Book Reviews

Slimming Meals that Heal

Julie Daniluk, R.H.N.

Health & Healing, Alternative Health, Diet/Fitness

978-1-4019-4570-1

With her debut bestselling health book and cookbook, Meals That Heal Inflammation, nutritionist Julie Daniluk created the definitive guide to understanding inflammation and its link to chronic disease... More

Oct 16, 2014 AprilAngel73
Slimming Meals that Heal: Lose Weight Without Dieting, Using Anti-Inflammatory Superfoods by Julie Daniluk, RHN is a very interesting book. Not only does it contain an amazing amount of information, there are over 120 gluten-free recipes in the book as well.

The book begins with some basic human physiology. It touches on hormone changes, inflammation, and allergies. The importance of keeping a food diary to track food allergies and/or intolerances is also discussed. There is a very informative section on emotional eating that I feel will be helpful for a large number of people. Emotional eating seems to be a common issue especially among women. As far as getting to the bottom of allergies/intolerances, I found the food elimination schedule to be helpful and very easy to follow. Another handy section is a listing of different foods and why they are potentially harmful/not healthful along with healthy alternatives.

The very last section of the book contains some great recipes to help you along on your food elimination journey. There are recipes for juices and smoothies, breakfasts, salads, sauces, dips, and dressings, as well as main meals, soups, appetizers, treats and snacks. This book is an incredible find for anyone looking to improve their health.

http://amzn.com/1401945708

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 09, 2014 Starseed28
This book is a god send! I absolutely loved all the lessons this book had to offer. Julie Daniluk has a way of taking complex body processes and “dumbing them down” for the rest of us. I found everything in this book fascinating.

The first part of this book is all about how food affects your body. There are so many fad diets that fail and we need to start eating for our health. She shares her story of transformation and how she overcame her struggles by eating healthy. Every person’s body respond differently to different foods and that certain foods may cause inflammation in your body. There is even a page or two about how to test your individual food sensitivities.

When your body is in a state of inflammation your hormones go crazy and one of the ways that your body responds is by weight gain. She goes in-depth on the different hormones in your body, what affect they have and what can happen when they are out of balance. After explaining the different ways your body may respond or act, she gives you guidelines to begin eating healing meals. She even throws in a few pages about tapping to release your stress and eating problems.

Before giving you the recipes, she provides a plan of action for you to begin the SMTH plan. One of the steps are throwing out the “bad” food and knowing what the “bad” foods are. She gives you the green, yellow and red light food list and a 7 day meal plan. The SMTH plan gives you a new food pyramid to follow and plenty of substitutions for those “bad” food cravings. I have only gone a couple weeks in, so I’m still in the step one which is setting up for success. However, it seems easier that I thought it was going to be.

Finally, she gives you the recipes. Although I have only tried a couple of them, I have to say that they were pretty good. The liquid healing section has been my favorite so far because I love healthy shakes. I have looked over all the recipes a few times and I think that I will really like many of them. I highly recommend this book for people who want to start living healthy instead of trying every new diet that claims miracle weight loss.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 24, 2014 CreateWithJoy
If you are trying to improve your health due to chronic illness, food allergies, or obesity, consider adding Slimming Meals That Heal – Lose Weight Without Dieting, Using Anti-Inflammatory Superfoods by Registered Holistic Nutritionist Julie Daniluk to your health and wellness toolkit.

Slimming Meals That Heal explores the relationship between food allergies, inflammation and weight gain. The book is divided into three parts:

* Part 1 examines the scientific research that demonstrates the connection between obesity, inflammation and overeating. It also shows how removing food allergens can help your body naturally balance your weight.

* Part 2 outlines a five-step slimming plan that leads to effortless weight balance, based on an anti-inflammatory food chart that outlines the importance of avoiding processed meat and refined carbohydrates.

* Part 3 contains a menu plan that features the top slimming superfoods in over 120 healing recipes. You’ll begin by incorporating familiar favorites into your diet and then introduce new foods into your meals.

There are a number of things that I like about this book:

* First, Julie does a very good job of presenting complex information in an understandable way. It’s clear that the author has a good understanding of nutrition as well as the eating challenges that people dealing with health and weight issues face. She presents tangible explanations and solutions you can wrap your head around.

* Second, I found all of the colorful charts and illustrations extremely helpful and practical in putting the program to use. Some of my favorites include the What To Toss and What To Keep Or Buy charts and the Anti-Inflammatory Food Pyramid.

* Finally, I love the photos that accompany many of the recipes. The recipes look fresh, healthy and inviting – I wish all of the recipes had photos!

I think that most people who are trying to improve their health and diet will find something of value in this book.

Regardless of how little or how much of the information you choose to incorporate into your lifestyle, Slimming Meals That Heal is sure to change the way you think about food!

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 12, 2014 Loveandtreasure
Healthy Eating Can Be Easier Than How It’s Portrayed In Slimming Meals That Heal (And An Alternative Book That Will Show You The Way)

The following is a book review on a nutrition book, Slimming Meals that Heal.

The pros:

* Julie Daniluk, author of Slimming Meals that Heal, is really knowledgeable. You can tell by the informative chapters in the beginning of the book and in some of her guest appearances on Marilyn.ca, a Canadian show, that you can view on YouTube.
* She is known for making healthy food taste like gourmet food

The Cons:

* Her success with her prior book, Meals That Heal Inflammation, which I had heard rave reviews about, made me think that I was going to be blown away with this book. Unfortunately, I wasn't.
* The first recipe that I tried from the book flopped. It was inedible.
* The main reason why I wasn't impressed, and the main reason why you may not like the book as much as you think you will is because since I'm relatively new to the healthy eating practice, I don't have all of the ingredients that this recipe book calls for even though I've shopped primarily at health food stores multiple times during the last few months. In other words, the ingredients are not as ordinary even in health food stores (although the book does provide online resources where you can purchase these less common ingredients). For the record, I'm not someone who is intimidated by long recipes or exotic ingredients. On the contrary, I like that type of challenge. However, what's discouraging, is that I haven't been able to make several of the recipes that I've wanted to make because I'm missing several ingredients. If it were one ingredient that I was missing, maybe I would still make the recipe, but I want to do the recipes justice by following them to a "t." The ingredients that Julie uses are not only not that common, but they are presented in a way that I'm not familiar with. For example, "coconut beverage" is a term that is used in many of the recipes. Do you know what that is? Before the book, I didn't know either.
* Julie's recipes are very popular, but they're not the type of recipe that I'll be reaching for often, due to the difficulty in obtaining these ingredients, when the recipes that I have made have not been stellar.

The Alternative Book Recommendation

I've seen nutritionists that are more approachable both in their personality and in their way to present food. One such nutritionist is Joy McCarthy. I think that Joy should also be a Hay House author. Joy REALLY enjoys interacting with others and is genuinely transparent. Her joy and excitement for healthy eating is truly contagious. Joys' book, called Joyous Health, is a book that is easy to read, not intimidating, fresh, full of recipes that have few ingredients, are very doable, are very good, and on top of it all, the recipes, the brand and Joy herself really do encourage the reader to WANT to make the recipes and further adopt healthy eating in their life. They make what could be seen as a sacrifice, a pleasurable pursuit and an exciting exploration.

If you're in search of a user friendly, informative, nutritious and delicious cookbook, I would highly recommend Joyous Health by Joy McCarthy, instead of Slimming Meals that Heal by Julie. For me, cooking and baking need to be a joyous experience, otherwise, I don't want to participate in preparing meals for as long and as often as we do. Not because I'm lazy, but because I know that the quality of the food suffers.

I received Slimming Meals that Heal for free from Hay House in exchange for an honest review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 03, 2014 kca4516
This cookbook is awesome. It goes into so much detail about why inflammation causes weight gain and how to combat inflammation and, therefore, decrease weight. The first part of this book discusses wheat allergies, hormones, other allergies that cause inflammation that "normal" people do not consider, especially because of the way our government and most doctors tell us to eat. Chapter 6 is especially awesome because it goes through a number of different types of food and discusses why you should not eat those foods. Julie then outlines the types of food that are good for you and should be eaten daily as well as giving a meal plan that is easy to follow.

Then we get to the recipes. The number of shakes included in this book is incredible. I love to have a shake for breakfast. They are so easy to make and can be very filling and nutritious. The Blender Broccoli Soup sounds awesome and incredibly easy to make. I love ginger soup and Julie includes a wonderful Ginger Green Soup that is packed full of spices and vegetables. This cookbook even includes a recipes for onion rings!! Everyone loves onion rings! Chicken and beef recipes follow and even a recipe for sushi (which is my hardest grain-including food to give up).

I highly recommend this cookbook. It will help you to understand why it is important to give up certain foods and then give you a method to implement that lifestyle. It's not easy to change the way you eat (I know, I've given up grains more than once and am still eating bread) but this book gives you a good basis for understanding the reasoning behind a grain free (and other allergen-free) diet and gives good advice for maintaining the lifestyle.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 22, 2014 Annel
I have recently had the opportunity to read and review the book, Slimming Meals That Heal, written by Julie Daniluk, a Registered Holistic Nutritionist. This is an excellent, well written book that is full of valuable information pertaining to food allergies, hormone imbalances, inflammation, weight management and how they all link together. In the book, Julie's focus is on a plan that she calls "Live it" as opposed to a typical diet which very rarely works (she explains that concept too). Her Live it plan is a plan that encompasses body healing dietary changes that will last a life time. The book is logically divided into three parts; Part 1 -The Science of Weight Loss, Part 2 -The SMTH Program, and Part 3 -The Recipes.

In Part one, Julie provides detailed information about many of the common foods that we eat today and how they contribute to health issues such as inflammation and weight gain. In part two, she lays out the details of her five step Slimming Meals that Heal (SMTH), or as she calls it the Live it plan. This section is full of easy to read charts to help the reader gain an understanding of foods that cause inflammation, as well as other charts that will helpto build an anti-inflammatory kitchen. Part three, which takes up the second half of the book is loaded with delicious and easy to prepare recipes including breakfast, salads, main meals and snacks. My favorite recipe is the one for the Salad Bars, which are savory snack bars made from shredded vegetables and seeds. Unlike packaged protein bars they are not loaded with sugar, and they are filling.

I highly recommend this book to anyone that is looking to “clean up” their diet even if there are no food sensitivities, allergies or weight issues involved. The various charts and diagrams throughout the book make the plan easy to follow.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 17, 2014 Delaneykelli
Book Nook was kind enough to send me a clean eating book 'Slimming, meals that heal", which I was really psyched about because I love healthy options over unhealthy, and I know how hard it is to make the right choices at the grocery store.

I have never liked dieting because they don't work, you will always end up going back to old habits because you can never stay on one diet your whole life. I liked that the author addressed this. Its more about just making good choices. Which I really like and agree with. This author talks about the science of eating healthy and losing weight. It was totally educational. There is a list of the top superfoods and why they are so good for you, which I know I will go back to and look at lots of times. It is a great book to have among your other cook books.

The only thing I didn't like was the cover and art direction of the book was underwhelming. It reminded me of a school coursebook, so I just kind of wished it was cuter or had more of an artistic edge to it.

With that said, I will definitely be trying lots of the recipes included in the second half of the book!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 10, 2014 jarjm
What a great book! I can't say enough good things about this book. I am just starting out eating gluten-free so this cookbook really hits home for me. It has over 120 Gluten-free recipes with beautiful pictures and easy to make recipes! This book is packed with great information about why diets don't work, how allergies can cause weight gain, and how to lose weight without dieting, using anti-inflammatory superfoods. The Anti-Inflammatory Food Pyramid is a great tool to use!!!

I also enjoyed all the information about what foods to toss, keep or buy. I can't say enough great things about al the wonderful, healthy recipes in this cookbook! We enjoyed making the Superfood Shake, The Healthiest Gluten-Free Lasagna, Low-Cal Turkey Chili and my kids liked the Monster Superfood Breakfast.

With so many great tips, information and recipes you can't go wrong with this cookbook in your life! I would recommend this book to everyone wanting to live a healthier life.

This is my review of Slimming Meals That Heal by Julie Daniluk. I acknowledge that I received this book free from Hay House Publishing to review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 25, 2014 BethanyG
Inflammation is a huge problem in society. We are putting so much processed food into our bodies that we creating an body filled with inflammation. In Slimming Meals that Heal by Julie Daniluk, she lays out a plan of healthy eating that does not involve dieting, but rather a lifetime of eating right, and that will relieve the inflammation that most of us currently live with.

This book is split up into three different sections. I like the layout since it makes sense. In the first section she explains why diets don’t work and goes into the science behind how to lose weight the right way. In section two, she lays out her plan called The SMTH Program, which focus on anti-inflammatory foods that help heal your body. In the last, but best section, she gives you tons of tasty recipes that are filled with the anti-inflammatory (fresh, nutrient dense) foods she talked about earlier in the book.

I love this book for two reasons…first, the recipes are amazing. Eating right and healthy doesn’t have to be boring and flavorless. None of these recipes are boring and they have so much flavor present you won’t believe they are healthy AND healing for you. Secondly, it is writing in a way that I understand everything, even the science filled parts. Some books have a tendency to write to an audience that is filled with science majors and professors, but the “every-day” person can understand this book and find the help that they need to heal their bodies.

This book is available through Hay House and it is very much worth it. I don’t think you can put a price tag on your health.

[Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Hay House for the purpose of this reivew. All thoughts and opinions are my own.]
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 10, 2014 aimeeroo
The title of this book really caught my attention. We all want to look our best, but more importantly we want to feel our best. Slimming Meals that Heal is a cookbook, plus a lot of great information about health and diets overall.

The first section of the book covers health, and explains why diets don’t usually work. There is information about nutrition, and food allergies. Very easy to understand as well, which is great because the last thing anyone wants is to feel like they are reading a text book!

The second section is the best though! The recipes are laid out by type, but each has a key to show if the recipe fits into certain criteria like gluten free, dairy free, etc. There is something for everyone too, I found recipes that both my husband and I would enjoy, which is saying a lot because we have different tastes in food.

I am also really excited to try the Alpha-Omega Breakfast Pudding, because I have always wanted to try recipes using chia seeds (this book has a few actually).

Overall it’s a great resource, and includes a lot of full color photos of the recipes as well.

I received this book from Hay House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 24, 2014 Jeanieber
I have to say I really like what the author has to say in this weight loss book. She has done her homework. There are three parts to the book that are appropriately in order. First part is why diets don’t work… She states most are fix’s and too strict and do not take into account individuality, whether it be issues such as hormone imbalances, allergies, digestion problems, nutrition, emotional issues and many more and goes into detail about each and more. Her main focus, and rightly so, is inflammation. Part two of the book shares her Anti-inflammatory 5 step live-it Plan with foods to focus on while building your anti-inflammatory kitchen. Part three shows menu plans and helps you, the reader to design your own. She shares awesome smoothie detox and super food recipes, delightful breakfasts, sensational salads, sauces and dressings, soups, main dishes , tasteful treats and snacks all eliminating highly allergic foods such as gluten and substituting more appropriate foods. I really appreciate the recipes I have tried, and though I am not a regular of meat and dairy, there are plenty of other recipes to tantalize your taste buds. I received this book from Hay House and the review is my honest opinion.
Jeanie Beresford N.T.P
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 22, 2014 beafitmama
Julie Daniluk's Slimming Meals That Heals, the follow-up to her premier book Meals That Heal Inflammation, is an informative and well-researched book that tackles the issues of inflammation and its relationship to weight-loss and overall well-being.

In Chapter 1, titled 'Why Diets Don't Work', Julie begins by giving 3 reasons why most diets fail. She further explains that the missing component to most weight-loss diets is in inflammation; or the chronic state of it. Categorizing the root causes of inflammation into 4: injury, infection, irritation and imbalance; Julie offers solutions through a change in eating habits, such as in her “live-it” food plan that she believes is optimal in supporting the immune system (found later in the book).

The subject of food allergies and intolerance is a popular concern in this day and age. Chapter 2 explores the difference between the two as well as the immune system and the processes of the innate and adaptive immune systems. Julie provides a thorough explanation of how these systems are activated differently in food allergy and intolerance situations, and how these triggers can sabotage weight-loss efforts. Taking a look at sensitivities and intolerance, such as celiac disease, lactose intolerance and toxic substances, Julie does a great job at distinguishing the differences of these sensitivities in a clear manner.

Up until this point, Slimming Meals That Heal has provided a good foundation to increase the understanding of the body's processes in relation to allergens, intolerance and its affect on weight gain. Chapter 3 further explores how “...the root of chronic disease, weight gain, and obesity is often the result of hormonal imbalances.” Listing 8 main 'culprits to hormonal disruption', Julie describes the imbalances that are avoidable and treatable. The remainder of the chapter catalogs the many hormones that play a large role in the body's inability to lose weight and how making healthy changes to your eating habits can heal the body.

Chapters 4 & 5 (The Nutrition of Weight Loss, and The Live-It Tool Kit) touch on the nutrition of weight-loss and introduces 25 superfoods for inflammation and weight reduction. Julie addresses the questions, “Are Carbs Making Me Fat?” and “Are Fats Making me Fat?”, while expanding on the concept of the glycemic index and proteins. Briefly, she broaches the subject of emotional eating, offering a toolkit of strategies to combat them. She doesn't delve deeply into the subject matter, but does leave the reader with sound insights that can further be explored by finding materials on solutions, such as The Emotional Freedom Technique (tapping), hypnosis and journaling.

In Part 2 of SMTH, Julie introduces the 5-step Live-It Program. The program essentially models a whole food diet, in which you eat fresh, natural and non-preservative foods. The 5-step Live-It Program is outlines as follows:

Setting Up For Success
Eliminating Pain Triggers and Crushing Cravings
Turbo-Charge Your Program with Superfoods
Food Reintroduction
The Live-It...Body, Mind and Spirit

The plan culminates into approximately 24 weeks of guidance with detailed charts that lead you through foods to eliminate, what to buy and what to test for inflammatory triggers.

Concluding the section on the SMTH Program, Julie outlines the SMTH food pyramid with a color coded reference charts detailing “what to do” and “hurting foods”. One of the most helpful resources in this chapter includes Julie's 'Healthy Swap List', which tackles the most common inflammatory foods and offers alternatives, such as replacing butter with coconut oil and sugar for non-pasteurized honey.

The remainder of the book is dedicated to 120 recipes created specifically for the SMTH Program. These recipes offer a variety of juices, snacks, treats and meals; each with clear markers indicating its food category status (ie. Gluten free, raw, dairy free, etc.).

Julie Daniluk's Slimming Meals That Heal has a great amount to offer in its clarity and research on inflammation and its affects on the body. Although it is clear that with conscious modifications to your diet and understanding of allergens and other food sensitivities, weight-loss is possible. I am, however, unsure if the title “Slimming Meals That Heal” is the best choice as the book does not necessarily address weight-loss specifically, but more of an in-depth look at how inflammation in the body is a cause for concern in regards to recognizing and treating food allergies and sensitivities. With that said, it is a good read and I would suggest it as a resource for making healthy, lasting changes to those with dietary concerns.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 22, 2014 KaseyCocoa
I received this wonderful book through Hay House Book Nook blogger program and I must say I am so very happy with this book. The wealth of valuable information readers will learn can be life changing. The facts are well researched. The meals taste wonderful. It's easy to read and something you will use again and again. I like the layout and how the language does not speak down to the reader. Well worth the purchase and I'd recommend his to anyone looking to feel great again. Get away from the processed junk and ear great. Your body will thank you.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 18, 2014 taslimjaffer
As soon as I submitted my review of Wayne Dyer’s memoir, I skimmed the titles in Hay House’s Book Nook for another great read. What caught my eye was a big surprise to me. Slimming Meals That Heal by Julie Daniluk is part science lesson, part cookbook and not at all what I thought I wanted to read. However, when I saw the words “Over 120 gluten-free recipes” on the cover, I thought, “Oh yeah, I need to get this!” and before I knew it I had clicked to request it for review. With that click, the deed was done and I would now be expected to read and review something I didn’t even understand choosing.

When it arrived, I pulled the 340 page book out of the envelope and ran my thumb over the open end, fanning the pages as they hummed like a deck of cards being shuffled. Hesitantly, I started reading the information-packed beginning section and then felt the familiar discomfort set in. It’s the way I feel when I learn things I don’t want to learn – usually because I’m not ready to make the changes it will likely induce. Annoyed that I was obligated to go through this process of reading and reviewing a book that intimidated me, I put the book aside for a few days.

The next time I picked it up, I tried a different approach. I completely skipped the first section and jumped into the recipes. That perked me up a bit! I actually recognized the majority of the ingredients; in fact, I had most of them in my kitchen! But here were some new ways to use the staples in my cupboards and I actually got excited.

Dog-earing the recipes I wanted to try, I thought about why the book initially turned me off. I’ve come to loathe being told what not to eat because of some fear-based reason. I know what the ‘white’ foods do to my body, I understand the inflammatory nature of the foods that constituted a large part of my diet up until probably a decade ago. I have since made changes based on what feels good to my body and am aware of the difference in my physical and emotional states when I teeter too far over on the other side of the fence. I just don’t like to be reminded of the harmful effects of certain foods, because if I do indulge a little here and there, I don’t want to feel bad for doing it. And that’s just my personal response. When I know something is a no-no, and I do it anyway, I feel guilty.

But going through the recipes, I only felt excitement at trying new combinations of foods I enjoy and feel good about serving my family. These are the ones I tried: Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette, Skinny Onion Rings, Jicama Fries, Cashew-Crusted Chicken (which includes a Mock Sour Cream and Chive Dip) and Low-Carb Vanilla Coconut Cookies. The recipes were really easy to follow and yielded some good results, I’d say (and I think my family would concur). The kids’ and hubby’s favourite experiment was the cookies which actually came out more like macarons. And talk about coconut – I got to use coconut flour, coconut oil, coconut sugar AND coconut milk in one recipe! Something I have learned from Julie’s website: coconut is a medium chain triglyceride which is metabolism-boosting!

With each recipe, there’s a little blurb that explains the nutritional benefits of some of its ingredients. I loved knowing how what I was eating was helping my body, and being able to share the information with my family. I still have plenty of recipes to try; even if I try one a week, I’m set for a long time!

Julie also offers recipes on her website here if you want to check them out to get a ‘flavour’ of what an anti-inflammatory diet looks like. I am so trying this recipe next. Can I get a “YUM!”?

So, what about that first section with all the science – with the charts and the explanations etc.? Oddly enough, when I did decide to dive right in, I flipped the book open to a sub-section called Let Go Of Guilt. Interesting. And wait a minute…the more I read in Part One: The Science of Weight Loss, the more I realized the only part that unnerved me was the sub-section How Allergies Cause Weight Gain. Again, that’s just my personal response. On the flip side of the coin, this section would be engaging to someone else. And the charts are actually just really great information laid out in an easy-to-read format.

The moral of this story is: if a book jumps out at you, grab it and don’t question why you selected it (because clearly, it selected you). Also, don’t judge a book by a first flip-through; there’s more to every section than meets the eye. And finally, embrace the parts that uplift you and let them add a little zing to your life!

Julie Daniluk’s book, Slimming Meals That Heal, would appeal to anyone who has tried diet after diet and now wants to try a live-it! Also, any foodie looking to expand their repertoire of ingredients and recipes that support and heal the body needs to put this book on their list.

Disclosure: The link to Slimming Meals That Heal in this post is my affiliate link which means I receive a small percentage of sales made through it. Thank you for supporting my work. Also, I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 12, 2014 BarbRidener

Slimming Meals That Heal: Lose Weight without Dieting, Using Anti-inflammatory Superfoods is a comprehensive presentation of the science behind weight loss, the secret to the program, and then over 120 recipes that make can be used as part of the “Live-It” program.

Julie begins the book with an overview of why traditional diets do not work. This section is packed with science and specifics that build a foundation of the reasons why we gain weight and a straight-forward discussion of the things that we can do to change or avoid the cycle of weight gain. This is built around the science behind how certain foods, in certain people cause inflammation. While this section was interesting, I have to admit that there were times that I got tired of wading through the scientific discussion. What is great about a physical book, rather than an e-book, is that I could easily skim this section and come back and reread for a deeper understanding.

The beauty of Slimming Meals that Heal is in the cleansing progress of the program, where foods that potentially cause inflammation are gradually withdrawn from the diet, the body is given time to recover. Then, foods may be gradually reintroduced to determine those that might be problematic. The Live-It, rather than the diet, presents options that can be included in the eating plan so an individual does not feel like one does not feel deprived of a favorite food or taste. Substitution and satisfaction is the key to living with the alternative eating plan and maintaining success. In addition, Julie presents a section on ways to counter emotional eating, including using tapping to take away the emotions that may cause negative habits.

The recipes are clear and easy to follow, include a quick menu that provides a key to the type of meal plan the recipe would fit into, and wonderfully colorful pictures of the finished item. The ones that I’ve tried are delicious. The only negative aspect of these recipes is that each one required a trip to the store because I did not have many of the ingredients around my house.

This book is a beautiful resource and guide for developing an eating program that is both healthy and satisfying, one that will lead to weight-loss, over time, without dieting

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. I was not financially compensated for this post. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 12, 2014 judyshome
I’m glad that Julie Daniluk began her book saying that there is no One-Size-Fits-All-Plan in weight management because, well… I couldn’t use any of her recipes! There were definitely some tasty-looking meals and awesome suggestions in there – the only thing is, I was put on Traditional Chinese Herbs a while ago and the doctor took me off a few key foods. Amongst other things, this list of Banned Foods included garlic, onion and lemon – ingredients that are on almost every page of her recipe section.

Having had a similar background in nutrition as the author – we both got our RHN designation from CSNN – I’m usually allllllll over onion, garlic and lemon. According to the TCM doc, I might’ve been too enthusiastic with these foods and created an imbalance, lol! So, I’m trying things his way and I’ll see how it goes.

Recipes aside, the beginning of the book is awesome! She does a really great job in explaining the science behind inflammation and weight gain. Although some people may feel that it gets too “Science-y” at times, I strongly believe that to progress holistic nutrition forward, we need the objective facts to gain acceptance by conventional practitioners. So, that was very well done…not that we need validation, it’s just nice to be accepted, lol.

I loved the Superfoods Section, where she talks about regular foods and their health properties. I liked how she included dark chocolate :D and I also liked how the majority of the foods she listed are ones that people know about – not going too, too much into foods exclusively found in health stores. There were, of course, mentions of stuff like ashwaganda and astragalus, but most of the Superfoods List was common like fish and squash and spinach.

Another thing I really liked about this book is that it doesn’t just address nutrition and food. In true holistic spirit, Julie makes suggestions on how to integrate exercise as well as tackles the big one: the emotional component of food and eating. She addresses the feeling of shame we often get when we “cheat” and moving past the negativity. She gives an action plan to stay committed to Slimming Meals that Heal.

Overall, this was an awesomely informative book.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 08, 2014 ejmontano
Slimming Meals That Heal is a cookbook written by Julie Daniluk . This book is such an amazing and very informative. It is divided into three parts; the first part is the scientific approach where it discussed how allergies can cause weight gain and why certain diet are not working. Even though we are strictly following that diet we were not able to see results in our bodies. Julie Daniluk also gave information on what benefit can we get on a certain food, and what disease or ailments it can cure, I can now help my husband on his ailment by managing his food intake on “what to eat” and “what not to eat” for him to lower his sugar levels.

The second part of her book tackles on a certain program to help you lose weight, not the short term one but for a long term. There is a schedule that you need to follow on what to do for a certain week in order to achieve your goal of losing weight and to maintain that achieved goal forever. If you have been struggling to lose weight for a very long time this is the book for you. You won’t get starved or get weak in this kind of program.

The third part of the book is the compilation of healthy recipes for weight loss. And you will be informed immediately if a certain recipe is free of certain food causing allergens; it is indicated just beside the recipe. This is the healthiest and most helpful cookbook I have ever had.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 05, 2014 cschajer
Slimming Meals That Heal is a wonderfully written book that focuses on dieting through lifestyle changes. It is separated into three sections, “The Science of Weight Loss,” “The SMTH Program,” and “The Recipes,” all of which together explain a well-rounded approach to bettering one’s body.

In the first chapter, The Science of Weight Loss, Julie Daniluk focuses on the anatomy of the human body and how different foods affect the body. She discusses what foods are best for your body, the hormones they impact, and what foods you should stay away from. What I found most interesting about this chapter was when she mentioned that sour foods promote weight loss. Not only do sour foods such as vinegar cause someone to feel full, but it also prevents metabolism of some carbohydrates.

The second chapter, The SMTH program, details what the SMTH program is. The reader is instructed to remove certain foods from their diet and is given guidelines as to when they could reintroduce what. This plan will allow someone to determine what foods cause inflammation in their body and what foods they will need to remove from their body on a regular basis.

The third chapter, The Recipes, you will find 120 gluten-free recipes. Each recipe has symbols that designate various things including but not limited to egg free recipes, soy free recipes and dairy free recipes. A few recipes from the book that I’ve added to my must cook list are the best no bake apple crumble, cashew crusted chicken, skinny onion rings mad creamy asparagus soup. These are dishes that I love to eat, so I’m excited to try healthier alternatives to the recipes I currently use.

This book is definitely a book I would recommend to someone who needs to reduce inflammation in their body. My only complaint is that it’s very wordy. For something that I thought was a cookbook when I ordered it, I’m a little disappointed with and discouraged by the length of the first two chapters. The detail is wonderful but definitely overwhelming.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 07, 2014 Cheryl
Slimming Meals That Healcontains three sections:

Research(Explains the science of losing weight, and how hormones, emotions, and inflammation are linked to weight gain.)

A Plan(Reveals problems with certain foods and why you should stop eating them, as well as recommending substitutions.)

Recipes(The bulk of the book – menus for healthy eating, with gorgeous, full-page illustrations.)

Julie Daniluk (a registered holistic nutritionist) uses a unique approach in this book. She not only provides delicious recipes, but also informs her readers what certain ingredients do to the human body, what to avoid, and how non-food items in life (hormones, allergies, inflammation and moods) can affect weight and well-being.

I found this book inspiring and informational. Much more than I expected. Highly recommended—particularly if you’re dealing with health issues.

Cover: Like it
Title: Like it
Publisher: Hay House, Inc.
Pages: 360

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy from HayHouse. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 06, 2014 Mikeylynn
What a great book! I had no idea how detailed and interesting this book would read. The first part of the book the author talks about health and how diets don't really work. The main thing I got from this section was nutrition and food allergies/issues. This book explained in an easy to understand context and I got a lot more from reading this book than my nutrition college class! The second part of the book is a ton of delicious recipes split up between meals/drinks and then a list to the side that shows if it's gluten free, dairy free, etc. So helpful to those of us who struggle with food allergies and issues!! Everything about this book is helpful an honest. The author talks about her personal eating and life and makes the meals and topics realistic and achievable. I do agree with the idea that diets don't work, they work for a week or two but eventually we go back to eating the food we weren't allowed to. In order to maintain weight it's a healthy lifestyle change, no just a crash diet.

If you want some healthy recipes and beneficial information on nutrition you need to read this book.
This is honestly the best nutrition book I have read.

"I received this book from Hay House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review."

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews