Book Reviews

The Big Book of Angel Tarot

Doreen Virtue, Radleigh Valentine

Intuition, Angels, General

978-1-4019-4370-7

In The Big Book of Angel Tarot, best-selling authors Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine follow up their groundbreaking Angel Tarot Cards with the definitive guide to the mystical art of tarot. By re... More

Dec 10, 2014 solitaireangel
For me this book is more of a treasure than just a good read, As a ACR ( Angel Card Reader ) its a wonderful reference tool, textbook, and study guide. Within the pages, it is a full of in depth in formation on one the best loved Angel Tarot card decks

This book is certainly not for everyone, intended for those who have taken Doreen and Radleigh’s Angel Card Reading courses or those whom already hold a certificate in ACR. This lovely book will also welcome the novice or those who are interested in their Angel Tarot card deck. In this very well written and greatly organized book you will find descriptions, additional meanings and extra information on each card that is in the original Angel Tarot card deck. Staring with the “Minor Arcana”, also known as the Major life changes cards, Detailing each card unique imagery, deeper meanings and extra information that will provide you with the tools to give better and more accurate reading for both your clients and for you self as well. As with the Minor Arcana , so too is the Major Arcana, detailed descriptions of the imagery, symbolism, angel numbers and astrology associations of these beautifully illustrated cards. This is one of my personal favorites deck of cards, it hold so much mystery, intrigue, and is flowing with the most beautiful, comforting, and joyous energy that you will be hard pressed to disappointed by both this book or the deck itself.


FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Dec 02, 2014 Angels Reviews
The Big Book of Angel Tarot is my go-to-guide when I need clarity and/or guidance on a specific card from the Angel Tarot card deck.

When you purchase the Angel Tarot card deck it comes with its own booklet that gives an excellent overview and meaning of the cards.

The Big Book of Angel Tarot goes much more in depth with the meaning of each card including symbolism, astrology and even a bit of history.

The Big Book of Angel Tarot can also be used with the Guardian Angel Tarot and Archangel Power Tarot card decks.

I’ve been professionally reading Angel tarot and oracle cards now for many years now and I found that this book has deepened my understanding to a lot of the details and meanings behind certain cards.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning about Angel Tarot in more depth and detail whether it be for personal or professional enhancement.

*FTC Disclosure: I am not financially compensated for the actual book reviews I provide on my website. I receive physical copies of books from Hay House for review purposes. The thoughts and opinions I share are based solely on my own life experiences and perceptions.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 18, 2014 MaryMikawoz
This book is compendium of information that goes along with the Angel Tarot Card Deck. The beginning of the book, reviews the history of tarot and how this deck compares to the traditional Rider-Waite deck. These cards are positive in nature while still dealing with events in a person's life that may be perceived as negative or difficult to deal with. For this reason, the cards do not have a reverse meaning. If the cards are upside down, you simply put them the right direction and read the reading based on what has been written symbolically, according to the picture itself and based on both angel numbers and astrology.

The Major Arcana is now the Dreamer's Journey. You follow him/her as they progress through life until you reach the World along with Archangel Michael. Each Major Arcana card has an Archangel attached to it which gives you further information as to how the card works in the spread or reading.

The Minor Arcana has pip cards which are the numbered cards and the court cards which include the Page, the Knight, The Queen and the King. The Ace starts off each suit. The suits have been changed to Fire, Water, Air and Earth.

The Fire has dragons and wands in it, Water has cups in it plus merpeople, Air has unicorns in it (swords in previous tarot decks) and Earth has fairies and gold coins in it.

I studied this book by having physically organized my cards according to the Major Arcana and Minor Arcana in the order they are presented in the book. Then it took time, however, I studied the card, then read the reading, reflected on the card some more and paused to think about it all. Then, I proceeded to the next card. In time, the whole deck and book were finished.

My head is now full of imagery, stories and symbolism. It is an appropriate book to have as a reference guide to go along with the Angel Tarot Cards. The little guide book that comes with the deck are good for basic information and then this big book gives you far more detail. This deck obviously took into consideration a lot of factors.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 22, 2014 ginadrellack
The Big Book of Angel Tarot, by Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine, is a fabulous compendium of the Angel Tarot Cards.

I'll be honest--I already had this lovely deck, and I dragged my feet on looking at this book because I thought the descriptions printed on the individual cards were more than sufficient. Okay, it's true that they are, but WOW is this book an amazing companion to the cards! My understanding of what each card signifies as well as how to interpret them has expanded tremendously from reading this guide.

I appreciate the given background of Tarot, and how the authors arrived at creating this deck. The description of a person on a journey and how the card meanings then apply was especially enlightening for me, and it made the learning stick. Support for how to give readings and use various spreads is encouraging and uplifting. This guide will help those who are interested in Angel Tarot as a profession, as well as anyone who is interested in it personally.

An aspect of this book that I especially appreciate is the nitty gritty of what each individual card has to say. Along with the big-picture processes, this book is an in-depth reference tool for every single card in the deck. I will come back to this book again and again for deeper personal understanding.

Anyone who has even a passing interest in either Tarot, Angels, or intuitive guidance will benefit from this book (and deck). If you have the cards, go get this book right now! If you don't have the deck, I highly recommend getting one along with this book. (The holidays are coming, treat yourself to a gift!)

You don't need to begin your Dreamer's Journey, you are already on one. This book will help you understand yourself and others along the way.

I received this book from Hay House in a fair exchange of my honest opinion for it, as part of their Book Nook blogger program.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 30, 2014 kerrimulhern
I have been interested in tarot cards for quite some time but didn't know where to get started. I attended a Hayhouse I Can Do It! event and had the pleasure to listen and learn as Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine used the Angel Tarot cards. I was hooked.

Upon receiving my copy of The BIG Book of Angel Tarot, I went out and bought my first set of tarot cards; Angel Tarot of course. They are just beautiful. The artwork is done by artist Steve A. Roberts. They are large, silver edged cards with beautiful illustrations that you just want to touch! I wanted to read the book and work with the cards at the same time.

The book is fantastic. There is so much useful information. Doreen and Radleigh have clearly poured their hearts into this. It is so beautiful to see people selflessly contribute their knowledge to others to spread more kindness, compassion, and love. I also appreciate their in-depth reflection on the history of tarot. They have taken something that was often shrouded in mystery and sometimes darkness, and brought it to light with an approach of loving, uplifting, positive cards and meanings, while still remaining true to its roots.

The book takes you through the history of tarot, the "language" including definitions of Arcana, Court Cards, Jumping Cards and more. It discusses the first 22 cards of the deck called the Major Arcana, the second part of the deck called the Minor Arcana, symbolism, archangels, angel numbers and astrology. Yes, this book is packed with valuable information!

Radleigh and Doreen show how to do a reading, and walk you through different spreads (1 card reading, 3 card, etc). The rest of the book is information, insights and explanations on the meanings of each individual card. For each card, they provide an insight to the possible meanings, the symbolism in the beautiful illustration, the angel number (each card has a number that is related to a message from the angels), and the astrological aspect of the card (Air element, Libra, Venus in Aquarius, etc) and what that means.

The book is perfect for someone new to tarot as well as someone who wants to gain so much more insight into the specific meanings of these cards. As always, Doreen and Radleigh explain everything with ease and brilliance. It was an honor to read this book and learn from these beautiful souls.

*I am blessed to receive this book free from Hayhouse for participating in the Hayhouse Book Nook program.

In Gratitude,

Kerri
www.suitablegifts.com

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 23, 2014 Ravenb28
I've been reading over this one for a while now. It's taken me a little bit longer than I expected because it is so thorough and well thought out that I needed the extra time to process each portion of this beautifully written guide. I had initially purchased the Angel Tarot cards independently. I quickly found that I needed more of a guide for the cards and so when I saw this book available for review I jumped at the chance. This book helps to clarify the card in depth providing the cards Dreamer's Journey, symbolism, Angel number, Archangel as well as the astrology related to each card. The cards are so beautifully designed with wonderful imagery. The only thing I would have liked to see is the illustrated images from each card in color in the book. Otherwise, this is an amazing guide for anyone interested in Tarot and specifically this beautiful & uplifting new creation of the Angel Tarot.

*I received a copy of this book from the HayHouse Book Nook in return for a fair and honest review*
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 21, 2014 kgrissom
*I received a copy of this book from the HayHouse Book Nook in return for a fair and honest review*

The book is fascinating and I am really taking my time going through it due to the fact that I have always owned and been interested in Tarot.

Their take on this taboo subject is amazing and a great way to bring such a taboo thing out from scary image it has acquired and not a thing to engage in, but a way to bring the true meaning of what tarot is about. I was astonished to learn that Tarot was actually created as a game meant for families to play together after dinner.

Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine give a whole new world into understanding and a new perspective to reading tarot cards. It was enlightening to read the background into the history of tarot and how it evolved throughout time and cultures.

They take you through each Major and Minor Arcana, making a clear understanding to each card. The history of tarot, the symbology, and the detailed explanation of each card, are very helpful in understanding the Hero's Journey in our life as humans, for both a beginner tarot reader as well as a more experianced one.

The cards are beautifully illustrated and reimagines the traditional Tarot imagery. The book delves deeper into the meaning of the cards. There are in-depth interpretations of the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. This book gives you the the card name and a brief general meaning, the place of the dreamer on his journey (major arcana), the symbolism for the card, the angel, the angel number, and people (for the court cards), and the numerical astrology.

As they take you on a drive through the Dreamer’s Journey cards, you will be drawn into each card, as it is filled with symbolism, Archangels, angel number, astrology, to better read what the card is telling you. I loved how they explained every card in full spiritual detail and their meanings. They even detailed the changes that were made to take out the fear of old world tarot reading.

This system of reading is a blend of traditional tarot reading and AngelTherapy, it won’t work for everyone but if you truly are sensitive to the images of traditional tarot decks or feel that tarot cards are dark and disturbing this is a great way to get the benefits of tarot without any negative associations you may have formed.

There was a definite need for this type of deck and book since it’s so popular. This book is informative-even if you already know how to read tarot you will find interesting information here. Traditional tarot doesn't include Angel Numbers and Archangles. Not only are the meanings of the cards given in the book but also the symbolism, Angel number and astrology aspect as well.

Overall Impression:

4.5* – I loved it

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 17, 2014 blessedelements
I have always been intrigued with angels and the messages and roles they play to help humans. Religious testimonies from various faiths proclaims how these angelic messengers from God have interceded and guided human beings along the correct path they are to walk.
When I think of angels I think of Doreen Virtue who has written and spoke about Arch Angles and their importance in our lives. Recently she teamed up with Radleigh Valentine on a writing venture that created The Big Book of Angel Tarot the Essential Guide to Symbols, Spreads, and Accurate Readings.

I have in the past explored tarot but I gave up as quickly as I began as it seemed the only way to read the messages from the cards was to memorize them all and ignore some of the frightening illustrations and card names.

This book is completely different and the beauty and loving nature of God and his angles come forth giving beautiful messages of encouragement, guidance and instruction.
Several of the old tarot card names have been changed to kinder names, such as, The Fool has been changed to the Dreamer which is a lot less demeaning and the Death card has been re-labeled as the Ego. No matter if you knew the correct meaning for the old deck turning up the Death or Hangman card was a little alarming. Several other cards have been changed as well to not strike fear into one’s soul if it appears in the reading.
All the Major Arcana have Arch Angels on them and the Minor Arcana have new element suit names such as water, air, earth and fire. All the illustrations are beautiful and since I am such a lover of symbolism I find this book right up my alley! Not only are the meanings of the cards given in the book but also the symbolism, Angel number and astrology aspect as well.
I found the book fascinating and was encouraged by how it dissolved so much of my past confusion and answered so many of my past questions surrounding the history and the principal of the tarot cards.

The illustrations are beautiful and they create a very calm feeling while looking over the book’s illustrations and the cards which are pictured there. The symbolism makes since to me and of course the feeling of fear and mystery has been completely taken away.

Beginners will find this book most helpful in learning more about tarot and those that already skilled using tarot will enjoy the added messages I think this cards will produce. I did go ahead and order the card set that is sold separately and really enjoy using them to learning their meanings and positive guidance in life.

I was given a copy of this book to review from Hay House in exchange for my honest opinion.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 08, 2014 Fairemagic
This book is a follow up to Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine follow-up their groundbreaking Angel Tarot Cards. This book was filled with a great detail of information for the beginner and the experienced too. I could not wait to read more and begin to play more with my Angel Tarot cards. While I always love having my tarot cards read, I never gave much understanding to what the tarot cards l had to say. With true clarity and understanding of each card and their meaning now I can give tarot cards readings to friends and family member with ease.

Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine give a whole new world to understanding and perspective to reading tarot cards. It was refreshing that they gave background into the history of tarot and how it evolved throughout time and cultures. They take you through each Major and Minor Arcana, making a clear understanding to each card. As they take you dive through the Dreamer’s Journey cards, you will be drawn into each card, as it is filled with symbolism, Archangels, angel number, astrology, to better read what the card is telling you. I loved how they explained every card in full spiritual detail and their meanings. They even detailed the changes that were made to take out the fear of old world tarot readings.

I personally loved the sample spreads giving for another alternative to the standard card reading spread and its purpose. They guide you through each reading with ease of every card positions, making perfect use of tarot in your every day life. Two Thumbs Up to Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine for writing The Big Book Of Angel Tarot: The Essential Guide To Symbols, Spreads, and Accurate Reading. They left out no detail in understanding Angel Tarot Cards.

Before your half way through reading you will want to have practice time. Before you know it you will be hearing what the angels are telling you.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 06, 2014 thebalancediet
I’ve mentioned in previous posts that spirituality and angels are of great interest to me. One of the easiest, and most profound ways that I’ve learned to successfully communicate with my angels is through the use of Angel Cards. For those who don’t know, Angel Cards a form of tarot card that presents its messages in a positive and light-filled format. They’re right up my alley as someone who’s always been interested in tarot, but too afraid to dabble in the traditional (and often doom and gloom) format.

But here’s the thing. They can be confusing as heck. Between the symbolism in the photos, the sometimes cryptic messages on the cards themselves, and all of the different angels who represent different things it’s easy to find yourself scratching your head and not feeling in touch with your spirituality.

There is, however, a solution. Doreen Virtue (Angel Card master) and Radleigh Valentine’s latest book The Big Book of Angel Tarot is the perfect companion to their Angel Tarot Card Deck. Not only does it give a brief run down of the history of tarot, it teaches you how to design your own card spreads, and even offers a few for you to find answers to love and career queries.

I can’t say enough about how much this book has helped my understanding of my Angel Card Readings. The bulk of the book is detailed explanations of each card, which has helped find greater insights about cards I draw that don’t seem to match up to my question at first glance. Additionally, the book is written in Doreen’s calm and easy prose that draws you in, gives you the information you’re looking for, but doesn’t leave you more confused than when you started. The only thing I did not like about this book was that the pictures of the cards are in black and white, Doreen and Radleigh put such an emphasis on the details of each card that it would have been nice to have them be in color so that I wasn’t constantly going back and forth between the card and my book to see what they were talking about.

If you’re interested in dabbling in Angel Cards, I highly recommend this book (and deck) to help you get more in touch with your angels and yourself.

I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for a review.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 31, 2014 KariF
I have owned the Angel Tarot Cards by Doreen Virtue & Radleigh Valentine for quite a while. I bought them last year some time and they have been my only tarot deck. While the deck does come with a small book that explains each card, gives additional meanings, and gives some spreads to try, it is nowhere as extensive as The Big Book of Angel Tarot!

Before I saw this book, I was hoping that one would come out. And just before I left for vacation (where I wanted to sit down and really study my cards) this book did come out!

I use Biddy Tarot to help me gain a better understanding of tarot in general, but the cards in regular decks are not named the same as the Angel Tarot Cards, so it can take a few minutes for a beginner to figure out which card is related.

While the Major Arcana is pretty much the same and easy to figure out, the Minor Arcana is not. The angel deck doesn’t haven’t wands or swords but takes a different approach of fire, water, air, and earth. So it’s nice to have a book that is easy to navigate specifically for the angel deck.

I love that I can look up a card in the book, get a detailed description about what it means and symbolizes.

Even better, because I am into numerology, I love that each card has an angel number explanation as well. I think it adds to the reading when trying to figure out how a certain card plays into the reading.

So basically, each section or card description in the Minor Arcana goes like this:

Explanation
Symbolism
Angel number
Astrology
In the Major Arcana, it is pretty much the name but there is a section on the archangel and a section on the dreamer’s journey in each card description.

I liked the section on spreads. I use the three card spread or the Celtic Cross because that’s what I first learned; however, I am now excited to try out some new spreads of my own creation thanks to this book.

All in all, if you use the Angel Tarot Cards, then the The Big Book of Angel Tarot will complement those cards. I find the book very valuable to understand the cards better and give more accurate readings. Highly recommend it!

Note: I received this book from Hay House to review as a part of the Book Nook blogger program. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 29, 2014 Mystic812

The Big Book of Angel Tarot by Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine is a follow up to Doreen's Angel Tarot Cards. As with any of Doreen Virtue's card decks, there is a small book included with deck, which has explanations of every card and directions on use. The Big Book of Angel Tarot is an excellent companion to the deck, providing much more in depth information. The book covers the Major Arcana cards first, then the Minor Arcana cards.

Every card in the deck first has a general summary, then there are smaller headings listed below. The Major Arcana chapter is the same as the Minor Arcana, except for The Dreamer's Journey, which is a summary of where a person is in their life right now. The other sections are titled Symbolism, Angel Number and Astrology. The Symbolism section breaks down the details of the card by taking a look at the photo itself and explaining the meanings behind them. The Angel Number section describes how a particular archangel relates to a certain card, and has a numerology interpretation to the number assigned to that particular card. The Astrology section basically explains what zodiac signs, and/or planets are related to each card and the meaning behind it.

The book clearly explains how to use your cards and there are examples of several types of card spreads you can use and for what purpose. What I like most about this book is that it makes your card deck very easy to use and the messages are positive. According to the book, this is not just a watered down version of traditional tarot cards, and that is definitely true. The book explains the changes that were made from the original tarot, but the meanings were not changed, just presented differently. This deck is very positive, and the readings are very accurate. I also like the brief history on the beginnings of tarot cards in general.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 26, 2014 awatson
The Big Book of Angel Tarot, by co-authors, Doreen Virtue and Radleigh Valentine, is the perfect complement to their beautifully illustrated Angel Tarot card deck.

Prior to receiving this book for review from Hay House Publishing, I’d purchased the 78-card deck with zero knowledge about tarot. To my delight I found that the wording and images did not induce fear, and the detailed descriptions within the pages of the accompanying guidebook assisted me in gaining a basic understanding of tarot. But after listening to Radleigh Valentine’s radio show, where each week he discusses the mysteries, mythologies and symbolism of a particular card from the deck, I wanted to know more than just the basics—especially when it came to understanding the different spreads.

The book details the rich history of tarot and its language, while taking the reader down the path of “The Dreamer’s Journey,” which represents the Major Arcana. In addition to providing thorough explanations of each of the pip and court cards in all four suits of the Minor Arcana, the symbolism in the artwork on the cards is explored, as well as the astrological and angelic connections to each card in the deck—to name just some of what’s covered in this aptly named “big book.”

I’m so grateful to the authors for taking the time to create a book that utilizes their extensive knowledge of the subject and their combined years of experience, giving the seasoned tarot card reader and novice alike, a roadmap for conducting accurate and empowering tarot card readings for themselves and others.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 04, 2014 LisaAlaiana
The Big Book of Angel Tarot is dedicated to the beloved Certified Angel Card Reader family and I appreciate that as I am one of them. I found this book to be a recap of the course that I did take to become a certified angel card reader so if there are others out there you will want to have a copy of this book on hand. The Big Book of Angel Tarot goes hand in hand with the Angel Tarot cards.

In The Big Book of Angel Tarot, best-selling authors Doreen Virtue andRadleigh Valentine follow-up their groundbreaking Angel Tarot Cards with the definitive guide to the mystical art of tarot. Here is a short introduction as to how the Angel Tarot cards came to be.
For decades, we have been fascinated with tarot. Long before we even knew one another, we’d been using this ancient divi- natory tool to get accurate and reliable answers for our clients. Independently of one another, we were both blending our com- munication with angels and the wisdom of tarot to provide heal- ing and insight to others. And while we both loved this amazing oracle, we were also uncomfortable with the traditional imagery. We were frustrated when our dear clients became worried by what they saw on the cards. So we made the decision to place phrases and guidewords on each card so that they could be used immediately out of the box without the need for study or research. We believe that God and the angels are always trying to guide us toward joy. Since tarot is merely a language for speaking to Heaven, every card in tarot is a message of love and is leading us to happiness. No matter what card we draw, it will always be love. It can’t be anything other than love, because the Divine only wants us to be happy, and tarot is the Divine speaking to us.
Our desire in creating the Angel Tarot Cards was to help you feel the love, compassion, and hope that tarot can bring into your life. We wanted to bring this centuries-old magical art out of the shadows and into the full view of Divine light!
Finally, it is our greatest desire that these cards will bring you immense blessings as you move along your spiritual path. We hope that you can now see tarot as it has always appeared to us: an angelic map leading the way to a joyous life. Love, Doreen and Radleigh

The Big Book of Angel Tarot is packed full of good information regarding Tarot, the old and the new. Doreen and Radleigh help one to understand the background of Tarot and how it came to be as well offering additional insight into each and every suit, number and element involving the cards. If you have been thinking of delving into the world of card reading this book makes it easy to understand. As I mentioned before, the book goes hand in hand with the Angel Tarot cards and is best used with them versus another type of deck, however the information about the suites, numbers, astrology, spreads and how to do readings can help one understand and do card readings with any deck of angel tarot cards.
If you would like to order your own copy of The Big Book of Angel Tarot visit your favorite bookstore or any of the on-line retailers below

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews