Book Reviews

Good-bye Bumps!

Wayne W. Dyer, Kristina Tracy, Saje Dyer

Empowerment, Family & Parenting, Children's Books

978-1-4019-4585-5

In Good-bye, Bumps!,Saje Dyer, daughter of best-selling author Dr. Wayne W. Dyer, tells a remarkable story from her childhood in which she was able to overcome a physical condition in a very unique wa... More

Jun 13, 2014 alpha_andy_omega
The folks at Hay House were nice enough to send me a copy of Dr. Wayne Dyer's new book he wrote with his daughter Saje. It's called "Good-bye Bumps: Talking to What's Bugging You." I was not paid for my review, opinions expressed are all my own. I read this book to my five year old son. He seemed to enjoy it, and get a lot out of the subject matter. I'm interested in seeing if he applies what he learned, pretty confident he will. The artwork is great, it's interesting and colorful without being too girly for boys to tune out. The story is about how when Saje Dyer was 5 years old she had some facial bumps that caused her some embarassment and pain. Her father gave her an idea. She could try talking to what it was that was bothering her, and disempower its hold on her. It's heady stuff for a five year old, but it's presented well, and easily understood if given a chance. My son was helped a lot by the list at the end, where the little girl reiterates the idea with bullet points on a chalkboard. Great book, great ideas that can change ones perspective and change the lives of some great kids.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 19, 2014 Mikeylynn
I'll be honest, the title on this book had me wondering. I thought it was an odd title, I still kind of do, but this book surprised me. For ages 4-10 I think this book speaks to all ages. The main storyline is about a girl who has bumps on her face when she is five. After waiting for them to go away for so long they really get to bothering her and she doesn't know what to do. So her dad told to look at things differently and tell her own bumps to go away- as in specifically talk to them.

While this sounds strange the point behind it is that we all have things that we let bother us and drive us crazy about ourselves. A common one is physical appearance, weight, etc. It's a constant nagging and the book is saying "Hey when something is bugging you, do something about it, whether changing what you are able or thinking about it differently."

I think every child should know that they control their own minds and how they think on things. I think the main story is great for younger kids but they might get confused, but the older they get the more things will make sense. This book is a true story that actually happened to the author and I completely believe that your mind is powerful enough to change things.

For a children's book I think this is unique and I really enjoyed it and recommend it.

" I received this book from Hay House Publishing for free in exchange for an honest review."

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 15, 2014 blessedelements

Sometimes the wisest lessons come in the most innocent of forms. I have found that ‘kid’ movies and books written for children are often a vehicle to impart wisdom and thoughts to ponder in the lives of adults.

A children’s book I read recently would be a great example of this as it reminds the reader that the best way to deal with a uncomfortable physical condition or attitude is not to go to war against it yet to learn how to change your attitude about it and regain the power you should have over it.

Good-bye Bumps! is co-authored by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer and Saje Dyer and illustrated by Stacy Heller Budnick.
The book’s origins are from an incident that occurred during Saje Dyer’s childhood where she received some wise advice from her father, Dr. Wayne Dyer. She took the advice and learned how to change her attitude about a physical problem she was experiencing. The results were positive and she learned a lesson she could use through out her life and share with others that may be facing the same challenges in life.

The book does not make promises of miracles or discounts mental and physical conditions that can not be changed. It does, however, suggest that whether you can change something or not an individual can regain their power over it by stopping thoughts of it being the biggest crisis in their life.

This is a great book for a child to gain an approach over obstacles in life and the adult that reads it with the child will learn some lessons as well. I think this is a wonderful book to read and also to keep in the book shelf to pull out when obstacles happen to refresh our mind sets and encourage a more positive way of dealing with them and to teach empowerment.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are 100% mine.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 29, 2014 ClorisKylie
Have you tried asking your allergies to go away or a cut to heal faster? Maybe you should…

The power of our mind over our physical health has been proven and documented. One of my articles, inspired by Dr. Lissa Rankin’s book, “Mind over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself,” references some of the many cases of spontaneous remission in medical history.

I’ve written about the placebo effect, something that all of us have experienced to a certain degree. If after falling from the monkey bars we were told by our mother that a kiss would make us feel better, we believed her, and actually felt the pain go away with the kiss. There’s also the so-called nocebo effect. Who hasn’t started to experience the side effects of a medication after reading this information online? As Rankin says, “Whatever the mechanism, it’s clear that the mind and body communicate through hormones and neurotransmitters that originate in the brain to signal other parts of the body. So it should come as no surprise to us that what we think and how we feel can translate into physiological changes in the rest of the body.”

The powerful truth is that, in many cases, we can heal ourselves.

However, most of us are raised believing that we are powerless when it comes down to our physical health, which makes us reject the truth and prevents us from tapping into our own healing abilities.

What if we had been told from an early age that we do have control over our health? What if we had grown up knowing that a thought can be pure healing energy?

We can’t change the past, but what if we decided to give this message to our children?

This is why I was compelled to read “Good-bye, Bumps! Talking to What’s Bugging You” by Dr. Wayne Dyer and his daughter, Saje Dyer. This book can help us raise children who are conscious of their magnificence.

“Good-bye, Bumps!” is based on the story of Saje as a five-year old who healed herself from facial warts. How did Saje manifest healing? She simply told her bumps that it was time for them to go. And after years on her face, they did.

I have heard Saje tell her story at live seminars with her father as well as on public television and radio, and every time I listen to the story, I am reminded that I’m the creator of my own reality.

“Good-bye, Bumps!” teaches young children that:

They have the power to heal themselves.
When a physical trait or disease cannot be changed, they have the power to change the way they think about their situation. They have a choice to not let their physical troubles define their life.
They can take action to heal or to improve something they don’t like about their body, such as getting braces to straighten their teeth.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading “Good Bye, Bumps!” and plan on reading it to the kids in my life.

The most important message to remember is that even though we might not have been raised believing we can heal ourselves, we have access to our own healing power now.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 27, 2014 Ravenb28
Hey beautiful people! I am so excited to share another book review with you all. Hay House always comes out with some pretty amazing books but I have to say this by far is my favorite. As a mother to three young children I'm always looking for books that empower my little ones to think differently. This book was beautifully illustrated and written. It helped them to see a new way of thinking that I've been unable to explain. My kiddos loved this book. The girls (9 &7) were both in awe while I read it to them, they sat quietly and absorbed all the details. Once the entire book had been read both girls ran to a mirror to talk to themselves and their "bumps". The older of my two girls told her sister, "it's okay if they don't go away, let's just start thinking about them differently." My younger daughter has had eczema for the last two years on her face, resulting in tiny bumps. This was a mini version of 'Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life' and I couldn't have been more elated with the content. I can't wait to see what Saje Dyer comes out with next! I would highly recommend this book to others; especially those who touch the lives of small children I.E. Teachers & Parents!

FTC Disclosure: I received this item for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 23, 2014 greenm123
The message of Good-bye, Bumps! by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer and Saje Dyer is crucial and should be heard by all children as they grow up. The Dyers explain through their own personal story that there are some things in your life you can change and some you can't, but the one thing you can always change is your mind. You don't have to let something bug you; instead, the book suggests talking to what is bothering you and through that learning to accept it.

My concern with the book is that it might not hold a child's interest, especially if they don't have a direct connection to the message. If a child has bothersome bumps, is shy, is embarrassed by freckles or anything of the sort, he or she might feel a connection to the child in the book, Saje. I worry if there isn't some obvious life application at the time of hearing or reading the story, the book might not be captivating enough to make a child want to hear it over and over again.

As a child, illustrations played a huge part in whether or not I liked a book, which is why I think these illustrations might help keep the interest of a child if the storyline doesn't immediately resonate. Stacy Heller Budnick's drawings are colorful and cute. She adds just enough interest to the pictures, without distracting from the message. Though not mentioned in the text, the turtle on Saje's bed and the various pictures of the dog throughout were welcome additions that made the experience of reading the book more pleasant.

Overall, I would recommend this book because of it's important message. Not all lessons are fun to learn, but this one is presented in the most exciting way possible.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 13, 2014 ArtisticallyShauna
Good-bye, Bumps! ~Talking to What's Bugging You, is an excellent book written by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer and his daughter Saje Dyer. Saje tells a wonderful story of her childhood where she was able to overcome a physical condition by changing her attitude and not allowing her physical problem to have power over her. This book is wonderfully illustrated by Stacey Heler Bodnick with adorable and cheerful illustrations.

I love the message in the story that helps children understand that sometimes things that bother them about themselves can be changed while other times they need to embrace their uniqueness. Even though we may not be able to change a situation, we have the power and choice on how to let our limitations and challenges affect us. I love the saying, "I choose to be happy!" Sometimes that can be a very difficult thing, but I think that it is important to teach our children to think positively about themselves and to know that they are each special and unique individuals. As adults, we would be smart to have the same thought process. My daughters and I love the quote in our family "We are daughters of God, who loves us, and we love him" (you could easily substitute the word daughters for sons). God made each of us unique and we need to embrace our uniqueness.

In the back of the book Dr. Wayne and Saje Dayer have written a letter to parents. I love the part where they say "Yes, there are some things that none of us can change or make go away, but taking the focus off of "it" really does make a difference".

I made this printable poster for you to go along with the quote. Simply click on the picture and click on "save as" to save a copy for yourself. Please remember that this poster is for personal or classroom use only. Thanks!

After reading Good-bye, Bumps!, with my children, we were able to have a wonderful discussion. I love it when we find books like this one, where the story is engaging, the message is powerful, the pictures are lovely, and you can have great dialogues with your kids. I asked my daughters what they thought of this book and they gave it two thumbs up. I would give it two thumbs up as well with a 5 out of 5 star rating!

Here are a few more children's book titles written by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer that I can't wait to check out and read with my daughters:
Incredible You! 10 ways to let your Greatness shine through.
Unstoppable Me! 10 Ways to soar Through Life
It's Not What You've Got! Lessons for Kids on M0ney and Abundance
No Excuses! How What You Say Can Get In Your Way
I am - Why Two Little Words Mean So Much

Thanks for stopping by and don't to check out more of my Children's Book Reviews.

You can also find more great books on my "Children's Books and Activities" Pinterest board.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment and opinion of the book.

This "Good-bye, Bumps! Talking to What's Bugging You Book Review" first appeared on my blog, Learn and Grow Designs, on March 13, 2014.


+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 12, 2014 Eleven11

Little Saje was five years old when bumps appeared all over her face. Her mom and dad took her to the doctor who said her only choices were to take medicine or wait and see if they would go away on their own.

But Saje's dad (Dr. Wayne Dyer) knew a secret. He knew the power of the mind to heal our bodies and when he told little Saje that she could talk to her bumps, she did just that! And guess what? The bumps left!

In this adorably illustrated book, Dr. Wayne Dyer and his daughter Saje tell the true story of what actually happened to Saje when she was a little girl and teach children that if something is bugging them, they can change it with their thoughts - and even more importantly, this story teaches that don't have to let something have power over them.

A cute story, and also a very powerful one. If you are looking for a tool to teach your child how to use the power of thoughts, this is a good one.

It's written for children 4-10 years old, but anyone of any age could learn from this story.
Good-bye Bumps is available on Amazon.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 11, 2014 misslaconti
What a great lesson to teach children. This book did a wonderful job helping kids understand that some things about themselves can be changed and others will always be with them, but what matters is how they choose to think about these things. Instead of worrying about your problems and giving it energy to continue to be a problem, Saje taught kids that giving it positive energy and forgiving the problem could help it go away. This shows children that they can make the decision and feel a sense of ownership and empowerment over their life. It can also teach children to have a different perspective when an issue may arrive. I'm so happy to see a book out there that teaches these many great lessons. As these children get older, it will help with their attitude and learn to love life. They can see the good in everything that happens.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House
Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects
my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
3 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews