Book Reviews

The Power of No

James Altucher, Claudia Azula Altucher

Self Improvement, Empowerment

978-1-4019-4587-9

How many times have you heard yourself saying yes to the wrong things-overwhelming requests, bad relationships, time-consuming obligations? How often have you wished you could summon the power to turn... More

Nov 17, 2014 ginadrellack
This book is Basic Training for fully realizing our right to health, happiness, and abundance. The Power of No, by James Altucher and Claudia Azula Altucher is a flowing read that simultaneously gives permission to and reminds readers that choosing yourself is not at others' expense.

Every No is actually a Yes: saying no to what does not serve you says yes to your physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual health.  This in turn supports your core personal power, which you are then able to unleash on the world for its betterment.  Just by existing.

In an unnamed comparison to the chakras, the chapters are arranged in seven levels of No: from very whole energies of protecting our bodies and lives, to subtle energies cultivating love and compassion, to uppermost wisdom coming from authenticity.  Each chapter includes the voices of each author as well as exercises to healthfully strengthen our No muscle.

Anyone who breathes will benefit from reading this book--especially naturally giving breathers.  But, you are indeed free to say No.

This book was given to me by Hay House in exchange for my thoughts after reading it, as part of their Book No-ok blogger program.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 04, 2014 rschechter
I first heard James Altucher when he was a guest on Cheryl Richardson’s radio show. After listening to him for just a few minutes, it did not take long to understand that his brand of advice is authentic, quirky and non-traditional. In other words, highly appealing, because Altucher doesn’t look to tow the line and doesn’t encourage others to either. For this reason, I selected his second book (co-written with his wife), The Power of No, to be my next Hay House read.

The message of this book is very simple: start saying no to things in your life that drain you of power, time, energy, resources and your dreams. The Altucher’s provide various examples of things that can drain all of us: thoughts, people, jobs, extracurricular activities, other people’s expectations for our lives, etc…In learning to say no to those things that we do not feel adequately nourish us, we make space for the things that do matter and add value to our days.

After reading this book, I decided to start limiting the amount of time I spend on social media (Facebook and Instragram) and on celebrity gossip websites. I haven’t given up these things completely, but spend vastly less amount of time on them and consequently now have more time to watch a great scripted television, read a great book or have a telephone conversation with a friend.

If you are looking for a way to create more space in your life to do the things you really enjoy, and with more energy, this book is for you.

*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

Links:

http://www.jamesaltucher.com/
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 28, 2014 timlarison
I was looking at my calendar the other day. I saw more black ink, a measure of all the appointments I had, than the calendar’s white background. “Am I over committing myself?” I wondered. Then James Altucher’s and Claudia Azula Altucher’s book came along – The Power of No: Because One Little Word Can Bring Health, Abundance, and Happiness. “This book is for me!” I thought.

I liked the Altuchers conversational style in The Power of No. Full of examples from their own lives, it’s an easy read. “The Power of No has helped us, the authors, literally survive,” they write in the first few pages. “With it, we have freed ourselves from the society, institutions, friends, loves, colleagues, bosses, and belief systems that have tried to build a cage around us. Those that have tried and still try to control us.” Through their stories we learn how the Altuchers evolved to use more “no’s” in their lives, and that encourages the reader to use this potent little word more, too.

Each chapter has an exercise where the reader can apply the principles the authors teach. One that I found effective was WHO IS YOUR INNER CIRCLE? “List all of the primary people in your life: family, friends, co-workers, neighbors. Anyone you engage with more than five times a week,” the Altuchers write. “Rate on a scale of 1 to 10 how you feel after your interactions with that person, 10 being the best. Anyone lower than an 8, begin to pull back from. Lower than a 5, stay a little farther away from … This doesn’t mean being selfish and avoiding people who need your help … This is a dimmer switch, not an on-and-off switch. It is a tool for being discriminating so you can bring your brightest creativity forward.”

This exercise led me to reevaluate my relationships, and, yes, I did pull back from some. I think it’ll do the same for you. Other exercises in the book are equally powerful.

“Being clear about which relationships and which people we let into our lives is the key to access our creative force,” the authors write. As a result of reading The Power of No I’m seeing more white space in my calendar these days, as I am saying “No” to requests more often. And feeling OK about each one.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 10, 2014 thebalancediet

“No.” Is one tiny word that has a huge impact for everyone in every walk of life. In their book, The Power of No, James Altucher and Claudia Azula Altucher help readers to see how such a seemingly negative word can bring an abundance of positivity to your life. The book is broken down into James and Claudia’s seven levels of no and subsequent exercises that help you learn to master them so that you too can say no to the negative and yes to abundance in all facets of your life.

The title of this book is what drew me in. As a wife and a mother I find myself bending over backwards a ton for people. Whether it be for my daughter, my husband, my parents, or my in-laws…I find myself sacrificing what I want and need all too often for the “better,” of others. What this book helped me realize is that while yes, I was doing good for others, I was not doing good for myself. It was a never-ending cycle of putting myself on hold and not being true to me.

Yes, I still make allowances for people, but I’ve learned that it’s important not to do it at the expense of myself.

I really enjoyed this book, but felt while it made a lot of amazing points….it was too choppy in nature. I almost wish it would have had less information to cover, but expounded more on less. Nevertheless, I learned that in saying, “No,” more I was actually saying, “Yes,” to owning my truth and my power….and that’s a pretty wonderful thing.
What are your thoughts on saying, “No?”
All my love,
Jaclyn
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 30, 2014 Jeff Dodson
The Power of No. This is a book about taking back control of your life. A substantial number of us have spent most of our lives subconsciously or otherwise giving up our power to others around us much to our own detriment. Taking back control of your life is another means of gaining back your personal power. James and Claudia Altucher have written this book to serve as a blueprint for reclaiming that power of ours back. All with the selective and judicious use of the simple word, no.

James and Claudia share with us their ideas on the application and use of No through seven chapters. Highlights of each chapter are shared here.

Chapter One: The No That Choses Life
Devoted to learning how to say no to stress, to taking your own life, your emotional life, to avoid disease, learning how to navigate away from negative chatter, and how to pick yourself up from rock bottom. James shares his own compelling story of plummeting from lofty financial heights to rock bottom and the aftermath.

Chapter Two: The No That Brings True Love, Creativity and Abundance
I loved the quote from the Altucher’s in this chapter which is: “ If we have crappy people around, we have a crappy life.” With this quote in mind, a second quote carries the though further: “Reconsider who you call your friends, lovers and partners. You could be surprised. Because if you don’t say no to crappy people, your life will go down the drain.”

Chapter Three: The No to Phony Storytelling
One topic taken up in this chapter speaks to the danger of allowing others to make our choices for us who themselves are unhappy about many things in their own lives.

Other topics are saying no to being a slave for others, plotting your escape from the 9 to 5 world, and, finally, taking steps to getting healthy, getting well, getting inspired, and getting knowledgable.

The Altuchers inform us that complaining is draining. By disciplining yourself to eliminate complaining (if that is what you are prone to do) from your daily behavior. With regard to complaining, this is what they had to say: “Complaining sucks the air out of any new possibilities that may appear in the present moment; it drags things down into a depressive mode and leaves us drained.”

Thought attacks: The average person experiences up to 70,000 thoughts a day.
Learn how to say No to social pressure. That social pressure is countered with what the authors call ABC. Acknowledge, Boundary, Close. This is a means of politely but firmly shutting down those who are trying to overload you or who make unreasonable demands upon you and your time.

A no to abusive people primarily means avoiding them altogether, or, removing yourself from their spheres of influence.

Chapter Four: The No to the Angers of the Past
No’s listed here include the following examples.

The application of a compassionate no. The example given here would be like the Highway Patrol officer at the scene of a horrific accident who gently but firmly prevents a mother from approaching the crushed vehicles and witnessing the mangled remains of a husband, a son or a daughter. Compassionately preventing another from witnessing an unspeakable horror.

No to mindless selfishness. Consider treating everyone else as if it’s their last day.

Saying no to lies; to the costume ball masks of life that we all learn to select and put on from childhood onward. Look outward for others that are true to themselves on the inside. Just like you are evolving to be. These are the kinds of folks that may well be . your new tribe.

Chapter Five: The No to Scarcity
In order to counter scarcity one must take up the belief in abundance. Believe in it first and then it will come.

Getting unstuck. Here the Altuchers offer a nine step guide to getting unstuck by turning the flywheel of forward progress.

Practice the art of listening to others with an open heart. All people are drawn to those who are good patient listeners.

Chapter Six: The No to Noise
The opening quote to this chapter is a great one. “You have the right to silence and be fully present, here and now.”

Identify the noise and distractions in your life and set out to minimize or eliminate them.
Consider adding Yoga to your regimen to help you focus and become grounded. This is Claudia Altucher’s area of expertise.

Chapter Seven: The No to “Me”

We are not our thoughts (refer back to the thought attacks in Chapter Three).
The benefits of cultivating silence are: trust, value, time saved, mystique, observation, more brain energy, less web to untangle, and, less stress.

I enjoyed reading this book because the solutions and exercises offered within are imaginative, make sense and liberally laced with humor and wit. The Power of No is real world grounded with personal, shared stories of failures as well as successes that the duo author couple have lived through. The Power of No is clever, candid and what is presented within is all doable!

The Web page for James Altucher are: www.jamesaltucher.com (The Altucher Confidential). Web pages for Claudia Azula Altucher are: www.claudiayoga.com and www.earthyogi.blogspot.com


Jeff Dodson
September 30th 2014

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are unbiased and reflect my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 28, 2014 Debbie Woodbury
“The big question is whether you are going to be able to say a hearty yes to your adventure.” Joseph Campbell

If you've been reading WhereWeGoNow for any length of time, you know that cancer's kick in the rear taught me to say "Yes" to my adventure. In fact, "Say Yes to Yourself" is one of the 10 simple secrets to creating inspired healing, wellness and your joyous life after cancer that I wrote about in How to Build an Amazing Life After Treatment.

So what do I think about a book that celebrates The Power of No:Because One Little Word Can Bring Health, Abundance, and Happiness?

I found it deeply spiritual and, ultimately, about the power of bringing "a blissful Yes into your life, one that opens the door to opportunities, abundance, and love."

Written by James and Claudia Azula Altucher, The Power of No makes clear that the ability to say No to what isn't working is the only way to make room in your life for what does work. Accordingly, the writers explore the power of saying No to self-destructive behavior (physical and emotional,) stress, mindless chatter, angers of the past, self-sabotage, being stuck, phony storytelling, scarcity, "bad luck" and people you know aren't good for you.

The conversational style of the book (James and Claudia take turns sharing personal anecdotes) teaches by example. These are people who have been in the trenches with stories to tell. They've made big mistakes in business and love and have found themselves "on the floor." After decades of struggle, each of the authors discovered the power of No and connected with a life of greater health, abundance and happiness.

I recommend this book to anyone going through a life transition or healing journey. We all get stuck sometimes and it always helps to connect with others who have been where you are now. It also helps that each chapter offers concrete exercises to guide the reader to sit, reflect and do the work necessary to unleash the power of No and ultimately find your Yes.

Survival > Existence,

Debbie

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 11, 2014 ClorisKylie
Have you ever found the message in a book so compelling that you want to reread it immediately after you finish it?
That’s what happened to me when I read “The Power of No” by James and Claudia Altucher.
“Saying no” usually makes us think of what we don’t want in life. However, saying no to toxic environments and people also means saying yes to the abundance that is our birthright.
There are seven facets of “No” explored in this book:
The NO that chooses life
Sometimes we adopt behaviors and attitudes that threaten our physical wellbeing and can even shorten our lifespan.
James Altucher shares a daily practice that helped him overcome a depression so severe that he considered suicide. This practice was simple but powerful: He met the needs of his body and stayed away from negativity (from internal and external sources).
“Every time I’ve lost money and love, it’s because I squandered my physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual health,” James writes. “Now, every day without fail, I do the Daily Practice to exercise the basic muscles of a healthy life. And it’s worked. I hope. I pray I don’t squander it again.”
What harmful habit will you quit?
The NO that brings true love, creativity, and abundance
Many of us spend a big chunk of our days with people who aren’t good for us. We suffer and hope they change, or think that something is wrong with us. Let’s say no to these people and associate with those who uplift us and bring out the best in us.
My favorite exercise in this chapter includes listing the people we engage with more than five times a week. Then, we rate on a scale of 1 to 10 how we feel after our interactions with each person, 10 being the best. Lower than an 8? That’s when we know we need to pull back from the person.
Who will you choose to spend your time with?
The NO to phony storytelling
This is about rejecting mind programs that limit our happiness.
These programs may come from the rules of society or from our upbringing. But no matter the source, saying no to what isn’t true to us will allow us to say yes to freedom.
As the authors say, “The Power of No is the power of discernment. With spiritual skepticism we develop the discernment to know which rules to say yes to, which rules to say no to, and which rules need to be completely rewritten to save the universe.”
What external expectation or rule will you eliminate from your life?
The NO to the angers of the past
This is a higher level of “No,” where we move into self-actualization. Saying no to the angers of the past means breaking from emotions than anchor us to the way things were, the way we used to be, the way we think life should be, and the way others mistreated us.
The authors recommend noticing the things we tend to passionately dislike in others to get in touch with our real selves. Why? Because these traits might live in us too.
For me, they key is to develop self-awareness.
What grudge will you choose to let go?
The NO to scarcity
Here we learn to shift our perception from lack to abundance. The process starts by paying attention to the blessings that already exist in our life.
If we continue focusing on what we don’t have, how can we feel abundant?
If we don’t feel abundant, we won’t see the opportunities right before our eyes.
What will you choose to appreciate today?
The NO to noise
Saying no to noise isn’t just about being in silence or meditating. It’s about saying no to news that scares us, gossip, and thoughts of worry, regret, or anger.
How do we do this? By changing the conversation.
In my case, I don’t invest my time watching shows or reading stories about how awful the world is. I shut down the negative noise. As a result, most of the time I live in a welcoming (not a hostile) world.
What toxic noise will you eliminate?
The NO to “me”
This means surrendering. Surrendering to whom? To the higher part of us; the part that is ready to say no.
When you say no to your ego, you say yes to you.
What part of your false self needs to go? How will you allow your true self to come through today?
The message is clear: it’s time to say no to sickness, negative environments, low-energy emotions, abuse, and scarcity.
It’s time to say yes to you.
FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 01, 2014 ohsarahjoy
I’ve always been a bit of a pushover. Often I’d find myself agreeing to things I didn’t want to do, didn’t have time to do, or because I was afraid the person who was asking for the favor would not like me if I said no. I’ve changed in many ways and I am much more confident and okay with telling people no, yet, sometimes I feel I still struggle with this.

I was excited to read The Power of No: Because One Little Word Can Bring Health, Abundance, and Happiness by James Altucher and his wife, Claudia Azula Altucher. I am always looking for ways to change and shape myself for the better.

Unfortunately I was a bit disappointed with this book. While I can see how it can be a helpful book, perhaps its audience is those who are at a very different point in their life than me.

The book is told in a conversational format with certain chapters and sections switching between John and Claudia. It’s a mix of personal stories, general advice, and what has worked for them. Along with this are exercises at the end of most of the chapters.

While I’ve always approached books that are “self-help” in general with the attitude of taking what worked for me and leaving the rest, I found myself leaving..quite a bit of the book behind. It was unfortunate that this book did not resonate with me as it has with so other people. Perhaps I am just at a different point in my life where I don’t need a book such as this one to guide me.

I believe their personal stories that comprise much of the book could be good anecdotal advice and I do think that if you were extremely shy, not confident, or just extremely afraid of life this book could be a good starting point if you need outside validation that it is in fact okay to say “no” to things that drain your life.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 29, 2014 ksaunders

Is it possible that saying No can be spiritual? It's a great question and The Power of No is a book that everyone should read. Especially those enlightened beings who say yes with that cool as cucumber cherub smile, then end up regretting their decision. Even more so if those yes's create chaos in your life. The co-author of the Power Of No, James Altucher says we should all read this book "because one little word can bring health, abundance, and happiness. Written with his wife Claudia Azula Altucher, The Power of No is a compilation of some of their individual and collective life stories. In the book they share how setting boundaries and simply saying the word No helped them. The Power Of No is spiritually entertaining as they reveal how they overcame boundaries by saying no, for "each no eliminates a cage". No angel should be caged. Have you considered spiritual boundaries lately?

The book begins with "Your No Bill of Rights".(pg 14) Each "right" describes just how empowering and relatively "painful" it might be to just say no. Fact is it can painful to say no, especially if you tend to be of the "yes" persuasion, "a naturally giving person". One of the No Bill of Rights is the "right" to choose what stories you believe in.
The authors give simple techniques on how to say No effectively and begin to honor your true authentic self. Speaking of authenticity there is a chapter on storytelling. Was there any time you bought into another persons interpretation of how your life should be lived, usually according to their story? Perhaps in the past you've said yes to doing something only to regret it later or at the precise moment the agreement left your lips. smh, Now what do you do? According to the authors it is ok to change your mind. Changing you mind can be the best thing you have ever done. For example engaging in activities with folks that drain you. Maybe a family member, co-worker or friend. It may be difficult to say No as most people equate saying No with some type of rejection. This book can help you change that perception. Saying No is a good thing.

Another one of the "No Bill of Rights" is the right to take your time. sighs. Thanks for the reminder. Why hurry? Have you ever been rushed into making a decision about something that isn't urgent but you are pushed to commit ASAP or PRONTO? The Power Of No reminds you to slow down and rather than react on auto pilot to people, situations and circumstances in our life take some time to evaluate the best answer. The Power Of No may surprise you, it surprised me. This book describes seven(7) levels of No and how using them can be powerful.
Warning this book is REAL! A real good read with real stories and real practical tips that can be life changing.

From the authors: What we show in this book is that No comes from a deep core inside. A spiritual core. One that allows you to tap into power you might not have known you had.
I'm all about tapping into my spiritual core and connecting that power source. So I put the techniques to task. There is someone I've known for years that is always asking for something, a favor, an errand, work etc with the promise of future pay. I once rode around several counties spending days meeting and talking with realtors in the anticipation of the promise of being compensated for my time and efforts at a future date. It was always tomorrow. While tomorrow came my money never did. I always seemed to agree to doing things for this person that take my time and cost me money. We hadn't spoken in awhile since the last time I fully expressed my displeasure with this behavior. Well, It is written when the student is ready the teacher will appear. Like clockwork that evening while reading the chapter on boundaries I got a text asking for a favor. I text back....ok. ugh.. Then came the promise. breathe! All the emotions and pain of feeling used and disrespected came flooding back. I felt it in my core. I mindfully sat with the decision. I read the book some more. I woke up around 3am and decided it was time take my power back. The Power of No. Later that day I text the person, I changed my mind. They did not reply and as hours passed I realized this was the pattern. Eventually I was able to say No. It was uncomfortable but in the long run it will be worth it. What a lesson! According to the book, When our No's are not in place, we are vulnerable to abuse(pg.43). Since reading this book I have become much more aware of the Power Of No and the abuses of yes.

This is a great book filled with wonderful lessons and real life examples of just how enlightening saying no can be. Yes! saying no can be a spiritual experience. The Power of No is available on Amazon, at Barnes & Noble Hay House and Indigo

Please note I was given a copy of this book to review by Hay House with my unbiased opinion.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 26, 2014 alpha_andy_omega
There is an admirable level of honesty the authors bring to this book. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is suffering from depression or high levels of stress. A caregiver type of person, who is always taking on more and more responsibility without taking care of themselves would also greatly benefit from reading The Power of No. Besides the lessons from author's personal experience, this book offers many powerful insights and several helpful tools for quieting the mind and getting to what is really important to you and your goals in life. Ultimately The Power of No, is not really about the things you say "no" to, but rather about defining what you're allowing and giving up trying to control (and obsess over) the things that are out of your control. The Power of No is a great read, and I take offense to the amazon reviewers who gave it a negative review without bothering to read the whole book. I was given a free review copy of this book by Hay House Publishing, I was not financially compensated in any way, and the opinions expressed herein are my own personal opinions which I reached after reading the entire book, like a responsible reviewer.





+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 20, 2014 BookLover
The Power of No: Because one Little Word can bring Health, Abundance, and Happiness by James Altucher and Claudia Azula Altucher is a great book on how to stop saying yes to all the wrong things and start saying no to everything from scarcity to yourself.

We are taught to say yes to ourselves and learn to use the power of no. This book contains a wonderful, “No Bill of Rights”. It is broken up into seven sections that show us how to use the power of no. One of my favorite sections is entitled “Saying Yes to Your New Power.” There is much to be gleaned from this book and much wisdom to be found within.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to bring the power of no into their life. This book is powerful and will help you say no to the things you need to. The exercises in this book are wonderful and will help bring the power of no into your everyday life.

I acknowledge that I received this book free of charge from Hay House in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of it.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 16, 2014 stephaniesherie
I am a mama bear who is passionate about food and children. I reached a big “no” in my life this fall. My son started Kindergarten, and I was all set with his shiny new planet box (www.planetbox.com) and cool kid recipes. To my disappointment, the school required a medical excuse or we would be forced to comply with their school lunch program.

My body went into a frenzy. I knew my son would become sick eating the school food. I knew I had come too far in our family’s quest for health. What began as a way of eating because of legitimate health concerns became a passion. Because of wisdom about PCRM, GMO foods, organic quality, and the killing of animals to eat their flesh three times per day, I felt very oppressed by the requirement to move backwards because of a rule. I believe what my family eats on a daily basis contributes to health and vitality.

I drove to the doctor’s office with a medical release form in hand. I was so afraid, shaking in fear that, even with our health issues, we would not have freedom from this plan. I thought of other children forced to eat in a way that does not honor health. I wondered if other parents were frustrated like me. Did they fight or relent and give in?

My son asked me why were at the Dr.’s office, and I said, “Because I am fighting for something I believe in.” I am fighting for this even if I look like a wacko, tree hugging, liberal, crazy parent. I took a blank piece of paper and wrote until the pen stopped. I listed every reason- some legit, and some because of my personal convictions, why this was important. The Dr. explained my son’s medical concerns, and we were granted freedom from the school plan.

It is no accident that during these couple of days I was reading The Power of No: There is a chapter called When to Say No to the Rules. When the rules take us away from living our truth that is right of us, we subscribe to black and white universe. We assume another’s truth is more valuable than our own. We all deserve to have our voices heard.

“The power of no is the power of discernment. Because if you don’t make your rules, someone else will.”

I made a conscious effort to focus on this challenge as a lesson in growth, standing up for what I believe in, and setting an example for my son. Asserting myself was confirmed in my favorite chapter called The No To Noise:

“From the silence we move towards a higher frequency life, one that we live as if it were a prayer. We lead lives that teach by example that show instead of tell. Lives that add instead of detract.”

May my actions show instead of tell.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 12, 2014 Jeanieber

One of the smallest of words, when used correctly is one of the most powerful in a happy, healthy life. I really liked this book not only because it came into my life at the perfect time when I had some major life changes in front of me, because it was a time in my life when I was open and really needed to say no to relationships, people and things that no longer , or never did suit me. It is a book perhaps I should have read a long time ago. I highlighted this book like crazy, and not so much for the stories, but the exercises. The chapters are written in the person by each author, and though many of the stories did not appeal to me in my life right now, I did appreciate the exercises and that is where I was able to get what was intended by the authors with the presentation of the book. The book starts with the 7 No bill of rights. The authors could have stopped right there, they are so appropriate but they continued on to a pretty thorough study of NO. I recommend this book to anyone who is caught up even just a little in a life that needs to be more free of the agendas of others and who wants or needs to be more authentic.

I received this book from Hay House and the opinions are my own.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 08, 2014 myusouf
This book immediately caught my attention. The title made me think of my own decision to choose "No" to maintain my authentic self.Power of no So I had an idea or so I thought of what I was in store for. The power of No, Because One Little Word Can Bring Health, Abundance and Happiness, is simply stated yet profoundly spiritual. James Altucher and Claudia Azula Altucher discuss many of the principles that Eckert Tolle teaches in The Power of Now.

Still the couples captivate you with their unique story-telling style. James and Claudia each share deeply personal stories of loves lost and loves imagined. Some of the stories make us cry and others make us laugh, but they all cause us to feel. The authors describe their failures and successes with a rare and honest rawness. Their truth is bold and refreshing. The authenticity of the authors rips through the pages.

Throughout the book we are beaconed to question our fear and resist giving up. Fear we are told is not enough to sustain a relationship that hurts us or cause us to hurt others. We must question our fear and choose to fight for love and for peace. James reminds us that we will find love again and life will go on. We are encouraged to create, to dream, and to be.

Claudia and James offer us exercises that guide us in living in now. The wisdom that overlays the book is that we must take care of ourselves. We must maintain our physical, emotional, mental and Spiritual health. James acknowledges that when he practices these principles he makes good decisions and when he abandoned them he made costly mistakes. Claudia allows us the freedom to sit and be quiet with ourselves which allows our mind to recover from all of the world’s noise.

Like many books on healing this book will make your thinking shift. You may cry as you acknowledge activities, people, or things that no longer bring you joy but cause you pain. Whether you choose to act on these feeling is your choice but thoughts planted after reading this book will certainly deepen your journey. This is one of those rare books that forever changes your views and gifts you with a second chance to get living right. This books call us to choose our Ultimate " Yes" by learning to say NO.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is on a healing journey or is feeling stuck in his or her life. This book is the perfect anecdote to heal your spirit and to start living again.

Have you read this book? Do you agree or disagree with my review? Write me and lets start a conversation on the Power of No.

Wishing You Peace and Joy,

Melisa Alaba

Melisa Alaba is the Author of Live Out Loud, 52 Ways to Reawaken Your Spirit and Live a Life of Purpose. Melisa can be found walking on a trail or sampling chocolate along the coast. You can connect with her on-line via her social media outlets or join her in one of her many classes on her website www.melisaalaba.com

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews