Book Reviews

Miracles Now

Gabrielle Bernstein

Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational, Meditation

978-1-4019-4434-6

Let's be real for a sec. Most of us don't have time for an hour of yoga or 30 minutes of meditation every day. We're overwhelmed as it is. Our spiritual practice shouldn't add to that. That's why I've... More

Nov 30, 2014 connielivingston
This book is packed with simple but powerful tools for living a life of more easy, even among the daily stress that most of us experience. Each chapter is comprised of one simple tool and concept that's easily digested and based on Bernstein's own life and what has worked well for her as she has navigated big changes in her life.

She talks about setting boundaries by saying no, trusting your gut, creating miracles in your financial life, creating freedom through forgiveness, making important decisions more easily, effectively clearing your mind of needless chatter, letting go and allowing the universe to step in to resolve issues, taking time to relax and restore, and surrendering.

Bernstein practices these rituals in her own personal life so that advice and information in this book is coming from a place of high integrity. I think it's important to experience the same issues as those around us, learn how to fix them in your own life, and then share that experience with others who can benefit. That's what Bernstein does here - she shares the techniques and approaches that have worked well for her and her clients and students.

Lots of great ideas for anyone wanting to live with less stress and more flow!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 17, 2014 janellebuchheit
In my personal and professional experience, I've found most people believe it can take months, if not years, to create a miracle in their lives. Sometimes, they hold onto dreams hoping for a miracle, but don't believe that a miracle will happen for them. The lovely thing about Ms. Bernstein's book, Miracles Now, is that she teaches simple, yet impactful tools for those on a spiritual journey. These tools can help shift your vibration and get you attracting the life, career, relationship or inner peace you desire (i.e. attracting your miracles!) I like to use this book by flipping to a technique, reading about it and then doing some reflection about how it is relevant in my life. I recommend my clients do the same. I like the Miracle Messages at the end of each chapter; they are perfect for post-its around the house to remind you of the skill or insight you've gained.

*I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 14, 2014 alishasappetite
I recently joined an incredible publishing program that focuses on wellness, inspiration and self-improvement books put on by Hay House. It’s called the Book Nook program, which provides bloggers with a complementary copy of a wellness book in exchange for a review on their blog. I’m so pumped I discovered this program and hope you’ll enjoy learning about some awesome new books to add to your collection!

The first book I chose to review was a book that I have coincidentally (or maybe not…) been seeking out on my own. Like I legit had this book in my Amazon checkout cart about a month beforehand. I ended up not buying it myself (do you do that with Amazon too? Fill your cart with lots of things and then think about it for a day or two before you commit? Just me?).

Okay, so the point is that I have been seeing, learning and hearing a lot about this author, Gabrielle Bernstein over the past few months. Maybe you’ve heard of her? She is gaining a lot of momentum with her incredible work regarding a holistic approach to spirituality, self-love, and forgiveness. Oprah has even dubbed her as the next “new thought leader” of our time. One of my favorite podcasters, Katie Dalebout, raves about Gabrielle often and initially sparked my interest to dive a little deeper and see what she is all about.

Once I received Miracles Now to review from Hay House, I realized that the book had ultimately landed in my hands after I began seeking it on my own. It’s like it was meant to come into my life no matter how it got here. *chills*

Not knowing what the book was about beforehand, I didn’t have any expectations before I began reading. The title is: Miracles Now: 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow and Finding Your True Purpose, which might be slightly misleading as to what is exactly inside of it. The “miracles” that are provided are essentially mediation, breathing and stress-relief techniques that can be done in under a minute or less that will provide instant relief- which is essentially the “miracle”. Even though I don’t think the word “miracle” is used in the typical context that you would associate it with, the techniques have provided some miraculous relief and sense of calmness in my life overall. So to me..that’s a miracle.

There are literally 108 different topics that she discussed and followed it up with a meditation technique, journaling method or general advice to assist and deal with it. I don’t believe that this is the type of book that you just read from start to finish- it’s very much an action book that you want to try the techniques as you read it. So I’ve spent a month or so taking my time reading the book and testing out some of the meditations when I’ve found myself in that situation.

So, for example something that I struggle with from time to time is that nasty comparison trap of comparing myself to other. Gabrielle touched on this topic in #24: Compare No More. She first explains that “beneath the desire to compare is a deep-rooted sense that we are not enough”. And the technique to deal with the moment you catch yourself comparing to stop and say outloud to yourself “the light I see in them is a reflection of my inner light”. She goes on to say that by witnessing yourself in the other person can release you from the desire to compare and set you free. And that is the miracle. Sooooo good, right? This is only one tool that has helped me since receiving the book, but I assure you that almost all of the ones I have tried have helped me in the moment.

Since I am newbie to meditation, I feel like this book is one of the best ways to be introduced to the practice in general. To more experienced meditators, this may be repetitive. She also offers information (and how to do): kinseology, tapping, kundalini yoga, guided meditations and some meditation techniques.

At the end of every chapter there is an inspirational quote and summary that can be shared directly on twitter or facebook. I personally think that they’re super creative and cute. Some of my faves (even though I loved pretty much all of them from the entire book) are:

unnamed unnamed-1 unnamed-2If you want more of these either 1) buy the book ;) or 2) search on social media for the hashtag #miraclesnow

My overall rating for the book Miracles Now Review (1-10….and the higher the better obvs)

Motivational: 9

Inspirational: 10

Practical: 9

Out There-ness: 7 or 8 (depending on your personality!) I don’t think it’s too out there, but if you are 100% new to meditation, and new-age stuff it might be a little bit of a stretch for you. But I challenge you to stretch yourself! Growing is learning.

Awesomeness: 10

Who should get this book:

-If you’re a fan of any of Gabrielle’s work whatsoever (or like to watch Super Soul Sundays on Oprah because she’s been a guest on the show….and Oprah loves her. Just sayin’).

-You want to work on yourself with personal growth and spirituality

-You’re interested in mediation but don’t know where to start or how to do it

-You like to read short chapters that inspire, uplift you and motivate you.

-You like practical and applicable advice that you can do to actually improve your quality of life

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed my review! Thanks for reading and if you liked this, please share this post. Email it to your fam, friends, post on FB or tweet it! Please and spanks. ;)

Please remember that I only agree to review products that I truly believe in and that align with what directly applies to my life at this moment.

Hay House Publishing provided me with a complementary copy of Gabrielle Bernstien’s, “Miracle Now” in exchange for a review on my blog. All opinions are my own.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 02, 2014 suziconfesses
I’ve often said (only partly joking) that it takes the two of us all day long to do all of the things we need to do in order to stay even remotely healthy. While I may seem super healthy/fit I struggle every day to varying degrees thanks to my fibromyalgia, hormonal imbalances, a messed up back/shoulders, lung condition and the repercussions of exercising so dang much. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t me complaining or looking for anyone’s sympathy I’m just keeping it real. And then there is J who has ulcerative colitis, a heart condition and a hiatus hernia. Between the two of us we really do have quite the pile of symptoms and issues to tend to each day.
I hope that for most of you, you aren’t dealing with as many health issues as we are, but I know the stresses of life in general mount up regardless of their source and we all are looking for ways to make life more pleasurable, easier, and less stressful.
Even when we take the initiative to try and make life more pleasurable, easier and less stressful, 9 times out of 10 it seems like that makes us even more stressed not less! We’ve heard time and time again that making time to take care of ourselves is imperative, but for many of us we can’t carve out a 30 minute mediation each day. Having time to ourselves, or going to a fitness or yoga class just doesn’t always happen.
So we’re left asking ourselves, “How can I change my life with just a few minutes each day?”
While I believe there are many answers to that one question, I think that a book I recently read will do a lot (and teach you a lot) of ways you can do just that.
Miracles Now by Gabrielle Bernstein is a wonderful (easy to read) book that walks you through over 100 tools to help you stress less, have more life flow, and find your true purpose.
Miracles now
From Gabrielle:
Let’s be real for a sec. Most of us don’t have time for an hour of yoga or 30 minutes of meditation every day. We’re overwhelmed as it is. Our spiritual practice shouldn’t add to that.

That’s why I’ve handpicked 108 simple techniques to combat our most common problems-stress, burnout, frustration, jealousy, resentment. The stuff we have to deal with on a daily basis. This book is designed so that you can achieve peace and experience miracles now.
Inspired by some of the greatest spiritual teachings, these practical, moment-to-moment tools will help you eliminate blocks and live with more ease. They’re powerful, life-changing meditations and principles, modernized and broken down into easy-to-digest techniques to fit your lifestyle.

Throughout the book, I share principles from both A Course in Miracles and Kundalini yoga and meditation. These tools can help you find your connection to your inner strength. When you practice these techniques, fear will melt away, inspiration will spring up, and a sense of peace will set in.
While I’ve heard of Gabrielle many, many times, this is the first time I’d read anything written by her (nor had I heard her speak) and now I really want to go back and read her previous releases. I read Miracles Now over a period of about a week, and implemented a few of the tools in that time with great success. In fact, in one instance I was complimented by someone for something that was a direct result of one of the tools I learned in the book. Like I seriously immediately was complimented, and they had no idea I had done anything differently (and honestly I barely knew I had either).

While reading the book I started thinking about all of the people in my life I felt would benefit from this book, and I’m sure my list is far too short.

If you are feeling chronically stressed, like life isn’t flowing for you and that you are struggling to keep up, that you are wandering aimlessly or just need some help bringing more focus into you life I would strongly urge you to pick up Miracles Now. It might not change your life, but it might help you change the way you look at it.

Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 25, 2014 Starseed28
Overall, I was pleased with this book. Gabrielle seems to be a jack-of-all-trades when it comes to advice. This book is filled with life changing guidance and practices. With over 100 “chapters”, there is something for everyone to learn.

In the beginning of the book, Gabrielle says that each chapter can be boiled down into a 140 or less character phrase. Additionally, each phrase has a hashtag so you can help share the techniques and messages you learn. I personally loved the idea of sharing the methods and practices with the world. Not only does it inspire those around you, but everyone who is exposed to the posts. It truly is a life-changing book that you can help share with everyone.

Each phrase has a short chapter that describes the idea and/or the methods needed to achieve the “message”. When I was short on time, I would read one or two chapters and feel inspired for the rest of the day. When I had more time, I could easily read 15-20 chapters. Personally, I found the length of each chapter spectacular. It gave me time to devour or digest at my own pace.

I enjoyed all of the tricks and tips Gabrielle has learned along her path. I think everyone would benefit from many of the ideas passed along in this book. Therefore, I would recommend this to anyone who feels the need to create positive change in his or her life at your own pace.

FTC Disclosure: I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 20, 2014 kerrimulhern
Miracle Message #44: I begin my day with gratitude and love. #MiraclesNow - Gabrielle Bernstein

Miracles Now by Gabrielle Bernstein is a transformational book. If you are seeking ways to combat stress (and who isn't?), relax, deal with pain, money, addiction, and just about anything that you want to work on in your life, this is the book for you. If you want to bring more joy, peace, abundance, and love into your life, this is also the book for you.

Gabrielle's Toolbox
What I love most about this book, is that is is broken down into short, easy to read bytes of advice that are not only spot-on, but simple to integrate into your life. I love tools, and she provides them with clarity. Gabrielle supplies concrete methods targeted to the issue at hand. Specific kundalini yoga techniques, wisdom from A Course In Miracles, tapping (a process that has you tap your fingers on specific meridians on your face and upper body to release blocks, anxiety, etc.), meditation, breathing techniques, and on and on. These tools are invaluable.

Coming together
There is beauty in modern technology when it is used for positivity, healing, and spreading goodness. Gabrielle provides in 140 characters or less, a Miracle Message at the end of each short chapter. She encourages people to be "miracle messengers" and tweet each message with the hashtag #MiraclesNow. It is a beautiful and instantaneous way to share this with the world.

Love it!
Yes, I absolutely love Miracles Now. There is so much information given to help, that I could just pop open the book anywhere and find use on any page. You can read the book cover to cover, but it may be more effective to take a chapter a day, apply the technique, and see how it works in your life. Each chapter only takes minutes to read, but the wisdom in the pages speak volumes. You can also go directly to a specific chapter to help the situation that you need clarity or guidance with. However you read this book, you will benefit from the sage advice and effective practices. I highly recommend this book.

I received Miracles Now free from Hay House as a participant in the Book Nook program. All opinions are my own.

In Gratitude,

Kerri
Suitable Gifts
www.suitablegifts.com
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 04, 2014 jessicacontreras
I had previously read Bernstein’s “Spirit Junkie”, I loved the book and became excited when I got to review this one!

I would call this the bible of all stress relief, I would take on the “challenge” to do a different exercise every day, there are 108 “chapters” but most of these are tips on how to relax and relieve stress. My favorite ones are the breathing exercises and how to let your inner peace shine. There are bits on how to use meditation for addiction, how to stop obsessing over things, on why sleep is important, love, overcoming fear, and overall just becoming a better person.

The chapters aren’t long, they are about a page and a half to two pages, which is perfect if you don’t have much time but you still want to grow spiritually. I live in the city, during this month I was packing up to move to LA (this is no peaceful place) I was exhausted, irritated, worried, frustrated, and just overwhelmed. This book helped me calm down and everything flowed, things happened as they were suppose to.

The book didn’t make things happened, the book opened my mind, my mind raised energies and vibrations, which led to positive outcomes of my actions. YES, I recommend this book, especially if you are getting into meditation, healing practices, etc. For an advanced person, I would stray away from this book, but it is definitely a pick up. I keep it on my night stand and I just flip to a random page or chapter and just read that before bed and when I wake up.

Disclaimer: I received this book by HayHouse Publishing for review, I have stated my honest opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 27, 2014 goddessmama
Miracles Now: 108 life-changing tools for less stress, more flow, and finding your true purpose, by Gabrielle Bernstein, is a wonderful go-to guide for anyone looking to get in touch with spirit or is on a journey to find their own inner peace.

The book is based on many tenets of A Course in Miracles, although you do not need to be familiar with the Course to benefit from the wisdom in this book. The author draws on her own spiritual practice of Kundalini yoga and meditation as well, in giving the reader tools to enhance their journey. In fact, it’s perfect for someone just beginning their spiritual journey as well as for those looking for new tools or insights on their journey.

There are 108 chapters or ways to change your life for the better in quick, easy to read, and easy to integrate into your life now snippets. Most chapters are less than 3 pages in length. Many include affirmations, yoga poses or breath work, or questions for introspection. It begins with “Happiness is a choice you make” and ends with “You are the guru”. In between you will find pearls of wisdom everyone can benefit from.

The book is a great go-to for a daily meditation prompt and wonderful to read upon waking in the morning or before bed at night. Maybe both! You could choose to focus on just one tool a day or you could explore several.

Gabrielle has given the world a spiritual tool box. One that everyone can benefit from for a lifetime. It would make a wonderful gift for anyone who is feeling stressed or overwhelmed or a bit lost and off their path. No student of spirit should be without this book. I highly recommend it.

FTC disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for the purpose of this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 20, 2014 Jeanieber
Gabrielle has outdone herself this time and this simple yet power packed gem is overflowing with meditations, many, to absolutely to suit you. I found almost all of them to be simple, effective and quite appropriate to living reduced stressed, eye opening life. The chapters are short, yet complete with effective exercises. Don't just read the book, do the work!!!

She begins at the beginning, and the first three chapters: “Happiness is a choice YOU make” It;s not any one's responsibility but your own, “Clean up your side of the street” Take responsibility for your actions, “To feel supported, support yourself” Don't leave it to others, take charge. These are followed by and one hundred and five more all with meditations and simple but effective exercises.

I highly recommend this book as another source to wellness. It's a quick read chapter by chapter . You never know what you will discover about yourself and where the breakthrough will come.. I absolutely did experience a few revelations and more than one reminder of what I already knew but had forgotten when I put the effort into the exercise. Being in the middle of a life changing time of my life, this book is presented with perfect timing, and combined with my efforts did help with my journey to self sufficiency and a truly new life beginning. Strong as I thought I was, I was relying on others for my happiness and support. Now, I get it, that I am the only one responsible for myself. And oh yeah, there's a whole lot more in here, and I guarantee there is something for every one.

I received this book from Hay House and the opinions are my own.

Jeanie Beresford NTP
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 08, 2014 lausprinkle
Even if you only read a few pages of Gabrielle Bernstein’s Miracles Now, you’ll find enough tools to transform your life into a more positive and loving environment.

As Gabby says, our life’s purpose is to be, receive, and give love. In order to do this we need to practice gratitude and compassion – for ourselves and the world. This isn’t always easy to do, but with these 108 tools at our disposal it sure makes it a lot easier!

What I love about this book is that it’s a great balance between theory and practice. It explains not only WHY being more grateful & compassionate will help you live a more fulfilling life, but also HOW to do so. Anyone with an open mind and a desire to have a more open heart can pick it up and find something valuable. My favorite practice so far is about asking for help & helping yourself. Helping yourself can literally mean asking for assistance, something that isn't always easy!

You can do the practices in order, or flip to random pages for inspiration. It’s ALL good stuff. I'm even getting together with some of my girlfriends to discuss & put into practice some of the tips! It's going to be awesome.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free for review purposes, however my review is 100% my truth and I really do love it!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 01, 2014 laurapilch
I stumbled across this book while perusing through the Hay House new releases. I’ve become a big Louise Hay fan and was intrigued by Gabrielle Bernstein and her view on using meditation/stillness to find happiness and your true purpose. I do some yoga and have dabbled in meditation, but not regularly. Gabrielle is also a teacher of “A Course in Miracles” by Marianne Williamson. I really related to this book as she is closer in age to me, in her early/mid 30's, and provides some really great tips on how to handle our stressful, technology-driven lives.

If you are looking for ways to meditate daily and unsure of where or how to begin, this is the book for you! Gabrielle gives simple ways to relax and take time for ourselves, even if it is just 8 to 12 minutes a day. The entire book is 108 very short chapters on ways to incorporate love and meditation into our everyday lives. Although it seems to jump around a bit, I like that towards the end she offers the chapters, “Be The Happy Learner” and “Repeating new Behavior Creates Permanent Change”. Just as you are beginning to feel overwhelmed with information, these chapters remind you to pick one or two new habits to start practicing and that repetition is how we break old, bad habits and introduce new, good habits. It was an very interesting read, as she includes a lot of her own experiences of struggling with self-worth and fear.

I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to begin their journey of learning meditation while also learning about different paths for introducing happiness and more love into their life. (Just be sure to mark those chapters that you want to go back to reference!)

***I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes***
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 30, 2014 thelyonsshare
I recently joined the “Book Nook” program put on by Hay House, which is an amazing publishing house focused on wellness, inspiration, and self-improvement books. Through the Book Nook program, bloggers are allowed to receive copies of recently released books for free, in exchange for a blog review. I love reading, and I’m happy to be sharing books I love with you all, so I hope you enjoy my first review today!

MIRACLES NOW

Gabrielle Bernstein gave a few lectures during my health coaching education, and I saw her in person at a nutrition conference as well. She has an incredible story of fighting through drug addiction to heal herself and become one of the most inspirational, genuine, spiritual leaders I “know.” She calls her followers ‘Spirit Junkies’ and runs programs “for women to inspire, empower, and connect.” Katie from The Wellness Wonderland (one of my new favorite podcasts!) frequently raves about Gabby, which re-ignited my interest in her several months ago, so I was very excited to read Gabby’s new book as soon as it came out.

“Miracles Now” offers 108 techniques to bring peace to every day, and to “combat our most common problems – stress, burnout, frustration, jealousy, [and] resentment.” The techniques range from instructions on various meditations (usually around 11 minutes each), to helpful reminders about how to shift your mentality towards a more positive and loving outlook, to inspirational quotes and sayings.

Each time I opened “Miracles Now,” I felt inspired, calm, and optimistic, and was motivated to live in the most compassionate (to myself and to others) way I know how. The techniques were not revolutionary or unfamiliar … aside from the meditations (I still would like to learn to meditate, but am so bad at sitting still!), all the concepts were ideas I had heard before in some form. Will I apply each of the 108 techniques to my daily life? Surely not – I don’t even remember most of them. However, I really appreciated the regular reminders and inspiration that I got from reading the book. It left me feeling great every time I read it!

I received a digital version of the book, but I think this would be great to keep on your desk in paper version, and open up to a random page daily (just like my daily practice of gratitude), or at least whenever you are needing some inspiration and motivation. Regardless of how you choose to read it, I hope you enjoy “Miracles Now” as much as I did! You can get your copy from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Hay House, or Indigo.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 18, 2014 monikaznextlevel
“Miracles Now,” is a direct reflection of the author, Gabrielle Bernstein. I found it to be down to earth, and most importantly real. This book is a practical everyday practice of creating miracles in your life. You can read this book cover to cover, or flip through and read one lesson a day. Since I have received this book I have meditated before flipping through to the perfect message for me that day. It has supported me in snapping out of it, and getting to work NOW.

I would recommend this book for anyone that is starting their spiritual journey, to one that is a seasoned practitioner. Gabrielle takes key fundamentals and applies it to the everyday modern living. The most fascinating thing about “Miracles NOW,” is that it opened me up to recognizing how many miracles are presented to me each day. It shifts the common way of seeing events and supported me in seeing beauty in the everyday amazingness that is my life. This book is a breath of fresh air, a beautiful way to start my day, and leads me to the perfect miracle now.

***I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 16, 2014 LeChat808
I totally agree with my spiritual teacher Gabrielle Bernstein hearing her describe her latest book, “Miracles Now: 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding your True Purpose” as her “Greatest Hits”. I’ve been a student and fan of Gabby’s spiritual work for the last 3 years so I was pretty stoked to know that “Miracles Now” was included on the next list of my review choices from Hay House! Gabrielle, a student and teacher of “A Course in Miracles“, is a very special human angel soul to me.

She came to me via Elle Magazine August 2011 right when I needed to start learning how to forgive, release the past, and focus on the good stuff, pronto. I’ve always loved her honesty and sense of forgiveness she has with her many moons ago past-life hardcore NYC party-girl self. I’ve devoured on repeat and love all of her books and lectures, but Miracles Now is definitely my favorite because it reads more like an intuitive tarot deck. You find yourself turning to a lesson when you need it, even it it’s just the end quote you may notice first or a sentence may pop out in the middle of the page. When I randomly opened the book to #53: Value Yourself and the World Will Value You, the message was loud and clear. Gabby says to list three different amazing things about me and my life in detail every single day: 1) I have a job that supports my daydream manifestations, island lifestyle and three cats. 2) I have the ability to make art and write every day with my hands, creative mind, and healthy heart 3) I travel every year to a dream destination with my amazing boyfriend. Easy, right? It makes me feel happy right this moment to even type those reasons, because I can see and feel this is my truth! It’s like instant gratitude, just like that. The book is lovingly filled with 107 more lessons combined with a meditations, Kundalini yoga, affirmation mantras + mudras that take just a minute, creating Miracles Now…

Here’s some that immediately resonated with me:

#16- Make Forgiveness a Practice.

4 steps to cope with attack thoughts, whether they’re towards yourself or others. “Breathe into the feeling of discomfort” Challenging but oh so therapeutic.

#22- Lose the Stage Fright.

I’m all about sharing our light. Believe in your talents. The world needs more of our goodness that only our unique selves can offer. However you are expressing your talents and awesome self, don’t be afraid to shine! A quick introduction on your meridian points included: calm your soul quick to perform your heART out.

#31- Be the Lighthouse.

Instead of focusing on the trauma or drama of a situation, bring the light and focus on healing. Ra Ma Da Sa Sa Se So Hung = I am Thou… “Those who practice this meditation participate in changing the vibration of the world.” Sweetness.

#57- Surrender It All.

Surrender is one of my favorite words. It equals Freedom to me. Gabby’s message here is to simply pray. “When we fold our hands in prayer, God opens His arms and gives us a hug.” That image alone makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. Peace is our main focus.

#60- Celebrate Your Small Successes.

Dude! We are amazing people. We do good stuff all the time. We make good meals, heal people, help our friends and animals in need, and we all create beauty in our lives and can assist others in noticing their specialness in some way shape or form. Look at how rad you are and celebrate it! “The moment we begin to celebrate ourselves and focus on our successes is the moment we begin living.”

#68- Handle the Resisters.

There will always be someone who isn’t as happy for you as you’d like them to be. It’s okay. As long as you believe in you though, that’s the bottom line. Yes I’m all about sharing our light but I also stand firm in protecting your magic and energy. “Honor your dreams and they will be honored.” YOUR dreams. This has now become one of my top three mantras…

#84- When the Time is On You, Start and the Pressure Will Be Off.

My friend Erica texted this exact mantra to me today when I requested some anti-procrastination advice. This applies to everything: deadlines, chores, yoga, art projects, planning your dreams. Start by showing up, take the first step. Just go sit on your yoga mat, see what happens… change is your friend. Hiding out and staying stuck is detrimental to our being. For me this just involves sitting down with my scissors, glue and magazines or notebook and pen, and before I know it, my art/writing muse takes over…

#89- Make Money and Miracles.

We are worthy of financial abundance. Do not allow your financial fears to dominate your bank account. The abundance prayer and meditation remind me that not only do I have enough of everything and am always taken care of- I welcome miracles, in abundance.

#99- Stop Obsessing.

Oh yes, Monkey Mind Monica over here. What don’t I obsess over? I find that when I stop being a control freak and can realize, “…I am powerless over this situation and I surrender it to the Universe” is when I can really be set free and my energy totally shifts to calm minus the anxiety. I accept the situation and move forward with ease. Surrendering control is a tough one for this Leo…

#101- Live In a Judgement-Free Zone.

Oh boy. I’ll be honest, I don’t know who I judge the most: myself, people I know, people I don’t know…either way I never ever feel good when I catch myself doing this or realize later how much energy I spent JUDGING fellow humans. I wrote “*crucial” on this page and underlined it 3 times. All judging does is provide negative feelings of separation. We all must share our spirit with each other and support and love one another. Feelings of isolation and competitiveness will get us nowhere. “Your commitment to see love is all that matters…Each time you catch yourself judging others or yourself, simply say, “I can escape from the world I see by giving up attack thoughts.”

I love them all. It was challenging to pick which to share with you. I carry Miracles everywhere now, most recently it’s always with me at the beach included with my tarot deck and journal. Gabby nailed it with these 108 gems. She recognizes that yes, we are an overall thriving modern society- but also a bit scattered and sometimes unsure about the direction of our increasingly busy personal, and professional lives.

Legit meditations that actually work in one minute, brilliant. I also love the Kundalini yoga photos (by Chloe Crespi!) and personal stories Gabby includes about her friends and family, calling herself out first on her daily struggles. “Miracles Now” provides Gabrielle’s hand-picked and heartfelt simple techniques to feel good, have faith, and make happiness our (#1!) choice. We’ve always had the answers- “Miracles Now” just helps us to remember them…

#108: YOU ARE THE GURU:

“Trust that you have…all the knowledge to show up for this life with magnitude and strength. Unleash your inner power with the conviction of a saint.” ?

***I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes***
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 21, 2014 aimeeroo
Miracles Now is a nice treasure chest of wisdom. What I loved most about the book is that you can read it through cover to cover, or you can open it up at random and read just a few pages. Each lesson is broken down into simple, easy to read terms, so you can get inspired without being overwhelmed.

It's certainly a book that I have been revisiting since it arrived. Each morning I will open it to a random page and read the section it opened to, and then try to put the principal into practice throughout the day.

Inside you will find 108 simple techniques that help address common problems like stress, burnout, frustration, jealousy, resentment, etc. You might recognize a lot of the techniques already, but it is always great to have a little reminder now and then. I enjoy the way that Gabrielle presents each technique and gives an example as well.

Well worth picking up to have in your library! I keep mine on my bedside table as a fun way to start off the day.

I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 20, 2014 PattiFoy
I have mixed feelings about this book but all in all, I'm glad to have it.

First, I think the title may be misleading. Its content is not about what most people think of as miracles.

According to the Oxford dictionary, a miracle is "A surprising and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore considered to be the work of a divine agency. The miracle of rising from the grave."

But just so you can see the contrast, the author says you'll experience " ... positive inner and outer shifts. Each shift is a miracle."

She includes helpful quotes from A Course in Miracles (which IS about miracles IMHO, although also not as defined by the Oxford dictionary). However, taken out of context and standalone they don't have the same effect as when you're actually a student of the course.

So while I do think that calling what she offers in this book "miracles" is an extreme overstatement, the subtitle is very much in line with what it offers: less stress, more flow, and finding your true purpose (although there's not much directly about purpose).

>> Content

I didn't find this book to be really profound or deep or even radical if that's what you're looking for. But for what it is, I think it can be useful.

Most of the tools are related to working with energy. They seem subtle, yet because they work at a deeper level, they can have more impact and their effects can be expansive.

I think for the mainstream it might be a nice, gentle lead-in to acknowledging the idea that energy itself is something to be considered and worked with and played with and that we can take advantage of our knowledge and use of in our everyday lives, in practical terms. That it's not just a far-out woo-woo kind of idea.

Included are a lot of tools that can help physiologically with moods and "raising vibes".

It depends on where you are with being exposed to things like this, but majority of these tools I've seen or heard of before. They include practices such as smile, hug someone, use a God box, be willing to say "no", and focus on the positive instead of the negative.

Many are the kinds of tools you can find on the internet. Just search on a term and find them all over on blogs. Even so, it is nice to have these all together in a book.

And many I have NOT seen before.

She does give you crash-courses in kinesiology, tapping, yoga nidra (complete with a downloadable audio but it's very short), kundalini yoga, some guided meditations and meditation techniques.

NOTE: My disappointment at the yoga nidra audio made me appreciate even more the wonderful yoga nidra CD I have and very much enjoy. It’s "Yoga Nidra Cat Naps" (by Debbie Jensen-Grubb) and I highly recommend it! (FYI, yoga nidra is a specific type of guided meditation where just 1 hour equals about 4 hours of sleep. It’s amazing.)

>> Resources

I appreciate that she backs up a lot of what she says with data and also has quite a few references to other resources.

She makes her own related resources available to you -- these are mainly how-to's and audio versions of exercises -- but it turns out that very few of the downloads are free and there's one video that can be watched online but not downloaded.

Most of the videos she mentions are accessed via a package you can buy from her site.
Time Investment and Effectiveness

Many of these tools take a decent amount of time/focus to do them, so you'll need to make a commitment and be willing to invest some time.

Any one may affect you in a unique way such that it can make a big and positive difference. For example, one is about introspection, getting things on paper and looking at things that you might not typically take the time to make a note of and decide to address. Another one encourages you to feel your feelings directly; to go through the process of fully feeling them and allowing them to pass through you as you watch and experience them.

She often explores reasons why you might have difficulty following through with some of these, which helps give you some insights into your own self.

>> How to Use the Book

Most of the tools are not just ideas or concepts but practices or exercises. Toward the end she encourages you to choose one to practice for 40 days, for a lasting change.

"I believe in adding up subtle shifts. I also believe in repetition. There’s no need to push, control, or force anything to happen. Trust that real change occurs subtly over time."

She also gives what she calls quick exercises to give you relief. Many are related to certain issues you might experience infrequently, and it seems to me that those are tools you would NOT practice regularly.

But because this book addresses an odd assortment of topics -- and some to use regularly and some to give quick relief -- I think it might be a little hard to use.

I think it could benefit a lot from an index. Not all the tool names are descriptive of all that they address. It would be great to be able to look up whichever tools are relevant to whatever topic you want to work with.

A few of the index references could be (for example): indecision, forgiveness, prayer(s), relationship, accessing intuition, fear, abundance, synchronicity, sleep.

On the other hand, if you want to play with trust, intuition, or guidance (also topics of several of the tools), then take some of her suggestions to heart:

"This book is not designed for you to do all at once. It’s a self-study curriculum. Trust your intuition and let your inner voice lead you to the exercises that are best for you at this time."

OR

"Whenever you’re stuck, open the book to any page and trust that your inner guide has led you to the perfect exercise."

Ultimately, it seems to me this book can help you live more consciously, resulting in less stress and more flow. That is, if you're willing to use the tools!

Note: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes and this review reflects my honest evaluation.

[All quotes from Miracles Now by Gabrielle Bernstein, except where noted.]
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 13, 2014 Mikeylynn
This is not a book I would typically pick up and read. But I really like reading about new ideas and thoughts so I thought this book would be insightful. I enjoyed how the book was set up. Each topic was in it's own chapter with a quote at the end. It's organized and simple. I do enjoy yoga myself though I never do the "spiritual" side of things because I don't agree with it. I do think yoga is a good exercise and a good way to calm your mind. The author had some great things to say, I agreed with many of the ideas and topics on coping with stress and de-cluttering your life- it does make a difference mentally. I think the main thing that I got out of this book is that your mind has a big effect on your physical body, which I completely agree with. I agree with the idea that you can really change things when you have to right mental attitude.

I did not agree with "believing in the universe" or "let the universe do her thing". I see the "universe" as God because that's what I believe.

In any case I really did enjoy this book and I think it had a lot of great advice.

"I received this book from Hay House for free in exchange for an honest review."
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 13, 2014 cmwaugh
Gabrielle Bernstein asks, "Ready for a miracle?"

In 230 words or less, I’d like to introduce you to Gabrielle Bernstein’s fantastic new book, Miracles Now, 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding Your True Purpose.

This “old soul” has it all going on. She’s genuine and someone who cares about you and me.

Bernstein goes right to the heart filling it with soulful energy.

She’s well versed in Kundalini yoga and all things body, mind and spirit.

Her book is a must have for those willing to spend time searching for the exact tool she offers that is aligned with many emotionally pressing situations.

Here’s the only way I know how to sum up this remarkably written loving book:
M Meditate, pray and move through the blocks.
I I choose peace instead of this.
R Recover from feeling guilty, shameful or stressed.
A Abundance is an inside job.
C Create holy relationships.
L Love, it’s only love.
E Envision golden light surrounding you.
S Soften your ego.

N No is a complete sentence.
O Outcomes are controlled by the ego.
W Silence yourself … find out what W.A.I.T. is all about.

Get ready for a miracle as you calm your mind, get grounded, release anger, remove ancient pain and breath for energy as you discover your own strength within.

I send you love, blessings and wishes for a prosperous and abundant life!

(I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience. )
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 07, 2014 ginadrellack
Miracles Now is an easily assimilated approach to improving your life. Gabrielle Bernstein has laid out “108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding Your True Purpose.” She’s right; they work. It’s worth your time.

For many readers these shared concepts are not new–and yet you will find them to be supportive, helpful reminders of action you can take to help you on your path, right where you are. Short. Sweet. Immediate. Ahh.

Each of the 108 tools is presented in the same pattern, and is easily broken down into a bite-sized nugget of wisdom: it opens with a descriptive title, continues with an entry of exploration and understanding, and closes with a Tweetable message. If you choose to follow and add to Twitter, simply use #MiraclesNow as suggested with each Tweetable. If not, enjoy the synopsis message to carry in your heart!

This book can be used in a variety of ways. Although I began using it as a daily meditation, I quickly decided I couldn’t wait 108 days to finish! A few a day, when I created a moment to enjoy, was incredibly fulfilling for me. Now, I will go back and use the table of contents to revisit whichever topic jumps out at me for that day.

Gabrielle’s writing style is wonderful to read–it’s as if you and she are sitting on your own couch with your feet tucked under you, simply visiting.

This book makes a necessary addition to anyone’s spiritual supplemental reading, and is a no-brainer as a gift to give as well.

I received this book from Hay House in exchange for my honest opinion of it. No paid endorsements here, just sharing the love!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 04, 2014 BookLover

Miracles Now: 108 Life-Changing Tools for Less Stress, More Flow, and Finding Your True Purpose by Gabrielle Bernstein shows us 1-8 simple and short techniques we can use in our lives that only take a minute or two in order to find peace and contentment in our fast paced lives.

One of my favorite exercises is entitled, "Be the Lighthouse" in which we are encouraged to be a light instead of a victim. The 108 exercises in this book are encouraging and bring peace to our lives. The author gives us exercises inspired from Kunadlini yoga and A Course In Miracles to bring peace and less stress. We are told that we can open the book to any page and it will be the correct exercises we need for that day. I also liked that this book is interactive in that at the end of each technique there is a 120 word saying along with #MiraclesNow which we can post as the author suggests on twitter, Facebook, or pinterest.

Overall, I really enjoyed the exercises in this book and will continue to use it daily to bring more light and peace into my life. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants quick impacting exercises to use daily to bring more flow and peace to their life.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion and I was not financially compensated.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews