Book Reviews

All Is Well

Louise L. Hay, Mona Lisa Schulz

Empowerment, Intuition, Inspirational, Health & Healing

978-1-4019-3501-6

Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition All is Well, the new book by celebrated authors Louise Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz, not only explores the medical science behind the affirmations... More

Oct 28, 2013 WellnessWoman

"Oh no! What happened on your hands?"

"Eczema breakout." I replied to my client with a sigh.

"Hey, when was the last time you did some writing? Didn't you say the last time your eczema flared up you wrote your book and it went away?"

She was right. I had a severe case of eczema on my hands and after spending time and money on allergists, homeopaths, acupuncturists, herbalists and even going so far as strong steroid creams as a last result, nothing worked. In fact, it got worse.

Then, one day, I set aside my frustration, picked up my laptop and began the book I had been putting off writing for years.

One month later, the eczema that had been plaguing me for the previous six months, disappeared.

Crazy, huh? Or is it?

Our bodies have messages for us, sometimes those messages are hard to decipher or we don't want to hear them so we shut them up with pills or potions. Or we put it down to bad luck, bad timing, or bad genes.

Don't get me wrong, medicine certainly has it's place. But sometimes it's confusing knowing where that place is exactly.

So I was delighted to learn about the new book All is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition. The book blends the best of scientific facts in medicine and metaphysical intuition to decode the messages our bodies bring us and help them heal effectively. It's not all about your mind and it's not all about medicine. Both have their place and through this book you can blend the practices and better understand your body and improve your health.

Co-Written by Louise Hay, a pioneer in the power of positive thinking, and neuropsychiatrist Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz, each woman brings her wealth of knowledge and healing to the forefront so you can easily learn how best to begin the journey of healing whatever ails you, everything from abdominal cramps to cancer and everything in between.

Leaving my client's house with her prescription to write a blog post, I looked up eczema in the book for more insight. It reads: 'Breath-taking antagonism. Mental eruptions.' Made perfect sense. I had been beating myself up while trying to perfect various projects, which resulted in lots of 'mental eruptions'.

An affirmation to begin changing this mental pattern read: "Harmony and peace, love and joy surround me and indwell me. I am safe and secure."

The book is much more than mere affirmations (which are quite powerful in their own right) and each chapter dives deeper into an emotional center and gives you a deeper description as well as case studies.

If you want a manual on how to best understand the messages your body is telling you, whether it's eczema, a migraine, or something more serious, I highly recommend picking up a copy of All is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition.

Full Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinion expressed is my own and unbiased.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 09, 2013 jessica0322

This is an interesting book, a must read and guide for anybody suffering from illnesses and trying to find probably mental causes.

For those who don't know much about Louise Hay, in 1986 she wrote "You Can Heal Your Life", a book that has sold over 30 million copies all over the world. Louise's method of curing any illness and enjoying a wonderful life is based in positive affirmations.

Her co-author in this new book is Mona Lisa Schulz, who gives scientific evidence showing the link between the mind and body, and how connected our thoughts, emotions and health are. She gives several cases as examples of how the illness was originated in the first place, and then she describes the whole treatment based on traditional and alternative medicine, affirmations and more.

They divided the book in 7 sections ; in every one of them they describe the body emotional centers:
- The First Emotional Center: Bones, joints, blood, inmune system, and skin.
- The Second Emotional Center: Bladder, reproductive organs, lower back, and hips.
- The Third Emotional Center: digestive system, weight, adrenal glands, pancreas and addiction.
- The Fourth Emotional Center: Heart, lungs, and breasts.
- The Fifth Emotional Center: Mouth, neck, and Thyroid.
- The Sixth Emotional Center: Brain, Eye, and Ears.
- The Seventh Emotional Centers: Chronic and degenerative disorders and life-threatening illnesses.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 01, 2013 stephaniesherie
The book begins with a self-assessment quiz. Because Mona Lisa uses the chakra system of health, all of the questions apply to each corresponding chakra. In this way, you know which chapter to go to first. She uses the word “emotional center” to mean chakra system. The questions aren’t just about symptoms and disease, but also your dominating thought patterns. This book is a mind and body approach to health.

The chapters of the book are divided by Emotional Centers and their related places in the body. For example, emotions are related to the fourth emotional center, the heart, lungs, and breast. I was impressed at the related back and forth of medical science to the mind/body connection brought forth in this book. For example, “In general, science supports the claim that suppressed emotions, especially anxiety, depression, and anger, play a role in blood pressure conditions.”

There are many case studies included in the book where prescriptions range from the traditional, supplementation, specific affirmations, and lifestyle suggestions. I wish this book were a commonplace in real life. I wish every medical establishment included a representative from all of these modes of healing.

In the back of the book are the ALL IS WELL TABLES and these read like You Can Heal Your Life. This book is a wonderful reference for your shelf. It gives you a well rounded perspective on health for years to come. I highly recommend this book. It is easy to read and well organized.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 20, 2013 komalley1121
When I hear the words, "All is Well," I am enveloped in a peaceful glow with a heightened sense that everything is working in the absolute best way possible no matter what challenges I'm facing. So what do I say to a friend who is scheduled to have surgery tomorrow?

I say, "I love you."

I see her blanketed by the light of love, trusting in her body's strength to endure this procedure and her innate ability to recover and heal. I envision her surrounded by a team of knowledgeable, experienced and caring health professionals who are fully present to her throughout this entire process. I ask that all medications used work only as intended. And in peaceful surrender, I close my eyes and know, All is Well.

All is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition draws deeply from the wisdom of Louise Hay's You Can Heal Your Life and the work of Mona Lisa Schulz, M.D., Ph.D in the areas of medicine and intuition. It recognizes the connection between emotional factors and the body's susceptibility to illness as well as the body's amazing ability to heal through an integrative approach.

For those persons struggling to determine what to do next in their quest for improved health, the self-assessment quiz in Chapter 2 points you to the information that is most pertinent to your particular health issues and lifestyle patterns.

The case studies in the subsequent chapters offer insights into the treatment programs of various individuals as they reclaimed their health and state of wellness. It is important to understand that even when faced with similar illnesses, your journey might look differently based on what treatment options are available to you and which physicians and practitioners you are guided to.

I loved the idea of writing a Life Grant Proposal that is presented in Chapter 10 for persons experiencing chronic and degenerative disorders and life-threatening illnesses. I also appreciated the ways to inundate life with love and joy that were presented in this chapter as part of a particular patient's health plan to "elevate opiates and natural killer cell activity and decrease inflammatory mediators."

Chapter 11 is an absolute bonus with the tables that list health conditions in alphabetical order, their associated limiting thought patterns, and the new thought patterns that Louise Hay proposes.

The key to using this book is to listen to the messages your body is sending, consider the perspectives that are presented and then take steps in the direction that feels right for you and fits within your means.

Purchase All is Well...from Amazon
Purchase All is Well...from Barnes and Nobles
Purchase All is Well...from Hay House
Purchase All is Well...from Chapters.Indigo.ca

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

Kathleen O'Malley, Author
http://www.kathleenomalleymessages.com
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 13, 2013 Angel
If you are a Louise Hay Lover than All Is Well Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition is a must-read and if you are not, it still is. Everyone could benefit from the wisdom, guidance and healing from this book, even if you do not completely agree with it.

All Is Well Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition is a book that gives scientific backing to the the healing beliefs and that Louise has shared with us since the eighties. Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz brilliantly weaves the various disciplines of science, traditional Chinese Medicine, and what she calls intuitive thinking medicine with the ideas that birthed the Hay House empire.

An integrative, holistic, mind-body healing approach, All Is Well Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition builds on the earlier writings of both authors, updating Hay's classics You Can Heal Your Life and Heal Your Body with the experience and client stories of Dr. Schulz

Beginning with a self-assessment, and then sectioning off into 7 emotional center chapters that correlate to the 7 chakras the book makes it easy to find answers and healing methods for individual troubles. A quick reference guide is included, an A-Z appendix of body-mind correlations and affirmations that expands upon the original list from Hays' earlier work.

Well-written, easy to navigate, beautifully illustrated and a pure joy to experience, All Is Well Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition will grace shelves long after any of us are around.

Many Interior Stars & Exterior Stars above the best ... in the heavens, inspired by the angelic realm. Thank you both, Louise and Mona Lisa, for all the work you put into this wonderful book. I love you both!!!

I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own, based on my personal experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 10, 2013 cathiebarash
The book entitled, All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition by Louise L. Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz, was given to me by Hay House Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion of it.

I love the teachings of Louise Hay, so definitely would not deter anyone from reading any of her books including this one. I appreciate her positive approach to life, and this book was a good refresher of the information in her other writings as well.

However, what was new and an added benefit was her collaboration with Mona Lisa who is a medical physician and intuitive. Together they discuss treating the whole person, and making a connection between our thoughts and physical symptoms.

It was interesting to read their combined knowledge of health and wellness. Each author has years of experience exploring emotional causes for our physical illnesses and sheds light on how to help us heal beyond just going to the doctor.

Instead of reading this book from the first page to the last, I find myself using it more like a physical health reference book for specific areas of the body, and as a reminder for keeping healthy thoughts as well.

Louise is particularly known for teaching about affirmations and Mona Lisa brings scientific evidence to support how effective making positive statements about life can be for our overall health.

This book helps us to take a more active role in listening to our bodies, and we are encouraged us to say the following affirmation repeatedly whenever there is a problem which will help ease our stress.

All is well.
Everything is working out for my highest good.
Out of this situation only good will come.
I am safe.

Enjoy!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 26, 2013 devadarling
Recently, a very good gal pal of mine (Ms. Mary Law), told me about the Hay House book nook program and I thought...I'm in. Good reads and an excuse to write...oh, all right...twist my arm then...

So...at no charge to me (win!), my first pick was the just recently released, All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition, by Louise L. Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz, M.D., PH.D. I loved the idea of blending all modalities of healing in a way that could be tailored to each of our individual needs as well as our highest and best healing and good. This book does that beautifully and surprisingly simply. East meets West meets Higher Power and Intuition. Brilliant. Not since I found Donna Eden's Energy Medicine have I been so excited about a book. In my humble opinion, these two books should be on everyone's shelf to read and consult and read again.

What Louise Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz have done with All Is Well is pick up where modern medicine, quite literally, leaves off. When the doctors have "done all they can do", it is up to us, as empowered human beings capable of healing from within, to awaken these innate healing powers and do our part. This starts with changing the thought patterns and beliefs that initially brought about the onset of these physical manifestations of dis-ease. This isn't to say that there aren't other factors (environmental, genetics, etc.) at play here, but simply to acknowledge the often overlooked emotional root that is also in that mix, identify it, and transform it....thus transforming yourself.

The book starts off with a self assessment quiz (no cheating!) and then continues by breaking down the body into seven emotional centers; each associated with specific areas of the body and potential imbalances that typically occur within these emotional centers. This is then coupled with case studies to demonstrate the benefits of a fully integrated approach to healing. From drug therapy, to surgery, to accu-puncture, to Chinese medicinal herbs, to lifestyle changes and affirmations, they cover it all. Once again, as the case studies demonstrate, the healthcare prescribed and/or recommended is tailored to each patient based on their individual needs/preferences/specific diagnosis/etc. In this way, a full spectrum healing is achieved.

Finally, at the back end of All Is Well (page 183), they have put together a table of "Problem"/"Probable Cause"/"New Thought Pattern" which is easy to follow and super handy. This alone is worth the price of the book. Talk about your Oprah "a-ha" moment. This table is full of "a-has". You know, when you read something back and it, basically, calls you out on something you've never even admitted to yourself. But here these words and phrases are, looking up at you, seemingly innocent enough....yet resonating within your very core...and you wonder how they knew.

So, if you want my nickel's worth of free advice, do yourself a favor and add this book to your shelf...whether it's a lovely built in...or cyber...and begin to unlock the healing power within.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 22, 2013 Lead With Your Heart

The book begins with an introduction from Louise Hay, followed by a chapter where Dr. Schulz tells of her long history using Louise’s affirmations, and her later discovery that she is a medical intuitive. While both of these talented women utilize intuition in the practice of holistic healing, Dr. Schulz also brings medical and psychiatric training and knowledge to the table. These styles combined offer a comprehensive, and yet easily understood guide to initial self-diagnosis, followed by medical diagnostic options, prescription medications, herbs, vitamins, acupuncture, Chinese herbs and of course, healing affirmations.

Chapter 2 is a deceptively brief, and yet accurate Self-Assessment Quiz. I have to admit that I was a little skeptical when I first began answering the questions with a “yes” or “no” response. I kept thinking this was just a little too much like the “cure-all” quizzes found in many women’s magazines. When I finished the assessment and tallied my score as directed, well, I realized that I was very wrong.

The diagnostics are based on seven emotional centers of the body and how our illnesses, physical, emotional and mental are connected to these centers. A full chapter is devoted to each one of them, with explanations of correlating emotions, physical ailments and affected organs. Each chapter also includes case studies which are extreme cases of people with a range of illnesses within a particular emotional center. The illnesses covered, range from headaches, digestive issues and achy joints, to life-threatening cancers and debilitating auto-immune illnesses.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is open to all modalities of healing, and who wants to feel better and lead a healthier lifestyle. There is an expanded version of Louise Hay’s wonderful chart of ailments, possible causes and healing affirmations, as well as a full bibliography for further exploration.

I received this book free of charge from Hay House Publishing for the purpose of reviewing it.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 13, 2013 AndyB
All is well. It really is, when you read this book and feel so comfortable reciting the empowering affirmations created by Louise Hay for each body part and/or condition that is not well in your body or mind. Don't take it wrong, though: this book is not a substitute for medical care or advice, however it blends western medicine with eastern and alternative medicine and the power of affirmations to give suggestions and advice on how you should go about seeking treatment for your dis-eases. And this is what the authors do very well, combining their knowledge with real case studies where you can read about people's real stories and the solutions that were offered to them for their healing and to improve their mind and body's health.

I found the All is Well table starting on page 183 extremely helpful, as you can go through the body organs, or conditions that affect your body, and choose an affirmation to that specific area or problem. It makes a lot of sense, if you are suffering from any of these issues described. They really narrow down the pains to the areas that affect them, and it is all described in a very no nonsense way, easy to read, and broken down into the seven emotional centers. Worth reading, even if you think you're not suffering from any of these condition, and it opens your eyes to potentially avoid them in the future as well.


I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 05, 2013 BookLover
All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition By Louise L. Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz, M.D. PhD. is a book that blends the concepts of intuition and western medicine. This book combines the best of using affirmations, intuition, and scientific medicine to help us create a life of health and wellness.

The different chapters in this book are broken up by the "seven emotional centers" similar to the seven chakras in the body that many people are familiar with, and explains the correlation between them and the body's overall health.

At the beginning of the book there is a self-assessment quiz and once you take it you learn which areas or "emotional centers" of the body are in need of healing. By learning which areas are in need of healing you can then go to that section of the book specifically or read the entire book from front to back.

This is the first book I have read by Louise Hay and I found it to be informative and helpful in learning to use modern science, affirmations, and intuition together to heal ourselves. I will defiantly be reading more of her books. I especially enjoyed the real life examples in each chapter which showed me how healing in this way is possible.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in combining the use of traditional and nontraditional medicine to heal themselves both physically and emotionally.

I received this book free of charge from Hay House in order for my unbiased opinion of the book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 30, 2013 tinietao

"All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition" by Louise L. Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz, M.D., Ph.D. explores the connection between the health of our minds and the health of our bodies.

The premise is that our thinking, in addition to our genetics, environment, diet, exercise and other lifestyle habits, affect our health. For example, if we're thinking negatively over a long period of time, we're releasing different things in our body in response to the stress... and that can affect our organs and our whole body.

The book provides case studies that illustrate how illnesses can develop in part because of our thoughts. Then, the case studies go into the treatment plans that have been used to bring individuals back to full health. Treatment recommendations are pretty well rounded, including conventional medicine in addition to alternative therapies. So, the individuals in the case studies become healthier by using western and eastern modalities together.

The book includes specific affirmations that can be used to reverse different health conditions (in conjunction with medicine, complementary therapies and other lifestyle changes). These are aimed at replacing negative thinking patterns we may have held for a very long time, that have contributed to negative effects on our bodies from the stress and negative lifestyle habits we may have adopted as unhealthy coping methods.

Worth a read to learn about new perspectives on health and more ways we can take care of ourselves. At times, I thought the book was tedious especially if it was talking about areas where I'm already pretty healthy. I read the entire book all the way through, but it might be more convenient to skip to sections pertaining to areas of your health that you want to improve. The book can be repetitive and the affirmations seem pretty similar for all kinds of different health conditions. When I was reading, I definitely had a good dose of skepticism.

Now that I've had some time to think, I can see that at least it doesn't hurt to incorporate more positive thinking if it helps relax our minds and bodies. And once we're calmed down rather than thinking chaotic and upsetting thoughts, it's easier for us to incorporate health enhancing changes in our lives.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House for review purposes. The following are my personal and honest opinions.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 14, 2013 judyshome
“I fill my decisions with love and compassion. My new decisions support me and strengthen me. I have new ideas and put them into action. I am safe in my new decisions.”

I have been a religious fan of Louise Hay since I purchased “You Can Heal Your Life” a few years ago. Since then, positive affirmations litter my wall space, my office and anyplace where I can post myself a reminder. If they start fading into the background, the adhesive magically loosens and falls. I pick it up, take it in, smile and secure it back into place. It’s likely the Universe doing this for me… or it’s just trying to tell me that I need better adhesive .

There has been no single person who has been as influential in my life as Louise has been, so when her new book, All is Well (co-written by Mona Lisa Schulz) came out, I was as excited as I could be. Written from the intuitive medical doctor point of view, I especially appreciated the references to scientific studies. Not that I think science can explain everything, nor that it’s a mandatory component in healing – if it works, it works…and it does work. But I know having had taken the alternative healing route myself, it gives us some credence – and yes, the Haters will still dismiss these as “fake science”. And I don’t care.

I liked how the authors took an integrative medicine approach throughout the book from vitamin therapy to Traditional Chinese Medicine, to conventional pharmaceuticals – There truly are people in the world who will work together for the sake of a patient! *Happy*

While I do love reading about body-mind-spirit connections, the book didn’t actually pique my interest until it addressed the issues I have (isn’t that always the case? ). I went through their self-assessment and thought that I didn’t have any major health issues. Reading the rest of the book was a gentle reminder that there are definitely things I can focus on and improve.

For whatever reason, my teeth like getting cavities. In my younger years, it made enough sense: my diet was poor and lacked the nutrients to build strong teeth. I was also a lazy brusher. In my adult years, even after completing the nutrition program, routinely brushing my teeth and even while working at the dental office, I was still getting a fair number of cavities. So in comes the affirmation, which I started this post with and have been reciting every day. I’ll also try their natural, homemade antiseptic mouthwash made from herbs. It never occurred to me that tooth problems were related to the throat chakra. But now that I know, I’ll work on improving my communication – especially because my nutrition tests flagged me for subclinical hypothyroidism.

All in all, an interesting read that prompted new changes and I’m excited because it reminded me of some of the other affirmations that are good for me (like the one for astigmatism). Well, got to get to work:

“I am now willing to see my own beauty and magnificence.”

“I am now willing to see my own beauty and magnificence.”

“I am now willing to see my own beauty and magnificence.”

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 10, 2013 Jody Brouwers
All Is Well by Louise Hay and Monica Schultz is fantastic!!!!!! Coming from a Pilates/fitness and nutrition background I've always viewed food and nutrition as the keys to optimal health. I was never a true believer in the power of affirmations...until now! I've always believed that thoughts become your destiny, but was clueless as to how to change my thoughts and core beliefs. Now I know - affirmations!

In the book Schultz delves into the science behind Hay's affirmation system mapping out the emotional aspects of illness in the brain and body. Specific emotions affect specific organs. She breaks the book into seven emotional centers that mirror the chakra system. Different parts of the body are affected by these centers. For example the first emotional center is called 'We are Family' and affects the bones, joints, blood, immune system, and skin. The health of this center depends on feeling safe in the world. Insecurity in this area from a lack of family/friend support can manifest in illness in the bones, joints, blood, immune system, or skin.

Schultz's treatment system does not focus solely on affirmations for healing, but also incorporates the medical system, alternative healing, and intuition. It's a multi-faceted approach to healing. She emphasizes that while modern medicine is excellent it is not enough. Intuitions and affirmations play a large part in healing too.

Is anxiety related to not trusting the flow and the process of life? Is gastritis related to prolonged uncertainty and a feeling of doom? Is gout related to the need to dominate? It's not an exact science but when I apply this book to the people in my life, it's eerily accurate. Affirmations change these negative thought patterns that play over and over again and promote healing. I'm new to affirmations but already a believer. They are incredibly soothing, positive, and build awareness grounding me to the present moment. This is a fantastic read!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 04, 2013 LisaAlaiana
The minute I started to read All Is Well co-authored by Louise L. Hay and Mona Lisa Schulz MD,PhD I could not put it down. It was so refreshing to read what I had for years believed to be true, that every illness is a direct correlation to the issues or emotional factors in our lives and that intuition is our greatest tool.

All Is Well is definitely a book you will read over and over again; a great reference tool. We are our own best advocates and knowledge is power and these two great ladies are sharing the knowledge in very easy to read terms. There is a self-assessment quiz, holistic health advice and an expanded version of Louise's original affirmation chart, you can learn to heal your mind and body with affirmations and intuition and live a balanced healthy life.

I have always been one to try to teach others to own their power to have a better mind, body and spirit connection. Positive thinking and affirmations do make a difference in our lives, we are our own creators and healers. I believe with practicing affirmations and positive thinking and if necessary a little bit of modern medicine will make us all healthier and happier and this book will show you just how easy it is to do.

This is a book I think every household should have a copy of. I will be recommending this book to many and personally will continue to use in my life.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 01, 2013 awatson
All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition, the new book co-written by Louise Hay and Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz, is the perfect complement to Louise Hay's classic, You Can Heal Your Life. For starters, Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz--who also has a weekly radio show on HayHouse Radio--is brilliant in the way she brings together the various disciplines of science, modern medicine, Traditional Chinese Medicine, and what she calls "intuitive thinking."

Chapter 1 introduces us to the concept of integrative healing, as well as the variety of modalities that fall under that umbrella. I was pleased to discover that Dr. Schulz doesn't hesitate to discuss the importance of using intuition--in particular, the body's intuition--along with emotions, facts, and logic in order to help one decipher the nature of a potential dis-ease or imbalance in the body.

Chapter 2 contains the self-assessment quiz, which is divided into seven sections, and covers lifestyle habits and physical health problems. The scores obtained for each section gives the reader insight as to which of the seven emotional centers require attention and why. I loved the way Dr. Schulz paired each emotional center with a set of systems within the body, and then tied those in with the appropriate healing affirmations from Louise Hay's body of work.

Chapters 4-10 are devoted to explaining each of the seven emotional centers, their functions, and the lifestyle issues that affect each region of the human anatomy. The author covers quite a bit of ground in this phenomenal book that reads more like a straightforward conversation with her, than a medical journal. The case files that were presented in each chapter sounded like some of her most complicated cases, yet the end results were always inspiring and encouraging, because the patients were eventually willing to participate in their own health care.

All Is Well: Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition is such a departure from the norm. It's filled with compassionate wisdom, powerful affirmations, and delightful humor--Dr. Schulz's vibrant personality comes through on every page. The best part about this book is that it can be referred to over and over again as a reference manual for bringing the physical and emotional body back into balance--just like the classic, You Can Heal Your Life. I highly recommend both of these books for those who are interested in combining metaphysical healing practices with conventional medicine to achieve the best outcomes for their health and well-being. All really is well!

[I received this book free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes. The views expressed in this review reflect my honest and unbiased opinions.]
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Feb 20, 2013 cmwaugh
If you remember Louise Hay’s famous 1980s book, You Can Heal Your Life, you will understand the extremely groundbreaking healing advice contained in this new, spiritually, scientifically and medically targeted book, All Is Well, Heal Your Body with Medicine, Affirmations and Intuition.

This great book was a collaborative effort between Louise Hay, founder of Hay House, a successful publishing company, and Mona Lisa Schulz, M.D., PhD, who holds two  doctorate degrees and has over 25 years experience as a practicing medical intuitive.

Together, these two amazing women united the use of complex science and spiritual health research to help others empower themselves to experience complementary avenues to personally heal.

I could relate to many of the “From the Clinic files” case studies they shared in this book.

Many of the holistic recommendations they provided, along with traditional medicine, often included seeing a Chinese herbalist and an acupuncturist.  I was happy to see this as I’m a big proponent of utilizing holistic with traditional medical practices.

Many of the case studies were normal people with body, mind or spirit issues that spun into a particular health issue.

Through these case studies, it was never more clear to see how important our thoughts are in creating our illnesses and realities – good and bad.

This book, divided into Seven Emotional Centers, helped me discover troubled areas in my body that needed acute attention.  The recommended affirmations for these troubled areas helped me focus my healing efforts more easily.

Many of my issues center around the fifth and sixth emotional centers – everything north of my heart.

The big “aha”  in this book, All Is Well, is to see how easily these authors have created a simple to recognize pathway to my personal, deep-seated issues.

With the use of traditional medicine, alternative practices, targeted affirmations and nutritional holistic recommendations, one of the complementary affirmations for my personal healing is:

“It is with flexibility and ease that I see all sides of an issue.  There are endless ways of doing things and seeing things.  I am safe.”

My ever-expanding intuition says, “There is no time like the present to take charge, step-by-step, moment-to-moment, to reveal my untapped potential to personal healing.”

Thank you Louise and Mona Lisa for having the backbone to share another avenue for greater body, mind and spirit health.

Until later, I send you love, blessings and wishes for a healthful, abundant and prosperous life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post.  I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.  I am also an affiliate of Hay House Publishing and Amazon.)
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 28, 2013 alpha_andy_omega
I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes, I was not financially compensated for my opinion. That said, I rate this book at a full 5 out of 5 stars. Brilliant. This is a home run. Louise Hay has brought so much public awareness to the mind/body connection since the 1980's, and now Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz has taken those ideas to a level of deeper understanding. If you've enjoyed any of their previous works, this one is a no-brainer, you'll love it. And if you're new to the idea that our thoughts manifest in the body as conditions, you'll enjoy it too. The research that backs up the theory is astonishing. The authors do a great job of explaining how thought patterns affect the human body, and then go on to teach an integrated treatment approach; never a one size fits all prescription. The reader is given a lot of information on the seven emotional centers, and how and why they affect they body the way they do. At the end of each section case studies are offered, and their treatment plans are detailed. Patients were given daily affirmation work to help heal and strengthen their mindset. Diseases were treated, not just with medical drugs, but through adjustments in nutrition, supplementation, visualization, and exercise or activity levels as well. This book gives me hope that more people will get the lesson, and start taking responsibility for their health. This is a very empowering book. It could very well change, or even save your life.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 25, 2013 ginadrellack
All Is Well: Heal Your Body With Medicine, Affirmations, and Intuition is a collaborative by the indomitable Louise Hay and the dauntless Mona Lisa Schulz. The book is a how-to guide that integrates healing methods, addressing health in these areas: medical, holistic, nutritional, and emotional. It weaves intuition and logic, emotions and fact--and produces specific direction to address and improve health.

After a brief and informative background and purpose, we jump right in a self-assessment quiz. It is safe and not scary, and it is a helpful tool to use throughout the rest of the book. You do not need to currently have a condition or issue to read the book, and taking this quiz will not create one for you! I found it helped attune me to the approach and purpose of the chapters, and will also be useful in the future (and as a parent).

The chapters are organized by chakra, or energy centers. They address related symptoms, share clinical case-study examples, and provide specific actions and attitudes that will increase and maintain health in these areas. The writing flows personably and is easy to understand.

At the end of the chapters is a resource table, a quick-guide for affirmations to address specific issues. This is easy to navigate, with three areas: Problem, Probable Cause, and New Thought Pattern. It is arranged alphabetically by Problem, and again is incredibly reader-friendly.

Through this book we are able to see a greater depth of patterns in how our thoughts, emotions, and physical health are connected, which I believe gives the individual greater power over their own wellness. It gives equality to medical science and personal intuition, never suggesting one over the other.

If you have ever read Louise Hay’s “little blue book”, you are already familiar with this type of content. However, the addition of Dr. Mona Lisa Schulz presents the science behind what already makes sense. The depth she brings is a beautiful complement, resulting in an active guide to return to repeatedly, that should be on everyone’s resource list.

Hay House graciously gave me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion of it. I got a huge chuckle out of the chakra chapter titles and how they connected recognizable song titles to related energy centers. If nothing else piques your interest after reading this review, please go look at a purchase site that lists the chapters, and share my giggle!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jan 25, 2013 hhreviewer2

I found All Is Well by Louise Hay and Dr. Mona Lisa Shulz to provide that missing puzzle piece in how best to heal oneself. One item of note that I particularly appreciated was that the authors stressed the importance of healing occurring not from affirmations or Western medicine or even alternative medicine alone, but from a combination of all these things together. That is once misconception I have often found when someone unfamiliar with Louise Hay's work picks up her first book - You Can Heal Your Life. The assumption they make is that the affirmations will miraculously heal you but they are missing the other pieces of the puzzle.

Another aspect I liked was how dis-ease and illness in the body was correctly tied into the chakras, or as they're referred to in All Is Well, the emotional centers of the body. As a person who has feet in both Western and alternative medicine, I found this to be a great way to introduce chakras to individuals who may not know or understand them. It also helped me to gain a deeper comprehension of how illness can occur in regards to these areas of the body.

Generally, All Is Well by Louise Hay and Dr. Mona Lisa Shulz is a great introduction to another way of looking at health and illness while not entirely dismissing Western medicine entirely.

This is my review of All Is Well by Louise Hay and Dr. Mona Lisa Shulz. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews