Book Reviews

The Importance of Being Extraordinary

Wayne W. Dyer, Eckhart Tolle

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-4292-2

2-CD Set Taped on location in Hawaii, this audio program provides a rare opportunity to listen in on a profoundly moving dialogue between two of the three "most spiritually influential people alive"*... More

Mar 20, 2014 Ravenb28
I am always in Awe of anything Wayne Dyer puts his heart into and when I first read Eckhart Tolle's The Power of Now I was floored. I think that is the main reason that I got so much out of this wonderful audio set. Placing these two men together for this wonderful adventure through yet another spiritual journey was by far a success. The elementary way in which both men address such pressing topics like our current economy and addiction can help anyone to find comfort in their current approach to the world. This audio was such a fun journey for me that I took the time to digest as I felt that was needed. The time spent listening to this audio workshop is encouraging and uplifting in a way that would normally seem difficult when discussing pressing matters. The conversational tone of this audio allowed me to feel at home in their living room talking with old friends. I would recommend this audio to anyone.

FTC Disclosure: I received this item for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 05, 2013 Jeff Dodson
This is a review of a lecture presentation featuring two of our most recognized and influential spiritual teachers in our world today; Dr. Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle.

Dr. Dyer is a world renowned writer and speaker on self-development and spirituality, having authored over 30 books and has appeared on thousands of radio programs and television shows. Dr. Dyer’s most recent works include, Wishes Fulfilled, Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life, and Excuses Begone!

Eckhart Tolle is the author of the best-selling book, The Power of Now and his followup book, A New Earth, which was chosen by Oprah Winfrey as one of her book club favorites.

The taped presentation is about being or becoming extraordinary. That is, learning how to both appreciate your own unique and wondrous personal and private spirit in addition to aligning your daily actions to act in congruence with it.

Both of these enlightened teachers advocate:
Living in the present moment. Shut out and disregard the many distractive thoughts involving either the past or the future.

Coming to understand and how to avoid the temptations that are placed upon our ego as our culture bombards it with messages and advertisements promoting the external accumulation of things, objects, notoriety and the outward trappings of societies vision of success.

Go internal. Let yourself be guided by your soul, your spirit. According to Eckhart Tolle, you will not find meaning (including your own purpose) on the level of mental concepts.

Expand your awareness. We all spend a substantial amount of time each day navigating through our lives with just the use of our five senses (hearing, sight, sound, smell and taste). The simple activation of one’s imagination does not require the use of any of these five senses. Using the imagination is a way of becoming a multi-sensory individual, bringing you closer to your purpose.

Forgiveness. Letting go of anger and grudges you have held against others is important in a person’s transition towards extraordinary. With respect to this ability, I loved the quote that Dr. Dyer shared, attributing it to Mark Twain: “ Forgiveness is the fragrance that is shed from the vial as a result of the heel that has crushed it.”

The listener of this two CD set will better appreciate and understand the material after reading at least one of more of the books of these two authors beforehand. I would suggest Eckhart’s A New Earth, and Dr. Dyer’s The Power of Intention first.

As a parent, caregiver and blogger, I have found the books and teachings of both of these inspiring men to be transformative in my personal life. Embracing their philosophies has provided me with a positive and successful coping approach to the Alzheimer’s caregiving work I have been engaged in over the past nine years in addition to inspiring me to continue my writing and blogging. Thank You Dr. Dyer and Elkhart Tolle.


Jeffrey Dodson
May 5th 2013

FTC Disclosure: I received this book free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 03, 2013 webb9792
Hay House furnished me with this 2-CD Set in exchange for a review, but I intend to purchase it for anyone and everyone I know. I, honestly, love, love, love The Importance of Being Extraordinary.

I loved these CDs for the authenticity between Eckhart Tolle and Wayne Dyer. It’s a question and answer format where each (or both) give a perspective on different parts of his spiritual philosophy. It is also an interview between the two, both asking and reflecting on the other’s experiences.

For instance, Dyer talks about his experience of leukemia, and Tolle questions him as an interviewer. Tolle also gives his insight as to what has changed in Dyer since his healing with John of God, the Brazilian healer Dyer credits with his cancer recovery, and with his newfound feeling of a more genuine state of awareness.

I have read many books on Consciousness, including books by Dyer and Tolle. I love my books, for sure. I usually do not want to listen to any book on CD, especially a spiritual book – I want room for highlights and comments. And that is another appeal of the format of the CDs – it’s not just a book being read. It doesn’t feel like rehashed material. It feels like Dyer and Tolle are truly sharing their experiences with me as I listen to them.

The recording is from a conference in Hawaii, where Dyer lives. He invited Eckhart Tolle to come to the conference as his guest. The two play very well off of one another. They are alike enough in their beliefs to give continuity to the overall gist of the CDs, but they each arrived to a place of heightened consciousness in different ways, which they share throughout the talk.

I didn’t just listen to the CDs once; I have listened multiple times. I even made it a meditation of sorts; closing my eyes and listening, following my breath; opening my heart to what they have to say and learning from the gifts of growth they impart.


In their knowledge, I learned a ton, but through their humility I felt like they don’t mind letting us know that even the most spiritually influential people among us still have room to grow, as Dwyer did grow spiritually from his sickness.

I feel grateful to have The Importance of Being Extraordinary in my library. I absolutely, 100 percent recommend this CD-set to anyone. It’s funny, helpful, interesting and fulfilling to the mind and soul.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 23, 2013 kauld
As I listened to the CDs, the central theme or lesson of the program that hit home for me was the idea of living a conscious life. When you think about it, so much of our life we live unconsciously. I can recall driving to work, parking my car and thinking, “How the hell did I get here.” Have you ever sat with a bag chips and are stunned when you realize you hit the bottom of the bag? I have and it’s an awful feeling. I used to think that I felt awful because I just ate my allotment of calories for the day in less than an hour, but I’ve come to realize that I feel awful because at those moments I am not really living. During these unconscious times you are missing your life because your mind usually has you in the past or in the future. Unconscious living takes you out of the present moment.

During the lecture Wayne and Eckhart provide insight to why the present moment is where the magic happens. Only when we are in the present moment do we rid ourselves of labels and the constant chatter of the mind. It is here that we can be extraordinary. These two thought leaders share poetry, fables, stories and laughs to inspire you to live in the present, to live consciously. I especially liked how Wayne teased Eckhart about being named the most influential spiritual teacher in the world. According to this poll, Wayne was number three. Eckhart laughed and pointed out that in the now that they were experiencing, they were just two guys on stage sharing their gifts and enjoying each other in the present moment. So glad that moment was captured for us to enjoy here in the now because it was extraordinary.

FTC Disclosure: I received this product for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 17, 2013 The Seeker's Lamp
When I first heard about this release, I was excited to get a chance to hear it. In the past Wayne Dyer has done similar dialogue recordings with other speakers in the field, including Caroline Myss and Byron Katie. This talk was recorded in Maui, Hawaii at a retreat which took place on October 28, 2011. This review is specifically about the audio double-disc edition, entitled The Importance of Being Extraordinary which was released by Hay House on February 4, 2013. I received a promotional copy of the recording from Hay House for review purposes.

The recording is similar to other commercially released Eckhart talks, with a slight microphone feedback-type sound present which brings a welcome sense of familiarity. The discussion takes place as a free form conversation with Eckhart leading. Wayne speaks on the importance of going beyond the ordinary in life, with Eckhart focusing on the value of presence. They quote from a variety of spiritual texts including The Bible, Tao te Ching, A Course in Miracles, the “I Am” Discourses, and more.

Much of the dialogue is easy going and light and a pleasure to listen to. The exchange between the two on their rankings in Watkins Book’s 100 Most Spiritual Living People of 2011 is worth the price alone. The second disc contains some of the best material and includes several questions from the audience and is moderated by Tami Simon of Sounds True. They discuss the differences in their teachings, whether or not goal setting is advisable, inspiration vs. motivation, and more.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 09, 2013 KatrinaSimeck
I listened to The Importance of Beng Extraordinary over the course of a week on my morning commute to work. More than once, I found myself sitting in my car listening to just a few more minutes.

Eckhart Tolle describes being extraordinary as "to be awake, aware, present." That pretty much sums up how I'm trying to learn to live my ordinary life. I hadn't stopped and thought of it as extraordinary.

Combining the wisdom of Dr. Dyer and Mr. Tolle creates a brilliant coffee talk conversation that is inspirational & motivating. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed listening to this work - they have vastly different speaking styles. The contrast was an excellent tool to continually bring my attention back to the conversation (don't tell me that you don't tune out audio books sometimes!).

The reminders throughout the CD to be present, and embrace awareness, are worth replaying time & time again. Looking forward to my next road trip to listen!

Hay House provided me with this CD-set free of charge in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 09, 2013 FETIAS

I have listened to Wayne Dyer all my life and have grown with him through the years. In the earlier years and even a bit now, his ego creeps in which can be a bit off putting, but that does not serve to diminish the inspirational strength of his work. My favorite work of his to date is still the "The Power of Intention." I find myself going back to that book and the excellent PBS DVD, and it still works its magic on me.


I discovered Eckhart Tolle later with "The Power of Now" and "A New Earth." Both are magnificent books, which I like to listen to again and again. They help me to remember to be here now.

"The Importance of Being Extraordinary" is a very interesting and inspiring discussion. However, both men have very different ways of speaking, which don't blend very well together. Dyer's delivery seems to overpower Tolle's quieter, gentler manner, which I found to be jarring at times. Overall though, their insightful talk is colorful and rich with many examples taken from life experiences, poetry and the bible. It is a powerful life changing message, which is certainly worth 5 stars!

I am a Hay House Book Nook Blogger and have been given the opportunity to listen to this CD and share my opinion with you. Thank you Hay House!!

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 04, 2013 Mary Note Law

I really enjoyed feeling as if I were present in the room as Wayne Dyer and Ekhart Tolle sat and chatted for a spell. I began with the expectation that I would be sitting in on a lecture, with clearly defined bullet points and a list of lessons learned. What I found was that the lessons were gently woven into the context of a friendly conversation between two wise souls. Among other things, Wayne Dyer shared his transformation from a serious diagnosis to vibrant health; Ekhart Tolle shared the importance of staying in the flow of Spirit and avoiding the pitfalls of egoic thinking-- not in a lecturey way; more in a "been there; done that; not going through that again!" sort of way. I will listen to this conversation again. It was an enjoyable way to spend two hours and to experience beautiful spiritual principles as they are masterfully applied in the lives of these highly conscious, heart-centered people.

Through their Book Nook Blogger's Community, Hay House was kind enough to provide me this collection for free in exchange for my honest opinion.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 01, 2013 hhreviewer2
This is my review of The Importance of Being Extraordinary by Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

The Importance of Being Extraordinary by Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle is an absolute treat to listen to. Inspiring and uplifting, the two men discuss deep, serious questions both personal and universal with humor and lightheartedness. This two-CD set contains a little more than two hours worth of conversation by these two modern philosophers.

To anyone who follows the work of Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle, the content probably won't be new, but the messages are best repeated and heard time and time again. Most especially the importance of being present in the moment and consciously aware.

Personally, I enjoy Eckhart Tolle's work more than Wayne Dyer's, but they are similar enough to one another that listening to their conversation doesn't feel at all disjointed. It is actually a very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours relaxing or even driving while listening. Given that their discussion was recorded in Hawaii, that alone makes me wish it was a DVD-set instead only for the gorgeous views I would hope to glimpse.

Overall The Importance of Being Extraordinary by Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle is a wonderfully inspiring read.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 29, 2013 ddawley
If you ever wanted to be a fly on the wall at a conversation with two of the world’s greatest spiritual leaders, this is your chance. Surprisingly funny, very profound, this recording was taped on Maui in 2012. Followers of Dyer and Tolle’s work will love listening to these two chat about everything from how they manage their own egos to the meaning of life. Like all teachings of a highly spiritual nature, if you aren’t ready to hear it, you won’t be able to receive its inherent message. But I believe that everyone should hear this, and more than once. Even if you miss its deepest concepts, there are truths for everyone here. Each time you listen to this audio book, you will absorb more and more of its teaching.

Eckhart advises us not to believe every thought that arises in our heads. Our thoughts are the source of our greatest suffering, as they both state throughout the audio book in various ways. Wayne advises that we have a mind that is open to everything and attached to nothing. Eckhart echoes (paraphrased), if I can be free of the conceptual self or an innocent aware presence, there’s no uneasiness, no stress. I’ve personally learned this is one of the greatest truths there is. If you can be an observer of the events of your life, accepting them for what they are without judgment or creating a story around the event, you free yourself from the stress and problems most people face when something comes into their lives that they did not want.

This is also an interesting recording for writers, with a good discussion on writing processes. Both Tolle & Dyer talk about writing being channeled, that is, coming through them from a higher source rather than from their minds. Both write books in an incredibly short period of time. They say that once the writing becomes a struggle it’s time to stop, because the ego is taking over from source. Neither believes there is such a thing as writer’s block. There are days you write and days you don’t write. If it bothers you that you don’t write on a particular day, you can call that writer’s block, if you wish to have writer’s block. I did mention that parts of this conversation are very funny and this is one of them.

The greatest part of the audio, for me, was their discussion on the meaning of life. You need to buy the book to get the answer to life’s greatest question, and to know why I plan to go buy a yellow writing pad.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 24, 2013 Lead With Your Heart
I was looking forward to listening to a conversation between Dr. Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle. I received the two-cd set free of charge from Hay House Publishing for the purpose of reviewing it. I am very familiar with both of their work, but had no idea they knew each other’s work so well. I would recommend this to anyone who is on a personal path of spiritual growth, and anyone who is interested in living an extraordinary life.

They talk about half-lived lives and how we haven’t been raised to know our extraordinary selves, our Divine Selves. As a result of denying who we truly are, an over-whelming number of us have turned to prescription drug solutions for anxiety and depression, over-indulging in food, drugs and alcohol, none of which will solve our problems.

Both men speak about the concept of wholeness, that all of life on earth and the planet itself are interconnected, from microbes in the soil, to plants, trees, animals and humans. The good news, they agree, is that when each of us reaches elevated levels of consciousness, we have a positive affect on the people we come in contact with. As we elevate ourselves, we lift others with us.

In discussing various belief systems they both referenced Christian, Buddhist, Taoist, Islam and New Thought texts, as well as the poets. I particularly appreciated the way they focused on the similarities of the belief systems and teachings. Listening to them was like feeling a beautiful tapestry being woven around you.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 24, 2013 RAnnRousseau
The Importance of Being Extraordinary is a 2 CD set featuring an inspirational talk given by Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle in Hawaii.

Eckhart and Wayne tell us that to be extraordinary is to live your life in conscious awareness. They say most people put more value on doing and less value on being. When you're living an extraordinary life, you are in an Awakened Doing state. You will balance the Awakened Doing with Spacious Presence which is contentment, peacefulness, quietness. They say that when you live an extraordinary life by balancing Awakened Doing with Spacious Presence, there is a deep aliveness in you which liberates you from your false sense of self. They referenced Zen Buddhism. They told us that monks often ask, "What is Zen?" The answer is Nothing. It can't be defined. It is beingness. I was surprised Buddhist monks actually ask that question.

Conscious Awareness is a wonderful concept and practice--one that requires a constant reminder in today's fast paced world which can knock us unconscious with one cut off on the highway. I think the value in listening to these CDs is to check in with yourself to determine where you're out of balance in the real world. Are you spending too much time alone? Perhaps you're leaning too hard in the Spacious Presence direction. Are you running around like a mad person, going to work, picking up kids, making dinner, cleaning, screaming, and completely worn out? You're out of balance in the Awakening Doing part of your life AND Spaciousness Awareness. Actually, if you're at that point, there's not much awakeness and aliveness going on. You've completely checked out of your own life.

I've said this before when reviewing Wayne Dyer's work, his quotes drive me insane. They're a crutch. Wayne Dyer constantly quotes other people. Eckhart Tolle makes statements and observations that other people quote. It's the difference between a spiritual teacher (Wayne Dyer) and a spiritual master teacher (Eckhart Tolle). I challenge Wayne Dyer to write a book or give a lecture quote free. Will he feel naked? Will he be inspired and give us himself fully awakened? Will he transform himself from spiritual professor to spiritual master and just BE the concepts he talks about? He needs no one and nothing to support what he knows to be true in his life. Quoting others is trying to defend an observation or experience.

I give the CD 3 out of 4 stars because the concept of present moment awareness is timeless and requires review for time to time. Wayne and Eckhart together is interesting with a noticeable difference in style. I didn't hear anything mind blowing or awe inspiring in these CDs. If you've listened to these two before, it's just a refresher about present moment awareness. I recommend it for those in traffic to add to their commuter library.

Disclosure: I am a Hay House Book Reviewer which means I may receive a book free of charge for review. My credibility is extremely important to me. This site is independently owned and the opinions expressed here are my own. Sometimes that's very obvious. I am also an affiliate of Hay House Publishing and Amazon. This means I receive a commission if you purchase Hay House or Amazon products linked from this website.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

R. Ann Rousseau writes about metaphysical, spiritual and astrology topics on her blog Explore Beyond the Usual. She is author of the new novel Portsmouth, A Love Story.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 23, 2013 Lissag
I just finished listening to the new 2 CD set from Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle called “The Importance of Being Extraordinary”. These men are two of the most influential spiritual teachers alive today and their work continues to profoundly inspire those who follow their teachings. The title alone is inspiring.

Taped live in Hawaii, this is a thought provoking dialogue between two great leading edge thinkers about cultivating awareness and learning to relinquish our identification to our ego mind in order to live fully present, extraordinary lives.

This humorous, yet deeply philosophical exchange addresses the questions we all wrestle with: what is real, who am I and what is the meaning of life, providing answers through the perspective of when we are living out of our ego and when we are living from spirit.

They stress the ‘importance of being’ instead of ‘doing’ and the significance of seeking your highest self and working to bring that into full expression so you experience being extraordinary in all aspects of your life.

Even more, the smallest shift on an individual level affects the greater world at large in the process. When we live extraordinarily, “we create a world of extraordinary people who look beyond what they are programmed to become, we impact the entire consciousness of this planet”.

Listening to this program, I felt like I was sitting in on an intimate conversation as these wise men explain the complexities of life through their unique spiritual perspectives. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that? Although, at times this is weighty information, there’s much to be gleaned from their wisdom. Whether or not you are familiar with their teachings yet, I highly recommend this program.

FTC Disclosure: I am not financially compensated for this post. The opinions in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 22, 2013 bexlife

Motivational CDs are about the only things that get played in my car, apart from some Krishna Das and a few select meditation CDs. (This is the root of constant complaining by the teenagers.) And don’t freak out. I only meditate while safely parked in my driveway. I’m only dangerous when I dance – not when I drive.

Last Tuesday morning, I was on my way to the College of Staten Island High School for International Studies to present my talk, “Finding Success Through Being Yourself”, that I would be presenting to four groups of students. As per usual, I had yet another motivational CD playing as I drove.

I wasn’t even 6 minutes into The Importance of Being Extraordinary with Dr. Wayne W. Dyer & Eckhart Tolle when I found inspiration. Even though I had prepared, practiced, and scribbled notes on forty-two index cards, I knew I had to share with the students what I just had heard on this offering from two of my favorite teachers.


+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 20, 2013 blessedelements

The Importance of Being Extraordinary is a 2 CD Set of a live lecture of the #1 New York Times Best Selling Authors Eckhart Tolle and Dr. Wayne Dyer.

The CD consists of opinions of these remarkable influential people on a variety of topics.
Both men discuss biblical text and how they apply to our lives and also explore problems existing in today’s time. The CD is filled with humor, wisdom and philosophical insight from both men. Among the topics discussed are the subject of Ego and if it is always bad and the meaning of life.

I was curious before hearing this CD if each speaker would compliment each other of if one speaker would dominate the other. Both speakers personalities blended perfectly and gave profound wisdom to the listener. Listening to this CD I knew it would be hard to review it as the information given was vast and could be personalized and applied to who ever listened to this CD set. At times the conversation was very deep and encompassing. It is a CD that will reach the masses in completely different ways relating to each person’s individual and spiritual needs. Also this CD will grow with the listener as each time it is listened to will no doubt give guidance not previously realized before as the individual grows higher in spirit levels.

I thought Eckhart Tolle’s interpretations of bible verses were very effective and gave me an in depth realization of the meaning of the text. The topic of positive thinking was discussed and if it was still viable in today’s time. Dr. Dyer once suggested a thought of perhaps it would be best to not focus on Christ dying on the cross but yet the resurrection where Eckhart Tolle suggested that the crucifixion was viable as without the crucifixion then the resurrection would not have been possible. Both agreed that a portion of their growth was because of practicing positive thinking. Those not familiar with either men or those that are already fans will enjoy this CD set and find it a useful resource to ponder, learn and grow in their spiritual life.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 17, 2013 Jeanieber

This cd set is classic Eckhart and classic Wayne in a lecture to influence and meditate upon with a light hearted, and profound energy interwoven with humor throughout. In the lecture Wayne stated “If there’s something you really need to know, it arises”, and it did for me. Well actually they did, so I guess I was ready to know a couple of things. Without giving anything away, there are lessons and suggestions that you may take under consideration for your own extraordinary soul journey. I have this cd in my car and have listened to it several times, and highly recommend it to anyone who has any desire to treasure their magnificence.

Jeanie Beresford NTP

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 15, 2013 ASimpleGuide

In Dr. Wayne Dyer’s and Eckhart Tolle’s, “The Importance of Being Extraordinary”, 2-CD set, featuring a live lecture between these two spiritually influential speakers, you will be delighted by their light-hearted, honest approach towards sharing themselves and their message.

It is almost like something that you would have imagined in your mind…having the opportunity to eavesdrop on these two great thinkers, and being able to absorb their energy and their deep insights. This CD combo does just that—except they have invited us all to their table, to listen and take part in the magic that happens when two of the world’s greatest spiritual teachers sit down to talk.

The message is simple yet profound. It reminds us of how and why we have all clung to role of “ordinary” so hard and for so long. As they discuss the importance of being instead of doing, and why you owe it to yourself to seek your highest self and to bring it into expression. I loved the sense of humor that the two displayed, as they laughed and joked, which in itself is also a gift. So put it in your car, listen to it and enjoy!

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 13, 2013 Angel
Taped on location in Hawaii, this CD set provides a front-row seat to a profoundly moving conversation between two of the three 'most spiritually influential people alive' (according to Watkins magazine).

I love both these spiritual teachers and who ever had the idea of this set is brilliant. If you are a fan of either of these luminaries you will love this work. If this is your first encounter with either, you will also appreciate this insightful exchange. Their interaction is synergistic, their shared thoughts are uplifting, and their humor is contagious. They are both hilarious, especially Dyer ... poking fun at his own ego!

When I first saw this set I thought, Yes I do want to be Extraordinary. I certainly feel that I know the importance of it. I was so curious as to the advice these spiritual leaders would give to send me off in the right direction. I have learned from listening to this CD set, which is basically a spiritual conversation between Eckhart Tolle and Wayne Dyer, so much ... but my favorite part about The Importance of Being Extraordinary is the advice about being extraordinary which is ... Just Be Yourself. I love that! By being yourself you are extraordinary. It has come to my attention that so many people do not allow themselves to be extraordinary ... they chase the ordinary. Always chasing the ordinary, trying to fit in, keep up with the Jones, you know. The truth is that that Extra something ... that spark ... that wow that some people just seem to have, comes from a willingness to simply Just be themselves.


I loved listening to this live lecture and think that everyone could benefit from giving it play on the CD player. For more information, please visit Tolle and Dyer at the house where all the great spiritual leaders of our time dwell Hayhouse.


I received this item for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 08, 2013 taylorcindi
In The Importance of Being Extraordinary, Dr. Wayne Dyer and Eckhart Tolle allow us to listen in on a refreshing and at times lighthearted exploration of what it means to be truly present in our lives, and therefore extraordinary.

They explore everything from reconciling the two dimensions of being and doing (how we can both create form, and just be content with what already is); identifying and living in form identity versus essence identity (your concept of who you are based on your form or history, achievements, failures, mental self; versus your essence or state as an aware presence “where you don’t need to remember or think anything; just be that field of awareness” Tolle); to the definition of being extraordinary according to both men.

I particularly liked Mr. Tolle’s explanation of thought’s effect on form. He explains that when you identify with a thought, you actually physically re-incarnate, moment by moment, into that thought’s form. Therefore, we continuously re-incarnate into our physical bodies through our mind’s identification with a particular thought. (Makes you want to get a better handle on your thoughts, doesn’t it?)

Whether you are new to the concepts discussed or familiar with them, I highly recommend this CD set. The information is valuable and insightful, and as with most meaningful spiritual thought, worthy of hearing again and again. I’ve listened to it twice already and plan to keep it on rotation in my car as a direct and fun reminder of the teachings we should all heed. Oh, and you’ll get a kick out of the #3 versus #1 theme that surfaces now and again. (Listen and you’ll know what I mean!)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 05, 2013 timlarison
How would you like to hear a conversation between two of the top three most influential spiritual people alive? The new Hay House CD set “The Importance of Being Extraordinary” gives you that opportunity.

Wayne Dyer jokes about this designation that he first saw on the internet. “You’re listening right now to the third most influential spiritual person alive,” Dyer says. “That’s my ego. There’s two people ahead of me on this list. Now my spirit says ‘you aren’t any better than anyone else, you’re just connected to God like everyone else.’ The ego is tapping me on the shoulder saying ‘I know you can take those two guys ahead of you down!’”

The CD is filled with wonderful moments like this, giving insight to the human dilemma we all struggle with – when are we living out of our ego and when are we living out of spirit?

Eckhart Tolle’s “power of now” message comes through clearly in the discussion. The real you, Tolle says, is “a sense of deep aliveness that has nothing to do with your history or your future. If you can touch that within you that is the liberation from a false sense of self. This is why we are here. To experience that.”

I enjoyed the friendly banter between Dyer and Tolle, filled with wisdom and humor. On the second disk of the two CD set the pair take questions from the audience (recorded at a live event in Maui). Listen to the CD to hear their take on inquiries such as:

“Since you are both very popular and successful, how do you remain humble and in touch with everyday people and situations, and not let your ego take over?”

“Should I establish goals for my life, and what kind of goals would each of you place a high value on?”

“Is it possible to slay the ego? Can the ego be good?”

While I feel a reading book from Dyer or Tolle is the best way to absorb each author’s teaching, this two hour CD program captures the essence of their message in abbreviated form. “You can be an extraordinary being and still have ordinary in it. The extraordinary part of who we all are is the Soul,” Wayne Dyer says in one segment. The CD set reminded me to recognize and live out of my “extraordinary” part more often.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews