, white flour, white sugar, ranch-flavored cream cheese, and (my personal anti-favorite) reduced-fat canned crescent rolls. Use your favorite substitutions (spelt flour for white flour, honey for sugar, coconut derivatives for you paleo folks), and you'll be great!

Overall, this book is a great addition to our library and yours! In fact, with the dozens of cookbooks in our home, this is the book we've got out as we prepare for a weekend visit from my mother-in-law. Is there any better endorsement than that? Enough said!

Note: Hay House gave us a copy of this book to review. We're grateful for it and Hay House! And, no, getting the book for free didn't sway the opinions expressed herein. (Pardon the legalese, it's my native tongue.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 03, 2013 Mystic812
When I first received The LooneySpoons Collection from Hay House publishing for review purposes, I really didn’t know what to expect. Since I personally have a large library of many different types of cookbooks, I pretty much was expecting another run of the mill “healthy eating” cookbook. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw this book. Packing in over a whopping 325 recipes in all, I didn’t know where to start, so many of the recipes were appealing. I loved the very witty recipe names the authors used from various tv shows, movies and songs, such as “Bean Me Up, Scotty”, and “Everybody Loves Raysins”. Each page has colorful and comical food related graphics as well as photos of some of the dishes. What I liked was that each recipe is very clearly presented with not only the actual nutrition information for the recipe, but there are recipe tips, nutritional nuggets, trivial tidbits and random jokes all throughout the book. What really impressed me about the recipes was that the lists of ingredients were not too lengthly or exotic. It won’t have you running around to several different stores looking for obscure ingredients that you’ll only use once and be stuck with. When there is a call for canned ingredients, it is either low fat, no salt added or low sodium that is listed. I’ve tried several of the recipes and some of my favorites are the “Thai Beau” (Thai coconut chicken with mango and basil), “I’m Dreaming of a White Chili”, and “The Rice is Right” (veggie fried rice). In the dessert section, which is labeled the “House of Carbs” chapter, there are some great looking recipes to try, like the ”Fantasy Island Cake” and “Oops! There it is! Chocolate Cake” which are healthier and lower in calories. There are a few dessert recipes in the back of the book in the “Splurge Worthy” chapter, where there are no calorie counts given because they are richer recipes. The chapter description has a funny warning for the recipes because they are so good and highly addictive. There are only 3 cake recipes and one main dish recipe in this chapter thankfully! The authors were even kind enough not to leave old Fido out either. There’s a recipe in the book for healthy dog biscuits too! All in all, this cookbook is different from most, because you don’t feel as if you’re being forced to eat things you don’t like to stay healthy. This book has lots of variety, with easy, tasty recipes that won’t cost a fortune to make. If I had not received this book for free from Hay House, I still would have purchased it. I was not financially compensated for this post and the opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 28, 2013 aimeeroo
My husband and I have been trying to be healthier, and of course a big part of that is making sure that our diet includes good for us foods that actually taste good. Easier said than done, right?

Well, I was very excited to get a copy of The Looneyspoons Collection: Good Food, Good Health, Good Fun!, because the title promises healthy, good, and fun, recipes! But it's not just the recipes that make this book great, there is a lot more to it than meets the eye!

Not only are there full color photos for most of the recipes (I do wish there had been a photo of each recipe), but there are tips and tricks, and information about why certain ingredients are good for you. Each recipe also have calorie and other information included, which I love to see.

The titles of the recipes are all pretty funny, usually a pun or play on words. I liked that the recipes were divided up in clear ways, such as chicken, or vegetarian, and even a section for things that didn't really have a section. They have made it easy to find too by color coding the pages in each section so you can easily find what you are looking for while you flip through the book.

And yes, even though this is a healthy cook book, there are desserts! This is sure to become a favorite, go to recipe book, in our household.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 24, 2013 Dr. Rachelle
The Looneyspoon's collection cookbook has over 325 different recipes, approximately half of which are accompanied by a photograph. I am the type that often doesn't follow a recipe in full but uses cookbooks to get ideas. There are many diverse recipes here to choose from organized in various categories such as: Appetizers, Soups, Baked Goods, Fish etc. Each recipe includes the nutritional data which includes the quantity of: calories, total fat, saturated fat, protein, carbohydrates, fiber, cholesterol and sodium. There are nutritional and health facts scattered amongst the recipes often pertaining to a particular ingredient used in the recipe or just to inspire exercise or other health-related endeavors.

As the "Looney" title suggests, Greta and Janet seemed to have a great time thinking of silly and cheesy names for their recipes (all of which are followed by a more standard and direct title for those who do not want to interpret) and scattering light-hearted and fun humor throughout the cook book. What I like best about this cookbook is the quantity and diversity recipes with easy to find ingredients, that can be easily altered for whatever reason..great place to go when looking for ideas or an actual recipe.

As a naturopathic physician committed to nutrition and health, I was disappointed to see some ingredients that were processed or not whole foods and for which a healthier substitute could have been used...such as ketchup (which contains high fructose corn syrup), low fat mayonaise and yogurt, frozen vegetables. It would have been great to include recipes for some of these condiments and ingredients as they can be homemade without the preservatives, MSG, corn syrup etc. On the bright side, healthy sources of these ingredients can be found at some co-ops and in some healthy food sections.

Overall, although this cookbook may not be not for everyone, it is a good place to start for some, especially if you are comfortable knowing how to look out for unhealthy processed ingredients and substituting for them or just looking for a good variety of ideas. For those who are new to understanding nutrition, healthy eating and are trying to move away from fad-diets, this cookbook could really help get some delicious and balanced meals into the home...and have fun while you are at it.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing in exchange for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 18, 2013 CozyLittleBookJournal
I think there are essentially two kinds of cookbooks: reference and browsing. The reference cookbooks are the ones in which the recipes themselves are front and centre, with practical, no-nonsense information accompanying--but never overshadowing--each one. Photos are optional and, if included, are always of the completed recipe itself (usually right next to the recipe).

Browsing cookbooks, on the other hand, are the kind you can read for pleasure, even if you're not getting ready to cook anything. You can leave them out on your coffee table for guest perusal. They have glossy pictures, sometimes of things completely unrelated to the recipe at hand (an elaborate table setting, a closeup of a cow, a fabulous ribbon on an mysterious present). They have information extraneous to the recipes, often told in quirky, funny ways. They may not be the easiest books to keep open on a crowded countertop while cooking, but who cares? These books are delightful and FULL of whimsy.

The Looneyspoons Collection is definitely in the latter category. It has everything. Gorgeous photos! Colourful cartoons! Candid shots of the authors at parties! Random food-related jokes! Nutrition facts sprinkled throughout! And recipes with amusing names like "Name That Tuna Salad" and "A Wok in the Pork." This book is a delight.

Apparently the Looneyspoons books were originally backed and published by the newest dragon on CBC's Dragons' Den, David Chilton. He even writes about them in his bio for the show. I love a Canadian success story (and if I watched more TV I would probably have known that the Podleski sisters have their own show on Canada's Food Network).

There are tonnes of interesting recipes in this collection and I can't wait to try some of them. I am a little worried that I will get distracted by all the other cute stuff in the books (I wasn't kidding about the jokes and cartoons!). My three-year-old daughter Magda, however, has laser precision when it comes to examining a new cookbook. This was her reaction:

Magda: Oh Mommy you got a new cookbook! Oooh, does it have food in it?
Me: Yes, I think so--
Magda (literally half a second later): Oh! I found some cookie recipes! Should we make them?

That kid can find a cookie recipe in a new cookbook so fast it should be her JOB.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book free of charge from Hay House publishing as part of their Book Nook review program. I was asked to write an honest review, but not necessarily a favourable review, and was not otherwise compensated for my review. All of the opinions expressed here are entirely my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 04, 2013 hhreviewer2

The Looneyspoons Collection by Janet and Greta Podleski is one of the best cookbooks I have come across in a long time. Unlike most cookbooks that I've purchase over the years, the recipes are simple and easy using ingredients that could be found in any and every grocery store. Most recipes also need very few ingredients, another feature that I enjoy.

The Podleskis have separated the cookbook into sections for appetizers, desserts, etc. but there is also a very thorough index in the back if you wish to find a particular recipe. Each page is of thick stock, which means the cookbook should hold up to much use. The photos of every recipe are beautiful and simply scrumptious looking.

The recipes themselves are well thought out and delicious. In my family, we're always on the lookout for new yet easy dishes to make for dinner. That is certainly the case here. While all of the recipe names are cutesy, don't let that fool you to how good they really are. We have particularly liked the chicken and side dishes so far.

There are also fun food-related tidbits and tips liberally sprinkled throughout The Looneyspoons Collection which actually makes for a fun read. Before this I wasn't familiar with the cookbooks of Janet and Greta Podleski, now I look forward to more cookbooks from then in future. It should be mentioned that for those who already have previous cookbooks from the authors, that many of the recipes come from those but have been redesigned with the new thoughts on healthy diets in mind.

Lastly, for those who are gluten free in particular, you'll find plenty of recipes in here as well. For the pasta dishes, gluten free pasta is easily substituted for wheat pasta.

I would highly recommend The Looneyspoons Collection by Janet and Greta Podleski to anyone who is looking for recipes that are simple and delicious.

This is my review of The Looneyspoons Collection by Janet and Greta Podleski. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 13, 2013 judyshome
I have mixed thoughts about this book, I think it comes with the whole “being holistic” thing. On the one hand, I analyzed the Looneyspoons Collection from a nutritionist point of view - which I’m allowed to do because one of the authors has the same designation I have - Janet is an RHN from the same school I went to! On the other hand, I was also able to see this book from a “hungry-hungry-hippo” point of view, because I’m also very much the foodie at heart.

As a nutritionist, I was shocked to find all purpose white flour, bacon, mayonnaise, white sugar and various cheeses just from flipping through the pages. Say what? In what world does a healthy cookbook contain bacon? As I delved deeper into the book, the authors mentioned that these items should be used in moderation *phew*, but it’s still good to indulge once on a while *double phew*. I’m assuming this cookbook was written for people who generally eat out or don’t usually cook and if that’s the case, it’s great! It contains common, easy-to find ingredients compared to cookbooks written solely by holistic nutritionists who include “weird” ingredients like Tempeh or Buckwheat flour. For the “regular person”, I can see how that can be a bit overwhelming compared to this cookbook that just gets you into the kitchen. So, it’s a good book for the transition from a bad diet to something better.

Recipes I tried:

* Satayday Night Fever (Chicken skewers with peanut dipping sauce)
* Mr. Bowjangles (Pasta with broccoli, chicken and sun-dried tomatoes)
I substituted the pasta with a whole grain, sorghum (told you nutritionists use weird ingredients!)
* Welcome Back, ‘Cotta (Lemon-ricotta pancakes)
I substituted the ricotta with plain yogurt. I replaced the white flour with a combination of spelt and teff flour.
* Kinda Nutty Pistachio-Crusted Fish (Baked salmon with a pistachio crust)
I substituted bread crumbs with cracker crumbs.

Pros:

* The recipes were all very simple to follow and some of the quickest ones I’ve come across (I prepped the pistachio fish crust during 2 commercial breaks - the 1st to gather my ingredients and the 2nd to measure and combine). The flavours and textures meshed really well together - even with my substitutions, so they’re fairly versatile.
* I especially liked the nutrition nuggets and nutrition breakdown of each recipe - breakdowns are something I have yet to learn how to do.
* Full-colour photography and colourful layout.
* Contains a bunch of weird, random facts about food.
* I loved how they included some of their favourite blog posts from the years. Confession: sometimes I like cookbooks for the stories they tell, not just for the meals.
* They included an “indulgence” section in their cookbook which they recommend having on the rare occasion. *Awesome* and realistic.

Cons:

* I couldn’t find a single reference to all the nutrition studies they pointed out. Having the references increases credibility for holistic nutritionists.
* Not enough variety. In terms of ingredient choices, so many of the recipes call for tomatoes, red/green peppers, and mushrooms. There’s also a bunch of recipes for different pizzas and different chilis. How much pizza should a person really eat?
* The list of recipes at the beginning of each chapter don’t have a direct page linked to it.

Things that can be pro or con, depending on how you look at it:
* Sometimes groan-worthy puns and/or (too?) cutesy recipe names. Example: “Itsy-Bitsy Teeny-Weeny Coloured Polka-Dot Rotini”…Okay, I kind of like that one :D
* A lot of animal-based recipes. Maybe I’ve just been taught by too many vegan/vegetarian teachers, but they’ve ingrained in my head that healthiest diets are primarily plant based. Since most people buy the conventionally grown meats (pumped full of antibiotics, growth hormones, etc), it might not be the best thing to be promoting so much meat. Also, nitrate meats such as ham and bacon show up in various parts of the book - nitrates have a reputation of binding to other chemicals in your body, producing carcinogenic substances. I admittedly like the taste of meat, so I liked seeing meat in a holistic nutritionist’s cookbook, but it may borderline on “too much” for me.

Overall, not a bad cookbook. I probably won’t be using it as one of my main cookbooks, but it’ll definitely come in handy when cooking for other people who eat more meat than I do.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 23, 2012 laughinglindsay
This book is full of information. I love the little facts that can be found throughout the book. There's facts about a food's history as well as how to use food best. There's also lots of tips for staying healthy (which are helpful). I love the humor used in this book. The cartoons are cute, too. Between the fun titles of recipes and delicious recipes, this book makes it easier to eat healthy.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 17, 2012 Ravenb28
Let me start off by saying... Cooking is not my forte. However after reading this book and trying a few of the recipes I have found cooking so much more enjoyable. This book was so much fun to read. With every page that has facts, information and tidbits that I just didn't know before. I've never in my life read a cookbook but this book was oh so different. I feel invigorated every time I pick it up. Now I'm not saying that I'll cook every night, but I know that on the nights that I decided to cook it will be a lot easier because of this book. I now know what to keep in my pantry, so that I can quickly throw together a meal. And I think my favorite part is the fact that every recipe has a calorie and serving breakdown. Being very health conscious for my children and myself the ability to know exactly the serving portions makes me a happy mom. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to have fun while cooking. I would like to also add that I was not financially compensated for this post. I received this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 03, 2012 ASimpleGuide

Janet & Greta Podleski’s latest cookbook, “The LooneySpoons Collection” is a wonderful read and a practical cookbook with a lot of information that will make you laugh as well as teach you something along the way.

For instance, I learned that “loin” means lean. So, whether its their Asian-glazed grilled pork tenderloin or boneless top sirloin roast for their “The Roast of Christmas Past” recipe…it’s little tidbits like this that really sink in and help the overwhelmed shopper at the grocery store when trying to make leaner choices for their families.

The recipes don’t skimp on flavor, and that’s important. I was delighted when I made their “Once Upon a Thai” recipe, which uses pork tenderloin, and savvy ingredients such as lemon zest, sesame oil, garlic and red curry paste. I followed the recipe pretty much as listed, and it uses just a handful of ingredients…though I didn’t have any gingerroot on hand, so I left it out, but it was still good. They also use healthier alternative condiments and pantry items, such as reduced-sodium sauces and broths or no-sugar added varieties. This book takes the scary out of cooking and makes it healthier and fun. What a brave and insightful book. I look forward to cooking from it and sharing recipes with friends and family.

I received this book from Hay House Publishing for my honest and sincere review

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 30, 2012 bbgad5
Cookbooks are generally not that exciting for me, but I absolutely loved this one. First of all, let me start off with how humorous this book is. Each recipe has a crazy name to emphasize its taste or ingredients. Such names include: Shrimply Irresistible, Do the Chunky Chicken, Tickle Me Elbows, or Everybody Loves Raysins. The authors also add in some of their own food humor throughout the book. I never thought I would laugh so much reading a cookbook. Besides, look at the title; I think that says it all.

There are over 325 different recipes in this collection divided into14 different categories. I love the fact that every other page has a picture of the dish. I don't know about you, but I love visually seeing what it is I am about to make. Scattered throughout the cookbook are recipe tips, nutrition nuggets, and other usual and interesting tidbits. Every recipe has a calorie, fat, protein, carbohydrate....count.

I have already made a few recipes and from this book and they were delicious. I found the recipes easy to read and very accurate in detail. I appreciate the fact that there are healthier recipes, some gluten free and vegetarian dishes( for my budding 13yr old vegetarian). I plan to make many more recipes from this book. Definitely a worthwhile cookbook .

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 24, 2012 realmomma
With the holidays fast approaching I know that I’m looking for great gifts to give people that’s why when I saw the Looneyspoons Collection Cookbook I jumped on the chance to give it a review!

Better carbs — Better fats — More fiber — Less sugar — Less salt — Same great taste that won’t go to your waist!

It is hard to find a cookbook that is organized perfectly and leaves you wanting more and that’s just the start there are so many more reason why I LOVE this cookbook:

The tips they give you on the recipes are insightful and entertaining
Pictures with recipes make you hungry just looking at the page
Even though they’ve cut the fat, carbs, sugar and salt the recipes are all DELISH
Simple recipes that have ingredients I can find in a small town
Nutritional information on the recipes

I could go on and on about this great cookbook from the creative names they use and their Food Bites, Nutrition Nugget, and Trivial Tidbits. I have never used a cookbook that has left me entertained and wanting more. I knew once I picked up the book I had to get out my sticky tabs to start marking all the recipes I wanted to try and you can see from the picture that I have a few tagged to make!

This Real Momma gives The Looneyspoons Collection a 5/5!

If you’re trying to find a gift for that someone who has everything add this to your list they’ll be pleasantly surprised and maybe you’ll get a new meal or two out of it!

Have you tried any Looneyspoons Recipes?

I’d love to hear from you! Comment below or find me on Facbeook and Twitter too!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 19, 2012 Reading Room
I had never read through a cookbook before I got this book because I had never found them that interesting. This cookbook was so fun to that I read it all the way through. It is colorful, full of interesting tidbits of information, and designed really well. When I finished I ordered 2 of their other books for my cookbook library as well. Though not every single recipe is a favorite, I have developed a long list of tasty, great favorites that my family loves and that are often a special treat for guests. It is great if you are just trying to eat a little healthier and you enjoy trying new things.

This book also makes a great gift for someone who is learning how to cook, as there is a good variety of things they can choose from never and the recipes are simple, easy to follow, and use everyday kind of food. No really bizarre ingredients our labor-intensive time wasters here. It is a great book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 16, 2012 BethanyG
Great cookbooks are hard to find. Especially ones that offer healthy recipes that the whole family will love. With that in mind...I think I have found one.

Janet and Greta Podleski are the authors of 3 cookbooks with their newest one being The Looneyspoons Collection - Good Food, Good Health, Good Fun. I will say that is quiet a line to live up to but, this cookbook delivers.

This book is over 300 hundred recipes that are not only healthy BUT, taste great.

The Podleski's bring out their obvious humor throughout this book with titles of chapters, names of recipes and various jokes. Some of which are:

Tuskinny Chicken (A one pot Italian chicken recipe)
Quiche Me, You Fool (Pepper and Potato quiche)
Become A Beleafer (Salad Chapter)
Many, Many More
They not only give you a book filled with wonderful recipes, that your kids will love (healthy Mac N Cheese), but tips, trick and nutrition nuggets along the way. I have switched to using just butter instead of margarine after reading this book. I never thought about the fact that butter is all natural and margarine is man-made.

I think this would make a wonderful addition to everyone's cookbook library especially if you are wanting to have healthy food filled with flavor.

***Disclosure of Material Connection:I received this book from the publisher for free in exchange for my honest opinion.***
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 13, 2012 Jeanieber
Oh my Goodness, is this book fun or what? From the informative Food Bites to healthy Nutrition Nugget, to Trivial Tidbits, to the oh so creative TV, big screen and music title spoofs, I read through the book the first time for pure entertainment, and the second, for interesting tidbits and the recipes. The names are hilarious…Who would ever think Frank ‘n’ Stein is an enjoyable beer and spice marinated grilled flank steak? Or the Barbiechop Quartet is deliciously spicy marinated pork chops grilled on the Barbie, or Pasta Point of No Return is a delectable tricolored pasta primavera with roasted vegetables and parmesan. These two women are a hoot. Laden with nutrition and lifestyle tips, this is much more than a cook book with frumpy tips.
The recipes are mainly easy to prepare, with ingredients that are easy to find and, thankfully, hover on the nutritious end of the scale. … While most of the recipes are protein orientated and on the heavy side, effort has been taken to use better oils and ingredients to convert recipes to more nourishing and better suited to today’s lifestyle. The lightened up versions of the classic Hail Caesar (Caesar Salad), its all Greek to Me (Greek Salad) and Nat’s King Coleslaw (Asian Coleslaw) will tempt your taste buds . Tonight I am headed for the Continental Divide (A spicy curried vegetable soup with lentils) for my dinner.
The recipes include information on calories, fat, protein, carbohydrate, fiber, cholesterol and sodium counts for those with a need to follow. I highly recommend Looney Spoons for deliciously healthy and waist trimming recipes
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews