Book Reviews

You Can Trust Your Life DVD Set

Louise L. Hay, Cheryl Richardson

Affirmations, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4181-9

On this remarkable DVD set, Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson share spiritual tools you can use to create a life that honors your soul. You will learn how to: Refocus your thinking throughout the day s... More

Aug 02, 2013 realmomma

I’m not going to lie I have had this dvd set, You Can Trust Your Life, on my desk for months now. I have been using it on and off but didn’t want to give a review until I had fully completed the 4 set dvd! It honestly fit perfect with my personal coaching I’ve been doing and trying to stay calm and centred during the sale of our business and transition into being a stay at home Mom. I easily got lost in the craziness of life.

You Can Trust Your Life

I often forget to take a time out and reconnect with myself and take care of me. Slowly I start seeing the side effects from not putting me first and connecting with the goals I want to accomplish and the person I really want to be. First I start feeling sleep deprived, then the weight gain begins and before I know it my body aches. It is those moments that remind us we need to listen to our inner guidance system and honor our soul.

You Can Trust Your Lifefollow helps you in many ways including:
Refocus your thinking throughout the day so you are able to manifest positive life experiences.
Employ new daily rituals that promote self-love and self-acceptance.
Heal your relationship with yourself and others by using the power of forgiveness.
Quiet the inner critic that scares you and keeps you stuck.
Create powerful affirmations that realign your thinking so you can enjoy a good life.
Work with affirmations on a daily basis to make important life changes.
Get back on track when you feel overwhelmed by negative thoughts and feelings.
Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson help you improve the quality of your life easily and effortlessly with simple techniques that will create life long habits. Now is the time to trust yourself to create a better life and love yourself more!

If you’ve had a busy summer like me and are looking forward to the back to school season to begin you should pick up a copy of the dvd set today. You will learn how to reconnect with yourself and listen to the inner you and what you really want. Remember as a Mom you have to take care of YOU first before you can take care of everyone and everything else.

How do you reconnect with the inner you?

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 28, 2013 connielivingston
This four DVD set is a recording of a workshop that Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson presented in the United Kingdom based on the book the two co-authored, You Can Create An Exceptional Life. I've read this book as well as heard Hay and Richardson speak in person on this topic but found that I picked up additional material in the DVD version. I loved watching or listening to these two talk about the concepts in the book. They added a lot of additional and updated material in the DVD version. In this workshop format there was plenty of time for Richardson and Hay to augment book content with stories and new tools they've learned or developed since the book was published in 2011.

If you're like me, you sometimes have difficulty finding the time to sit down to read a book. The DVD version allows you to either listen or watch while doing other tasks that don't need your entire attention.

It's always fun to hear a presentation given by two individuals as opposed to one; the more than six hours of material was much more interesting as Hay and Richardson shared the material from their unique perspectives. They talked about how to be aware of focusing thoughts throughout the day, creating daily routines that support self-love and self-acceptance, how forgiveness can improve your relationship with yourself and others, effectively dealing with the inner critic, and more. Since reading the original book in 2011, I can tell you from personal experience that this stuff works!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 15, 2013 JemezMtnAngel
Love Louise Hay!! Her whole being just resonates peace and happiness. She has a wonderful sense of humor as well. Her teaming up with Cheryl Richardson- WINNING! Such a great duo. Louise and Cheryl play off of each other very nicely with their personalities- Louise- ever the teacher and Cheryl-ever the Coach.

I laughed and I cried watching this DVD series that took place in Australia. I have known about doing mirror work since I first began studying Louise’s work. Have I ever really done it? No. Until this DVD series. Between Louise and Cheryl, I finally do see the importance of doing mirror work and affirming to myself how much I love myself and what a wonderful person I am and aspire to be.

I recommend this series to anyone. It’s great for boosting self-esteem and I believe that anyone watching this series will learn their own lessons that they can apply to bettering their lives.

FTC Disclosure: I received this DVD series for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 13, 2013 Dr. Rachelle
4 DVD set of live video from a weekend conference in the UK with co-authors and “life coaches” Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson. Activities and dialogue with diverse and frequent audience participation and questions. Louise and Cheryl share many of their personal stories, experiences and hands-on activities to help deal with negative thoughts, traumatic memories, anxieties, stress, addictions etc. Fluid with a loose agenda. Like a group life coaching sessions with tailored pieces that can apply to anyone.

Much of the video is based on self-discovery and strengthening yourself through creating and repeating positive affirmations while addressing what is not currently working, re-framing thoughts and self-love. A bit slow moving at first (I listened to the first DVD while cooking dinner) with a few instances of harsh language when helping audience members form tailored affirmations to help free them from what others think and self-hatred, shame etc. Depending on your needs, style and what your belief-system is open to, this can provide a good forum for self-awareness, emotional and self-healing.

Overall what was helpful for me was the reminder that as in the book of proverbs in the Bible, as a (wo)man thinks so (s)he is. Creating positive affirmations to speak to yourself tailored to specific situations and beliefs are very powerful tools in overcoming shame, hatred, negative self-talk, confusion, anxiety and all sorts of emotional wounds. Also, the tapping Cheryl demonstrates in the 4th disc is powerful in helping with addictions and emotional healing especially from traumatic situations. I also found that later part of the forgiveness guided meditation very helpful in understanding, forgiving and loving others.

Here is an outline of some of the video content:
Disc 1
· Positive self-talk, crating positive and helpful affirmations (repeating things that you would like to be true or you would like to feel as if they were true) and mirror work

Disc 2
· How we form and change beliefs, especially negative messages, psychological awareness progression throughout history
· Breaking the cycle of negative emotions/self talk and instead asking for what you’d like, surrounding yourself with love and defining your own internal experience without being in denial. Marrying these affirmations with actions.
· Engaging and living from the heart.
· Cancer and emotional healing. Louise shares examples from her own experience with cancer.
· Creating intention
· Awareness of thought habits – Changing negative thoughts/habits/actions to create helpful habits (that serve you) such as cultivating and practicing thankfulness. Reassociating daily habits with healthy and helpful affirmations specific especially to time of day.
· Morning and Evening affirmations

Disc 3
· Examples of morning and evening affirmations. Helping through the difficulties in writing your own affirmations.
· Incorporating blessings and positive affirmations into your day and work life. Blessing people, environments, objects etc. Workplace affirmations.
· Raising your standards…Focusing on what is working well in life but also the reality of deciding when to move on from negative and intolerable circumstances (ex. a job situation that isn’t working)

Disc 4:
· Dissolving Habits with love- the angst we feel towards others is actually about ourselves. What do we need to do in order to be unhooked from other people’s drama? The power of love and loving ourselves.
· Body tapping exercise based on Chinese meridians to help heal traumatic situations/memories, insomnia, anxieties, addictions. Without revisiting the details of trauma, tapping allows the body to bring up what needs to be dealt with and dissolve it away.
· Forgiveness guided mediation

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing in exchange for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 12, 2013 agirlnamedeve
I love Louise Hay! And if you see her video, You Can Trust Your Life, you'll see why. The 4 DVD set is a live taping of Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson talking to an audience during a Hay House Seminar. They are inspiring people that clearly care about others. It's visible in the way they comfort the people who ask questions, and in the advice the give. They clearly want people to overcome their limiting beliefs and heal themselves.

Hay House sent me a DVD set of You Can Trust Your Life by Cheryl Richards and Louise Hay for my honest review. I listened to it as I folded laundry, cleaned the house and cooked in an empty house, while the kids and my husband were away at sports. I felt as if I was at a weekend retreat. I had too much to do around the house to just sit with a notebook and blanket and watch the video like I wanted but I still enjoyed it quite a bit and plan to do just that if I ever feel I need some comforting words again.

Some of the topics they covered were mirror work, affirmations, tapping and creating a loving environment both at home and work. Louise Hay gives advice on how to greet your day and how to center yourself when you arrive home so that you intentionally create the life and experiences you want. I like that the DVDs are broken up into different topics. I've gone back to view disc 4 again to listen to the work related and forgiveness topics again.

It's great to have more than one person up their on stage because then it creates a dialog that we can eavesdrop into as an audience or viewer. I'm familiar with a lot of the concepts already from reading such books as Ekhart Tolle's The Power Of Now and The Secret. But still I find this very interesting because there is always something to learn when you listen to Loiuse Hay or there is something you already knew but need to remember.

I recommend these videos for someone going through a rough time and perhaps can't afford to take a weekend retreat. This DVD set is wonder to cuddle up and watch and be inspired by. It's also good for when you want to break your busyness cycle and recharge.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 11, 2013 stephaniesherie
I am so excited to share with you my first DVD review! It is a 4 DVD set of a two day workshop by Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson. Hay House sent me this set for my honest opinion.

I was blown away by Louise Hay. This was my first time to see her teaching on video. I've read her books, but never seen her speak. She says something and it goes right to the heart. There is a moment in Disc 4 where she assists a young man and it was so powerful. She just cut right through all the cerebral stuff and you could see the young man's struggles dissolve - along with some of mine and I'm sure those in the room as well. This is the #1 reason I would purchase this set - to see Louise working with people. I can see why her early work with those with AIDS was so profound. She is an amazing lady.

Cheryl leads the workshop in the same cerebral, intellectual style as her radio show on Hay House. There were a few times I thought her personal stories went on too long with unnecessary information. However, if you are new to her work, you will enjoy what she brings to the table. She and Louise make the workshop stay in balance and cover many areas of life, just like the book upon which is was based.

Each DVD runs as one track. This made stopping to care for my son tricky. I wish it were divided into chapters. I appreciate the editing with audience participation. When the audience had to write, the time was cut so I could continue with the workshop. Also, the participants who asked questions were useful to me and the feedback they received from Cheryl and Louise was fantastic.

Here are a few of my takeaways:

Sometimes we can't be with in someone else it is usually something we can't be with in ourselves.
It takes great love and maturity to choose love over being right.
I love the places that still need to grow.
I can build a relationship with the part of me I don't want to be with.
Every complaint is an affirmation that doesn't heal anything.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 28, 2013 Ravenb28
Hey bloggers! I have been doing a few reviews for Hay House for a while now and this last DVD set that I had the pleasure to review was life changing to say the least. First off Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson together are a hoot. I love the way Louise encourages Cheryl during the lecture. As I begun watching I realized there was so much to absorb. I paced myself and watched one dvd per week for four weeks. I knew that I needed time to process all that was said and taught and I knew that I needed to reflect on the lessons. There were so many lessons that I had yet to even skim the top of that I am so grateful that this DVD was presented into my life. I now do mirror work daily; first thing in the morning and I'm learning to trust my life! I would say this is a must watch. I would like to also add that I was not financially compensated for this post. I received this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Mar 27, 2013 WellnessWoman
I've been following Louise Hay for ages. I've read her books, pick one her affirmation cards each day, and spent many nights going to sleep listening to her evening meditation. Her inspirational work really helped me follow my heart and trust life, even when I lost the two people closest to me.

Now, Louise has joined with one of my favorite coaches, Cheryl Richardson, in a seminar teaching you how you can trust your own life. Recorded at a live workshop in London (which made me homesick for the place I called home for eight years), Louise and Cheryl share their experiences candidly and offer easy and fun tools and techniques you can add to your life to transform it. Speaking from experience, some of the simplest changes turn out to make the most profound difference.

I must admit, since I have been following these lovely ladies for some time, I thought I may already know everything they had to say. Thankfully, I was wrong. While lots of the information reminded me and reinforced what I already knew, I also learned a few new tricks. While I don't want to give it away, it involves markers, mirrors, and a little imagination. My hubster has followed my lead and we have joined forces to make it even more fun.

Curious now, aren't you? You'll have to purchase your own copy to find out. ;-)

Whether you are a newbie open to dipping a toe into the ocean of transformation or a seasoned spiritual guru, there is something in this DVD to help you on your personal journey. Pop it in your DVD player, sit back, and enjoy.

Be open and you might find that life is a lot easier than you are currently making it out to be.

Full Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinion expressed is my own and unbiased.
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Mar 25, 2013 Drmiranda

As a chiropractor, I strive to keep myself informed on as many ways to bring forth health and positive changes as possible. There truly is a mind-body connection, and it is exceedingly difficult to align your health when your mind is not centered on your most benevolent outcome.

For this reason, I heartily recommend You Can Trust Your Life by Louise Hay & Cheryl Richardson. Louise Hay is a dynamo, and her message has remained consistant throughout the years but she somehow always manages to wrap several layers of thought into a seemingly simple concept. I find the more you ponder her messages, the more you go hmmmm. I’ve enjoyed her books for as long as I can remember.

Cheryl Richardson is a new author for me. Of course I had heard the name, but I had never had the pleasure of knowing anymore about her other than the fact that she spearheaded the life coach movement.

I usually pass up DVD sets to buy the book instead, but this was a genuine pleasure. It was a 2 day seminar filmed live in London that was edited down to approx. 6 hours, and you truly do get the seminar experience from the box set.

What I appreciate about this set is that Louise and Cheryl drive home the importance of positive anticipation. We must maintain the correct headspace in order to create the life we want. Affirmations are also key, and are a useful tool to direct negative or staying thoughts back to thoughts with purpose. I highly recommend this DVD set for anyone needing to increase their self-esteem (or maintain it at a highly operating level). The guided meditation on loving and forgiveness is worth the price of the set all together.

My take away message from this DVD set is that I must reframe life’s experiences with love and joy, and that by doing so I can’t help but to improve my relationships with others. I thoroughly recommend!

FTC disclosure: I received this item for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgement of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 21, 2013 BethanyG
Louise L Hay and Cheryl Richardson team up for the 4 Disc DVD Set You Can Trust Your Life. Most of you know them from their amazing transformational books as did I. I was excited to get the chance to review this set but, that excitement quickly left as I started watching the DVDs.

First off, I will say that I LOVED the messages they were trying to get across to all the attendees of the conference and viewers at home. To live a good life we need to change the way we are thinking. Think positively and get rid of all the negative thoughts. There is no room for negativity in a wonderful life.

The way that they suggest you do this is by positive affirmations, which, I thoroughly agree with. Setting the tone of your day with a positive statement or changing a “bad” day by taking the time to stop and make a positive affirmation to get your day back on track.

They also promote talking to yourself in a positive manner instead of putting yourself down all the time. Again…I agree and loved the message. It’s the approach that Hay used to get her point across that kind of got on my nerves. She kept telling herself that “I love you.” Yes, this is great but, she went a little to far into the over-kill category. Even after a lunch break she pulled out a mirror and started talking to herself that way and promoting the audience to do the same. While this might be helpful to others, it was just annoying me.

This is a wonderful set of DVDs and will help a lot of people if you can get past all of the excessiveness and extras. It has a great message that can transform your life if you follow and listen. It was just a little annoying to me. But, maybe it’s because I am more familiar with their books and not so much their public speaking.

*I received a complimentary copy of the DVDs from Hay House for the purpose of this review.*
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 13, 2013 lavishlynatural
I use the tools I learned from this system every day! Each DVD is filled with powerful conversations, AHA Moments and affirmations. The audience Q & A's were one of my favorite parts of each session. There are some affirmations that come through the exchanges with the audience that you have to see to believe. Everyone who stood up shared my story in some way, and it was very healing to be a part of the experience.

Creating Affirmations for Daily Activities

One of the many gifts from the "You Can Trust Your Life DVDs" were to how to use and write affirmations that empower. How you live your day is up to you. Louise smiled and said, "It's up to us to make it a lovely time!" Have affirmations for everything from running errands, that meeting with your boss, picking up the kids from school, taking a shower, or even getting out of bed! Louise & Cheryl also emphasized the importance of creating affirmations for those activites you dread. Bring intention and attention to your day.

Examples:

I am showered with exceptional thoughts all day (repeat in the shower)
I work in creative collaboration with fun, inspiring people on projects that heal the world (repeat while working)
I send waves of love to the people around me. I feel the love they send back. (repeat anytime)

Hidden Extras

There are also some wonderful surprises in these DVDs. Louise personally teaches you how to use the mirror to honor yourself and your power. Cheryl teaches the tapping method with such simplicity - you'll master it by the time the DVD is over. I tapped away anxiety around a public speaking engagement. It worked! Needless to say, I'm a tapping enthusiast!

I recommend this book for anyone who is ready to experience a real change, a permanent shift in thought, word, and deed. You CAN Trust your Life, and Cheryl & Louise actually make it fun!
+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Mar 09, 2013 margauxjoy
Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson have been mentors of mine for many years. They are both inspiring, uplifting, and want us to love life. Because they have been such an inspiration to me, and to millions of people all over the world, I jumped at the chance to review their new DVD set "You Can Trust Your Life" which was filmed during a two-day workshop in London.

The collaboration of these two women creates inspiration that is more than double what they are able to do separately. The love they have for each other – and for all of the people in their audience – is obvious and inspiring to watch.

This 4 DVD set is inspiring. I was amazed by how beautiful the room was and how much fun it was to "participate" in the weekend workshop by viewing the four DVDs.

Before the DVDs arrived I had started taking a five-week online course "You Can Trust Your Life" with Louise and Cheryl. I thoroughly enjoyed the online class and looked forward to it each week.

When the DVDs arrived I wondered if I would find them interesting since I had heard most of what would be on them. But what I discovered is that watching the DVDs made me feel like I was there.

I loved being able to see Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson on the stage talking with the audience and with each other. They are a delightful duo. They are kind, loving, present, and are willing to let themselves be silly. Laughter makes us all relax and it is wonderful to laugh while learning how to love yourself and be your own best friend.

Both Louise and Cheryl told us that everyone feels – to some degree – that they are unworthy, unlovable, or not good enough and said these feelings interfere with our ability to feel happy, healthy, and excited about life.

They warned us not to try to change others – to let others be who they are. Trying to change other people so you can be happy never works. The key is to work on things you want to improve about your own thinking and behavior.

Louise told us to think of affirmations as seeds we are planting – seeds of things we would like to grow for our future. The DVDs include a wonderful assortment of affirmations for increasing your feelings of self-worth, creating the feelings you want to feel, and enjoying better relationships with people you love and people you work with.

Louise says that being too "wordy" makes it hard to remember an affirmation so she says to keep them as short as possible so you can easily remember them.

"Write how you would like to feel. What would you like to feel?"
– Louise Hay

Cheryl Richardson also reminded us to "marry affirmations with action" because just saying the words doesn't create your desired outcomes. We need to be inspired by the words and have them remind us to take the actions that will create how we want to feel.

If you are willing to shift your perspective and become aware of what you say to yourself, you can create wonderful changes in your life. In fact, one of the things you will learn if you watch these DVDs is how to "dissolve" old habits and replace them with new habits that empower you and help you feel better about yourself and your life.

The "mirror work" Louise suggests we do is done with your choice of positive affirmations. The first one she says to say, is "I love you. I really, really love you." It is a challenge at first to look in the mirror and talk to yourself especially to say I love you, but if you keep at it the results are wonderful and you'll be glad you gave it a try.

Following are some of the affirmations I wrote while watching the DVDs.

I love you. I really, really love you.

I always love my job.
I always have good bosses.
I always have good clients.
I work in an atmosphere of love & joy.
I work for people who appreciate me – including myself.
I accept work that uses all of my talents and abilities.
I have great relationships with everyone I work with, and for.
I love my work.

I love my closet – it is so easy to get dressed.
I am comfortable in my clothing.
I'm showered with good thoughts all day long.
I've become a master at delegating and receiving help.
I love receiving help.

I love my life!
I love this day!
I love it when the sun shines!
It's wonderful to feel the love in my heart.
Everything I do brings me joy.
I prosper wherever I am.

I trust myself. I trust life.
I trust myself to do what I need to do to keep myself healthy and strong.

It is easy for me to ASK for what I want.

Choose your favorites from the list above and try saying them to yourself in a mirror. I believe you'll be glad you chose to do it!

"I bless and prosper everyone in my life and everyone in my life blesses and prospers me." Cheryl told us that Louise has this affirmation hanging up in her bathroom so she sees it several times a day. The idea of blessing and prospering everyone in our life is wonderful and if we do it, I am sure the second part would be true as well – everyone in our life would want to bless and prosper us.

I loved watching these DVDs. Louise and Cheryl are inspiring, uplifting, beautiful, joyful, playful, silly, kind, loving, authentic, and fun.

I highly recommend getting the DVDs "You Can Trust Your Life" because they are inspiring and fun to watch. In fact, I feel certain you'll be glad to have them in your home library.

+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Mar 07, 2013 Mary Note Law

As I viewed this video of a workshop recorded live in London, I was delighted to find that I really felt as though I was participating in the workshop. Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson are two women who really practice the spiritual principles which they teach. They themselves are living examples of the positive effects of living from a space of self-love and positive affirmation. Throughout the workshop, they drive home these lessons, having audience members participate in their own elevation by immersing in self Love and in creating positive affirmations for various areas of their lives.

As I felt myself to be an audience member, I, too, practiced the assignments. I developed affirmations for the most challenging times in my day; for the morning as I awaken; and for the nighttime as I lay my head on my pillow. Creating positive expectation and perspective in circumstances where I might otherwise let negativity rule gave me a feeling of peaceful well-being and positive anticipation.

Initially, I wondered at first if this workshop might be too beginner level for me. And there was “beginner level” work. Work which is valuable to begin with. We began with mirror work. I had often read of mirror work in Louise’s books, but always as I was busy reading, not stopping to practice and not feeling that I needed to do so. But as Louise looked in her mirror and said, quite tenderly, “I Love you, Louise; I really, really Love you,” I cringed. Could I say that to myself? I paused the player, headed into the bathroom, and looked at myself. I began with my patterned behavior of noticing blemishes, tired eyes, and other reasons to be self-critical. Then I remembered Louise’s instruction to look only with Love. I decided to look at myself the way that I think I must look at my family and friends when I really feel Love and appreciation for them. I had to think of them in order to glimpse my face in this way. And then I felt a warmth in connecting with myself, as I saw myself in a conscious state of Love.

This self-doting felt awkward, but there was something else. I felt happy saying these sweet somethings to myself. I didn’t quite believe it (which surprised me) but I did feel playful and happy. And it was great to see myself radiating Love rather than looking only for flaws when I glanced in the mirror.

I have been continuing with mirror work over these past two weeks, and I find that I am no longer instantly searching for flaws! Given the Law of Attraction, I’m grateful that I’ll finally stop drawing more into my experience! In fact, I am beginning to feel joy, warmth, and affection when I see myself in the mirror. What wonderful energies to attract! There are times when I look in the mirror without paying attention, but after I’ve looked away, I suddenly remember. I feel like I do when I walk by my husband without stopping for a kiss. I go back to the mirror, just I do to my hubby, and give myself a burst of Love.

Cheryl, a founder in the field of Life Coaching, provided beautiful guidance and stories in living from the heart. Many audience questions surrounded the topic of unloving parents. Cheryl and Louise responded with compassion and powerful guidance to support adult children in honoring and loving themselves, and in viewing offenders with a combination of a no-tolerance policy and compassion. Cheryl shared a beautiful and instructive story in which she transformed a tense, ego-driven conflict into a loving exchange as she tapped into the Universal energy of Love.

When I was finished with this program, I really felt as though I’d been able to enjoy the workshop, even though for parts of it I was cooking dinner, cleaning the kitchen, and preparing props for a workshop of my own. I didn’t have to travel to London, as many who were gathered on the day of the filming did, and I reaped great benefit from my participation. I’m sure that I will watch this program again and again.

Hay House was kind enough to gift this DVD set to me through their Booknook blog program in exchange for my honest, unbiased review. No other compensation is being given to me. However, I found this program to be so beneficial that I will be buying it, at my expense, in the future to give as gifts.

+
Read on Blog
1 person found this review helpful.
Mar 07, 2013 Griefhelper
Review by Ruth Field, MSW, LCSW

Is happiness a choice? Can I learn to love myself without being selfish? Do positive thoughts actually improve our experience?

In this 4 DVD set recorded live in London, well-known authors and teachers Cheryl Richardson and Louise Hay help us consider these and other core questions in a weekend seminar for spiritual growth. They present strategies to enhance our lives and dissolve old habits that no longer serve us. We are virtual attendees, joining the audience without the hassle and expense of travel.

As if we had just dropped in for a conversation among friends, Cheryl and Louise openly explain the value and techniques of mindfulness, self-acceptance, affirmations, and forgiveness that are especially useful tools for anyone going through tough times. Using examples provided by both audience members and their own lives, they illustrate clearly (and with disarming candor) the fundamentals of happiness that are possible for everyone. Notably, Cheryl also identifies psychotherapy as another important tool and helps the audience understand when it may be useful to get professional help.

The concept of training our brains to be more positive was intriguing to me as a parent, grandparent and as a psychotherapist.

“Our thoughts are the rules we begin to live by,” stated Louise. “How you start your day is how you live your day, and how you live your day is how you live your life.” These thoughts resonated deeply.

Creating a positive environment seemed increasingly feasible and worth trying, so I combined suggested affirmations with my own thoughts and shared them with my twin 10-year-old grandsons who are my breakfast buddies three mornings a week. When they seemed confused about saying something that might feel false, I explained Louise’s idea that in stating how we’d like to feel we are planting the seeds of our future growth.

The boys enjoyed their introduction to supportive affirmation, and quickly selected their favorite slogans, including “I remember everything I need to know when I need to know it,” and “This is going to be an exceptionally good day.” I personally like “I have plenty of time to do everything I want to do,” and “I allow myself to do my good work in the world even though I’m not perfect.” We wrote the sayings on index cards and placed them in a basket on the table, agreeing to make them part of our morning ritual. The atmosphere in the room felt happy, relaxed, and open. What a wonderful way to start the day!

Cheryl and Louise utilize what they call mirror work throughout the seminar, encouraging us to love ourselves unconditionally instead of being typically critical. At first looking into a mirror and repeating “I love you; I really love you,” felt ridiculous. To counteract this, Louise suggests thinking of yourself as a very young child; maybe 3 or 4 years old. She calls this person The Child Within, and surely he or she exists in all of us. It became much easier to think of that child lovingly and to understand how the person in the mirror can become a friend rather than an enemy. Louise explains the world becomes less scary when you build a relationship with yourself and you always have your back.

Of particular interest to me was the discussion and demonstration of tapping or Emotional Freedom Technique. Over the past year I have found EFT useful myself and with certain therapy clients. Cheryl and Louise’s validation of this energy work felt meaningful and encouraging as I continue to pursue healing approaches following trauma and loss.

I highly recommend this DVD set to anyone seeking creative yet simple tools to enrich their life experience. For those in challenging circumstances, it provides a coping structure and might even reduce isolation. I looked at 85-year-old Louise, who appears classy, lively, and elegant. She alludes to times of hardship and struggle, so I know she must have endured difficulty in her life; yet she seems to embody resilience. If she can do it; so can I.
To purchase this DVD set, click here: http://www.hayhouse.com/details.php?id=7426

FTC Disclosure: I received this DVD set for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 22, 2013 hhreviewer2

I was very excited to have the opportunity to review the You Can Trust Your Life 4-DVD set by the incomparable Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson. I have long been a fan of these two incredible ladies but have never had a chance to see them in person. The six hours of live footage in this DVD made me feel like I was there in the audience of this two-day conference!

One of the most wonderful aspects of this DVD set is the pure joy that radiates between Louise and Cheryl. It is very clear to see how close and in tune with one another these women are. It's truly spectacular to watch, especially considering we live in a society - in America anyway - where women are encouraged to compete with each other rather than collaborate.

Anyone familiar with Louise and Cheryl's work, whether only of one of these remarkable women or both, may not learn entirely new concepts in this DVD but I believe that hearing it directly from them rather than reading it in a book makes it that much more powerful. It also provides much needed reminders about the importance continuing the practice of mirror work, affirmations, thoughts, and self care.

I feel blessed for watching this DVD. It makes me want to work that much harder to hopefully have the chance to see the amazing Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson speak together in person someday, hopefully in the near future.

This is my review of You Can Trust Your Life by Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 18, 2013 timlarison
"I love you, Tim, and I am proud of you. You have shown great courage to get to where you are, and you have so much more life yet to live."

I now have a mirror by my desk where I look myself in the eye and say little affirmations like this during the day. Does this sound strange? If you watch Louise Hay's and Cheryl Richardson's new four part DVD set from Hay House, "You Can Trust Your Life", you soon will be telling yourself loving affirmations, too!

"Mirror Work" is one of the self loving techniques Louise and Cheryl emphasize throughout the program. Recorded at a live two day weekend workshop in London, the DVDs really capture the experience of hearing Louise and Cheryl in person. The camera work is very well done, showing the subtle facial expressions of these two teachers, as well as the vulnerability of audience members during the question and answer periods.

I reviewed the book on which the workshop was based, You Can Create a Magnificent Life, when it first came out in September 2011. The book was great but the DVDs offer spontaneous moments not possible in print format. "We certainly welcome the men. We are so glad to have you here. We love you," Louise says early in the program. "We like to acknowledge the men when they show up. We need more men," Cheryl adds. "We don't need men but we welcome them. We don't need anything because life gives us everything," says Louise, correcting Cheryl. Rather than being offended, Cheryl laughs and says, "The teaching never ends people. It's continuous and wonderful." The two women play off of each other like this throughout the sessions. Watch the DVDs for more surprises (including one where Louise uses salty language to make a point - she is a feisty 86 year old!)

My favorite part of the program was the closing, where Louise leads the audience in a group forgiveness exercise. "Being in a state of non-forgiveness is like sitting in a prison of self righteous resentment that keeps the doors closed," she tells the crowd as everyone listens with their eyes closed. "And we cannot access the love in our own hearts."

If you have never attended a Cheryl Richardson/Louise Hay talk in person as I have, the DVD set captures the energy and emotion of a live event. The message of self love healing old wounds was freeing to me, as if I was at that London workshop. "Living an exceptional life starts with loving yourself first," Cheryl says in one segment. "You are living with yourself day after day, you might as well enjoy it," adds Louise. Wise words I will remember the next time I have a self critical thought.

This is another review in my partnership with Hay House. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the DVD from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 11, 2013 Angel
Louise Hay has touched the hearts of many, including Cheryl Richardson's. It is clear that these two luminaries of our time are quite fond of each other. This love that they share creates a powerful healing duo, that want to help you create an exceptional existence and trust in life.

A 4-DVD set, You Can Trust Your Life, was recorded in London during a 2-day, weekend event with 500 people. If you are familiar with the work of Louise Hay or Cheryl Richardson, seeing these two together is a delight. Not only does this DVD teach about improving the quality of life, learning to love and heal the self and manifest abundance ... it also is an intimate look into the personalities of Cheryl and Louise. If you are unfamiliar with either you will certainly find something that will warm your spirit, creating more happiness in your life.

I have watched this at least seven or eight times since it arrived in the mail ... truly exceptional and highly recommended!

I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own, based on my personal experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 04, 2013 Lissag
I am very excited to be a part of a new program at Hayhouse.com that allows me to screen their products in return for reviewing them here to share with my readers.

The indomitable Louise Hay is an incredible inspiration for so many, so naturally when I was presented the opportunity to review her new DVD collaboration with the brilliant Cheryl Richardson, I jumped at the chance.

This wonderful 4 DVD set filmed over the course of a two day workshop, expresses the profound idea that life loves and supports us in magnificent ways. If you are willing to shift your perspective, even just the slightest bit, you will begin noticing proof of it in your life immediately.

Louise and Cheryl address the central issue most people suffer from, a deep seated belief that we are unworthy and unlovable, which in turn interferes with our capacity to experience love, happiness and well-being fully.

Louise sees affirmations as the planting of the seeds of what will grow in our future and provides simple, yet dramatic techniques help you to dissolve old habits, heal past wounds and transform anything you struggle with or stands in the way of your personal growth.

This is an exceptional program with many poignant moments throughout that reinforce again and again the power of their message, that when you bring love to any situation, it profoundly shifts the dynamic and instantly you can begin experiencing total well-being and happiness in all aspects of your life.

As Louise says, ‘Love heals. Love is all there is…. All is well’


FTC Disclosure: I am not financially compensated for this post. The opinions in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 29, 2013 AndyB
This program is divided into 4 DVDs, a total of about 6 hours of live footage spanning 2 days of teaching by two extraordinary life coaches who complemented each other on the stage. During the course of two days, Louise and Cheryl coached avid learners on wonderful hints about improving your self esteem, loving, forgiving and many other techniques proven to develop a better awareness of your soul for the benefit of not only yourself, but the lives of others around you, through creating a positive environment.

With real examples of situations that happened in their own lives, these inspiring ladies transform ordinary events into positive thinking tools to help each person get back into their spiritual alignment and dissolve toxic material from their lives. It's interesting to see how the audience connects to their interaction. During some segments, the audience is invited to share their feedback, and it's very helpful to listen to what they bring into the table and how Louise and Cheryl help them improve their thinking patterns. It's eye opening, when you realize that you have so much in common with other people's lives and experiences, where you can relate and benefit from the advice and coaching given in each situation.

Mirror work seems to be specifically beneficial - and hard to do. Who has the courage to look up in the mirror every day and state confidently how much you love yourself? It can be uncomfortable at first, but with practice you learn how to be your best friend. There's also a segment that touches on the principles of "tapping". For those not familiar with it, I would suggest doing some research and start practicing it as soon as possible. I'm impressed by the technique and benefits it can promote to one's life. At the end of the 2 day live session, Louise delivers a powerful guided meditation of forgiveness. Not to be missed. A great life lesson to develop and improve, and guide yourself in the right direction to manifest your best life experience ever.


I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the set from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 23, 2013 alpha_andy_omega
You Can Trust Your Life is the new 4 disc DVD intensive from Louise Hay and Cheryl Richardson, two beautiful souls who are responsible for bringing a lot of good into this world. This 2 day seminar was filmed in front of a live audience, and manages to entertain while getting across some very deep spiritual teachings. If you're new to the ideas of consciousness, or a veteran on the path, there is much to benefit from here. The interaction between these two ladies, and the audience is delightful, and inspiring to watch. They certainly walk their talk. They really go deep in this seminar. I particularly enjoyed the section on "tapping", or Emotional Freedom Technique. The question and answer period with the attendees was most enlightening. Positive thinking, affirmations, and mirror work are powerful techniques. The practicality of each is given a thorough examination. For instance, the difference between an affirmation and a denial is discussed, and expertly explained. You will learn life saving, and life changing tools in these lessons. If you're interested in improving your life, your self esteem, becoming more grounded in the present moment, and/or discovering your true potential you'll discover a lot of valuable information and inspiration in You Can Trust Your Life. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the DVD set from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews