Book Reviews

Wishes Fulfilled

Wayne W. Dyer

Affirmations, Self Improvement, Empowerment, Inspirational, Spirituality

978-1-4019-3727-0

This book is dedicated to your mastery of the art of realizing all your desires. The greatest gift you have been given is the gift of your imagination. Everything that now exists was once imagined. An... More

Dec 17, 2012 frankvancouver
In "Wishes Fulfilled", Dr. Dyer investigates the foundations of our real self. It is not a self associated with form, but the self in which all forms arise.

By reeducating our subconscious, we align our daily life with our highest calling. Wayne W. Dyer provides his own experience, readings and letters from readers to show us that miracles do happen. And their source is much closer to us than we think.

An important and inspiring reading, where awareness of our real nature manifests what we really care about. Not as an external event, but within its own nature.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review purposes.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Nov 03, 2012 Robinstudio
Recently, I read Wishes Fulfilled by Wayne Dyer. I've read many of his books, as well as other Hay House inspirational authors. However, this one impacted me more strongly than others. It's his latest book which focuses on creating the life you want to live, the life of your dreams.

There are countless authors writing about manifestation and reaching goals. Many have series of steps to follow or indirect advice. Wishes Fulfilled stands out with a simple, yet powerful underlying spiritual message, "I AM (everything I want)." You are already there. Embrace it wholeheartedly. You are connected to it, and to the divine. It isn't outside of you or far away. Everything is possible with this understanding including healings, life goals, money.... I felt an Aha! moment after reading the first few chapters. I didn't get lost in lots of steps or vague messages to sort out.

I felt a strong message of love from this book, which struck me deeply. My favorite quote from this book is "When you realize your own magnificence, you will only attract magnificence in your life." (Ch 5, pg 93). So often we doubt ourselves or discount our abilities, but faith and love are simply what we need to make it happen. Wayne Dyer writes about faith and spirituality in a way that respects all traditions and beliefs. I think this unity consciousness is one of his greatest merits as an author/speaker.

Overall, I think the heart of this book was more compelling than the stories in the beginning or life experience examples near the ending. There are many insights in this book that I learned before in other books and understood intellectually, but a piece of the puzzle was still missing for me. In this book I found that piece, and I feel it in my heart. It is a book I will come back to again and again!

FTC Disclosure: I have received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product. If you'd like information on becoming a Hay House reviewer, visit www.hayhousebooknook.com
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 16, 2012 Monica Polinsky
I used to have a friend that once worked in a metaphysical bookstore. She often told customers “all of these books say the same thing, just pick the one that speaks to you”. Much has been said about Wayne Dyer’s recent book Wishes Fulfilled and how it is nothing more than a rehash of his earlier works or the works of others. I both agree and disagree!

There is nothing new about New Age teachings. You can call it by whatever name you wish; New Age, Metaphysical, Enlightened Teachings etc, but what it boils down to is these concepts transcend time. They have been taught, rehashed and reinvigorated by thousands of teachers throughout the history of mankind. When something rings of truth it stands the test of time. The key to understanding these concepts is reading or hearing a translation that speaks to you.

I have studied New Age teachings for many, many years. I have read repeatedly the same concepts of manifestation but each different text presents the material using different words and order. There is almost always something “new” in the way an idea is presented that clicks with me. I can even read the same book repeatedly over the years, garnering a different and deeper understanding each time. My life is changing, I am changing and my understanding of God and this world we inhabit currently is changing.

Having said that, yes Dr. Dyer re-represents material he has covered in other books and covered by other authors and mystics. But I have not read these exact words written before, especially in regard to the I Am Presence. The I Am Presence is sometimes a difficult concept for those raised in the traditional Christian teachings to embrace. I have heard many people claim it makes them feel bad and they worry that God will punish them for having such grandiose thoughts.

This is OK, we do not all agree and we each come to the reading with a different understanding and a different set of beliefs that formulate who we are. However I believe the teachings of the I Am Presence and concept that we are manifestations of God and we are here as an expression of God rings true with my soul. God is living through us, as us. Just as a bucket of ocean water is not The ocean it is still ocean water with the same properties, consistency and makeup.

In Wishes Fulfilled, Dyer expands on the I Am concept and its role in manifestation, laying the foundations for creating in a way that is fulfilling and connected to Source energy. These foundations form a 5 step plan that you can put into action. Even if you don’t accept the I am God hypothesis, you can still benefit from the process of using your imagination and visualization to create a more positive outlook in life. After all, isn’t that what we all want, a life that flows smoother and is fulfilling to us on multiple levels.

While reading the book and preparing to write this review I found a sense of peace in my life purpose and steps I am currently taking to implement the next stage of my life. I have consciously and unconsciously tweaked my method of manifestation and I can tell a difference, even for someone who was already working the “secret” for a number of years.

Wishes Fulfilled, while not new has spoken to me in ways that other books I have read did not. If I find two or three new ways of looking at an idea or concept in a book then I consider it a success because I have allowed my mind to be open and to thoughtfully consider new angles and deeper insights. I don’t always accept everything I read as absolute truth but rather use my own internal truth meter to see what resonates with me. I find that in most works, some ideas just don’t resonate with me but I have learned to not throw out the baby with the bath water. Sometimes the author may believe something that is simply not a “truth” and other times a second or third reading on a subject after I have gained more life experience will reveal the truth of the matter to me.

I have received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for review. This in no way effects my unbiased review of this work.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Oct 02, 2012 JemezMtnAngel

I always enjoy reading anything written by Dr. Wayne Dyer, but in his latest book, Wishes Fulfilled, I was taken to a whole other level. I am a believer in manifestation and I am a believer in miracles, but with Wishes Fulfilled, I can actually feel the magic in his words jumping out at me while I am absorbing what he is saying to me, the reader.

I enjoy reading the references made by Neville and the personal stories that Dr. Dyer gives in this book that just cement the very idea of Wishes Fulfilled. I believe that anyone can read this book, follow the steps inside and truly make their wishes become fulfilled. It is an awe inspiring, life changing book!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 30, 2012 judyshome
When the student is ready to learn, a teacher shows up. I first heard of Wayne Dyer in school. At that time, I was way too busy to read any of his work, but he showed up again on a PBS program, Wishes Fulfilled. He was such an amazing speaker and most of everything he said resonated with what I’ve been doing in the recent past, so when his book of the same name appeared, I was ready. I suppose if I missed the hint the first time around, I still had two other opportunities to learn from him.

As the title suggests, this book is all about how to attain your wishes: this could be landing that dream job, recovering from a serious illness, or whatever your heart’s desire. Wayne talks about how your potential is really only limited to your imagination – so if you dream big, you will be big. For example, before the airplane was invented, people had to have imagined it in their minds first. And no matter how many naysayers said, “that’s impossible”, it eventually came true.

One of the more important “take away points” I took from this book was that to make positive affirmations work, you have to feel them. I really think this is the factor that differentiates the people who think affirmations are useless and don’t work and the people who give it an honest go and make it work for them.

When I reflect on it, for whatever reason, people have a natural tendency to think negatively and the emotions that come with it are like second nature. We’re brought up to think that “negative” means “realistic” and we behave and act on this thought pattern. So, logically, naysayers try an affirmation, but their knee-jerk reaction is strong. Since the negative feeling they get from it is so much greater than the positive feeling they would get from the affirmation, it doesn’t work. I’ve been using positive affirmations for over a year. At first, it felt a little silly, almost as if I were lying to myself – which was interesting because I started out with Louise Hay’s “I love and approve of myself”. Strange that it would take so much effort to love myself when it should be innate! But I digress. With more repetitions, the feeling eventually manifested and I’m a lot better for it – to the state where I’m minimally affected by what others say/do.

Affirmations aside, to translate that into having your wishes fulfilled, we must speak as if we have already attained the ideal and (obviously) feel it too. Self-development 2.0 goals: work on my “I am” statements and eliminate any and all of the negative thoughts. Sounds like it`s going to be a lot of fun.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 26, 2012 ginadrellack
I just finished a beautifully resonating book by Dr. Wayne Dyer--Wishes Fulfilled: Mastering the Art of Manifesting. It was given to me by Hay House in exchange for an honest review.

Dr. Dyer offers a mind-opening way of looking at our lives manifested by our spirits in union with our Divine, and he offers specific thoughts and practices for accessing and maintaining this process. It is both a book of theory and a manual.

This book bathes the reader in support and love. And, it fills you so much with it that you can't not live that love and pass it on! Even if for a moment. And another one. And even another one. And that in itself is a wonderful thing.

Going beyond the moment, the I am (and what to do with it) that is reminded to us is a quiet, deep, Truth that is incredibly personal at the same time it is universal. Everyone reading this book will remember that they belong, just as they are.

I was surprised when I received my copy, because there were two when I was expecting one. I gave the other copy away, and after reading this book I understand why two were sent: this so profoundly needs to be shared. As much as I try to explain here what it is to experience this book, words fall so short.

I encourage you to pick up a copy, either physically or electronically (get it now with Kindle!!), and experience this message for yourself. And then share it.

I am grateful for this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Sep 09, 2012 alpha_andy_omega
I've read several books by Dr. Dyer over the years. My favorite was Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life, I didn't think he'd ever top it. With Wishes Fulfilled, though, I think Wayne Dyer has broken a lot of new ground, and maybe even surpassed all of his 30 plus books he's written over the past 40 years. The consummate teacher, this brilliant man, is capable of putting his own ego aside and weaving in the teachings of past luminaries from the Bible, and early 20th century consciousness leaders such as Neville Goddard, Uell S. Anderson , and the Saint Germain Discourses. The Dr. does a fantastic job of taking the huge ideas, and lofty language of the aforementioned, and boiling it down to easily digestible yet profound messages. This is an inspiring, heartfelt book. You won't feel this kind of honesty from most spiritual teachers. This is an important book, it isn't just about manifesting wishes, but creating a better world for you and yours. It's about rediscovering your true self, and potential, and then actively living it. This is an empowering book that I didn't want to put down, and will most likely read several more times. FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 16, 2012 Ravenb28

I am yet again left in awe. I've love Dyer's books for some time and for some reason (I think because of our similar childhoods) I am able to really relate to him when he writes. This book though for me was different than any of his previous books. In this beautiful book it starts out with a story of a Wish or Miracle as I'd call it of an individual through a physical ailment. I love Louis Hay's You Can Heal Your Life book and this story was similar to that for me. But as I began reading more I was moved by the humility of Mr. Dyer and his humbleness to share his knowledge in a way that made him seem more alive to me than any of his previous books. A good friend of mine and I are always talking about our lessons, and this book was a reminder that even those such as Mr. Dyer are still learning lessons. I would recommend this book to anyone who'd like to tap into their unfulfilled wishes by simply altering their thoughts. All my LOVE!!!! I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 15, 2012 blessedelements
If the theory of “presentation is everything” is true in the eyes of a chef then surely “attitude is everything” to an individual who wants to master the art of manifesting.

Dr. Wayne W. Dyer is the author of many books all dealing with aligning your thoughts to that of our higher source so we can be in sync with the holy energy and find the life of peace and prosperity of the things we desire as God meant us to be.

This book, ‘WISHES FULFILLED Mastering The Art of Manifesting‘, explores several incidents of the bible and other philosophers and teachers to create a solid path to get the reader to that spiritual journey.

Beginning with the concept we should have of ourselves, Dr. Dyer uses the incident in the bible where Moses met God in the desert as the burning bush. God reveals himself and several times throughout the bible by His/Her name of “I Am”.
In accordance to that, we too as those in His/Her image should also face life with the attitude of I Am. “I Am Fueled by God, I Am Happy, I Am Peace are just a few ways we should consider ourselves. Statements as I Am Tired, I Am A Failure, ect are in truth blaspheme to God. We after all can do all things through God so accepting anything less is cutting ourselves short of the mission we have here on Earth.

Focusing on how we are feeling, thinking and behaving are all parts of the key components to aligning ourselves to rightful thinking and finding our Higher Selves.

Dr. Dyer uses several examples of incidents in his own life and those of others to help the reader understand how to tap into the Love of God and emulate it.

Imagination and impacting the subconscious mind to stimulate the growth we want to see in our own life towards manifesting our desires that are in accordance to God’s desires are explored in this book.

Normally I devour any book I read by this author but this book was different. I read it at a slow pace and will no doubt read it several times again before loaning it to another.

The book was well written, inspiring and clearly defined with ideas and steps to take to master finding one’s higher self. For myself, I will need to study this book rather than merely re-read it to get the fullest benefit. I loved the examples given in the book and found it different from the ones previously written by this author and would recommend it to anyone seeking a stronger spiritual walk.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 10, 2012 mena888
I recently joined Hay House Book Nook and received the latest book from Wayne W. Dyer, "Wishes Fulfilled" as one of my possible selections to review.

I chose "Wishes Fulfilled" because I admired Wayne W. Dyer and his positive messages. He's an internationally renowned author and speaker in the field of self-motivation and self-development. He's the author of over thirty best selling books. He has created many audio programs and videos, and has appeared on thousands of television and radio shows. His most popular books include: Manifest Your Destiny, Wisdom of the Ages, There's a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem, and The New York Times bestsellers 10 Secrets for Success and Inner Peace, The Power of Intention, Inspiration, and Change Your Thoughts--Change Your Life, Excuses Begone and recently, Wishes Fulfilled.

Despite a childhood spent in orphanages and foster homes, Dr. Dyer has overcome many obstacles to make his dreams come true. He truly serves as a reminder and inspiration that we should follow his footsteps and do the same.

In "Wishes Fulfilled", Dr. Dyer states that we are basically all part of God. Each of us has the potential to have all our wishes fulfilled if we think about what we want, develop a plan, and connect with the Universe. Our wishes will then manifest or become fulfilled.

In "Wishes Fulfilled", Dr. Dyer shows the reader how to change the way we think, to choose what we think about and to learn to look at every thought, desire, etc in a way that benefits us to the highest degree.

Dr. Dyer has similar themes in his previous books and he always states that he studies old philosophers like Lao Tze. Dr. Dyers likes to build upon and incorporate what they said and help re-introduce new generations to their philosophy and way of thinking.

Throughout "Wishes Fulfilled" this theme appears: We must think of a goal, come up with a plan and believe. If you believe, you will achieve your goals.

Overall, this book has a positive and uplifting message and offers advice that you may have heard before but didn't know how to incorporate it. I would recommend this book.

Read it, be inspired by it, and watch your life change.
Why no voting buttons? We don't let customers vote on their own reviews, so the voting buttons appear only when you look at reviews submitted by others.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Aug 02, 2012 AndyB
Book: Wishes Fulfilled, Dr. Wayne Dyer - read!
When I found out this book was coming out, I was immediately interested in obtaining a copy. I have read several books by Dr. Dyer and every time one of his books finds a way into my life in the exact right time, as he says, in synchronicity with the situation that I'm living.

It was with no surprise that I found Wishes Fulfilled, Mastering the Art of Manifesting, another jewel of inspiration. Full of extraordinary testimonies to the power of manifestation, the book provides fascinating insight into the law of attraction, presented in an easy to read format that flows peacefully within our minds. The examples that Dr. Dyer provides about his own life and his family's life as well as the lives of other people that come in contact with him in a synchronicity of events makes it even more interesting to relate to the teachings that are discovered in the book.

It's an enriching volume of self-discovery and we need an open mind to absorb the messages presented in this book. Wishes Fulfilled is a lesson in self-discovery, self-esteem and the magic of believing in yourself and your strength to make you create your life in the best possible way. Thanks to Dr. Dyer, it's possible to see the world in a new, encouraging and positive way. I am that I am. Believe, and manifest. Believe that with God, all things are possible.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 25, 2012 SarahKleinCoach
“All great journeys challenge your spirit… But lift your soul. No matter what burden we carry, or how rough the terrain, we always discover…

We are stronger than we think.”

Maybe I should change the name of this blog to “I love Wayne Dyer.”

Because I do. I love him.

Another book review, another chance for me to tell you just how much.

In his latest book, Wishes Fulfilled, Dr. Dyer manages to take basic manifestation concepts and deepen them. He is the master of drilling home the same concepts he has taught those of us who follow his work before, but in new and interesting ways. He does this by incorporating both his personal antecdotes and passages from Neville and the Bible to name a few.

Dr. Dyer manages to inspire hope in everything he touches. When I finished reading this book, I realized I had recopied half of it into my journal — it is not so much WHAT he is saying (as I said, it is the same basic manifestation concepts I’ve learned from many of the greats over the years) but HOW he says it that keeps me coming back for more. I surely cannot get enough of this wise man or his work.

He manages, with each new book or audio or movie, to deliver exactly what I need to hear in exactly the ways I need to hear it.

Another beautiful book by Dr. Dyer in Wishes Fulfilled. Watch out world, things are about to get really really good around here. In fact, they already are.

Thank you, my dear Hay House friends.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 23, 2012 margauxjoy
Dr. Wayne Dyer has done it again! What an interesting book!

To be honest, I've read and enjoyed every book by Dr. Wayne Dyer so I was excited to see it when it arrived, and I am pleased to be able to review it.

The title WISHES Fulfilled sounded interesting. I was curious to hear Wayne Dyer's new thoughts and new stories.

I was also curious to read it because of an inspiring woman I met at the "Ignite I Can Do It!" in San Jose, California, March 17-18, 2012. Her name is Virginia Hummel and she was sitting next to me the first day of the conference.

I was fascinated by Virginia's knowledge of orbs. She showed me the photo she had taken which was published in WISHES Fulfilled. During the conference Virginia took many more photos and showed me the orbs that were in them.

In WISHES Fulfilled Dr. Dyer tells some interesting stories about orbs and has photos in the book so you can see them. I love that one of the orb photos in the book was taken by Virginia!

If you would like to see some of the amazing and wonderful ORB photos taken by Virginia Hummel at the "Ignite I CAN DO IT!" in San Jose.

I enjoyed the new stories Wayne tells in this book. The stories are incredible, amazing, and inspiring. I loved how reading this book made me feel.

Reading this book has also changed forever how I feel about the words I AM.

For years I'd heard it said that what we say after the words "I AM" was important and this book has helped me understand the power of those two words.

Now that I've read this book, I will always be careful what I say after those two powerful words – I AM.

What do YOU say after the words I AM?

Wayne Dyer suggests we say:

I AM STRONG
I AM WORTHY
I AM INFINITE
I AM LOVE
I AM GOD

Yes, Dr. Dyer says we are to say, "I AM GOD." WOW.

Depending on your beliefs this may be too far out of your comfort zone. But after years of reading Wayne Dyer's books, and hearing him speak live at "I Can Do It!" conferences it feels like the next logical step.

Wayne Dyer has said for years that we have God in us - now he is saying that when you say the words "I AM" you are saying the words that mean God. He says we need to be careful what we say after these two powerful words.

For example God – or Source – would never say anything "bad" or "negative" after the words I AM.

Dr. Dyer says we can change our self concept to include the fact that we have God in us and that we can do amazing things if we believe we can do them.

The book is divided into two parts.

Part one is about "The Higher Aspects of Yourself"
Changing Your Concept of Yourself
Your Higher Self
Your Highest Self

Part two of the book is about "The Five Wishes Fulfilled Foundations"
Using Your Imagination
Live from the End
Feeling It
Your Attention Please
Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

Seeing the five "Wishes Fulfilled Foundations" in this list helps me remember what I learned while reading the book.

Dr. Dyer emphasizes it is really important to spend the last five minutes before going to sleep imagining and feeling your wish as if it has already been fulfilled. This final "pep talk" to your subconscious mind is the last thing you do before going to sleep. During the next few hours your subconscious mind thinks about whatever you put into it just before sleep.

Following are a few inspiring quotes from the book:

Quotes by Dr. Dyer:

"Let your imagination explore the invisible realm in a way that you will allow this new energy to permeate your life, move to a place within yourself where Wishes Fulfilled is a new way of being rather than just the title of a book."

"A new self-concept begins with you placing it in your imagination and living from this new perspective."

"By placing new I AMs into my imagination, my future dream is a present fact."

"Here, you are creating an ideal of what you want to be and assuming that you already are that person. This is what Neville calls the Law of Assumption and he states emphatically, 'If this assumption is persisted in until it becomes your dominant feeling, the attainment of your ideal is inevitable.'"

"Remind yourself that your imagination is yours to use as you decide, and that everything you wish to manifest into your physical world must first be placed firmly in your imagination in order to grow."

"This Divine force awaits your imaginative energy. It can quite easily send the right people at the right time."

Quotes by Neville that Dr. Dyer included in this book:

"A change of feeling is a change of destiny."

"The feeling which comes in response to the question, 'How would I feel were my wish realized?' is the feeling which should monopolize and immobilize your attention as you relax into sleep. You must be in the consciousness of being or having that which you want to be or have before you drop off to sleep."

I am happy to say that I am glad to have read Dr. Dyer's new book so I could review it for Hay House Publishing. I highly recommend buying this book.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 13, 2012 WordMiller
There's one thing I can say about all of Dr. Wayne W. Dyer's books – they never disappoint. Time and time again I have read something he has written and thought to myself, “it doesn't get any better than this.” But time and time again, they actually DO get better, and his latest title, Wishes Fulfilled is his best project yet.

Wishes Fulfilled is designed to take the reader on a voyage of discovery, allowing them to begin to tap into the amazing manifesting powers that they possess within and create a life in which all that they imagine becomes a present fact. Stating that, “everything that now exists was once imagined and everything that will ever exist must first be imagined,” Wishes Fulfilled is dedicated to the reader's mastery of the art of realizing all of their desires.

The timing of this read for me was perfect as it was in the midst of my radical downsizing, and as I was taking rapid steps to simplify my life and make it one that I am able to more fully enjoy. Dyer writes that, “all transformation begins with an intense burning desire to be transformed.” and right now I have that desire, and am focused on transforming my life each and every day.

The desire to transform however, isn't enough, and Dyer takes the reader through a series of steps that they need to take to create a life where all they imagine really and truly can come true. He starts by urging readers to change their concept of themselves, as well as make the choice to change what they believe to be true. He then follows that with urging the reader to connect with their higher selves, or as he referred to it as, “the spark of God within you” and to expand that into a consciously larger component of their daily lives. It is through the daily connection with the higher self that the readers’ concept will gradually evolve into highest self.

Midway through the fourth chapter, I was not only getting what Dyer was conveying, I was getting excited about it! At this point in my life, change IS possible, transformation CAN happen, and I can design a life that works for me! As Dyer has said repeatedly throughout the years, “when the student is ready the teacher will appear,” and I feel that this hits the nail on the head with my experience with Wishes Fulfilled. I had this book for a few weeks before I had the time to read it. I was at the tail end of my radical downsizing and BOOM! I was ready to learn and once again the teacher appeared!

Leading readers through five Wishes Fulfilled Foundations, Dyer focuses on the power of the imagination as well as the necessity of living a life on purpose, and being balanced in the mind, body, and spirit. He takes the reader through embracing their higher selves and focusing on the power of their words and thoughts, on to assuming the feeling of the wish fulfilled. Through shifting our attention, Dyer helps readers understand that they should start living from rather towards their goals. “It is” has to replace the “someday.” Lastly, Dyer helps the reader understand the power of sleep and the subconscious mind.

In true Dyer fashion, he ends each chapter with suggestions for the reader to implement the ideas and principles presented, and the final chapter of Wishes Fulfilled is aptly titled, “Making It All Come Together.” In the final chapter, Dyer poses seven questions for the reader to contemplate and explore as they begin their wishes fulfilled life. The questions help the reader not only explore their journey, but also realize that yes, all things truly are possible.

It is in the ways that the book is formatted that something so incredibly life-changing and revolutionary becomes doable. Radical life change is hard. Changing a lifetime of thought and patterns, also hard. But not with Dyer serving as the teacher, he not only makes me want to be a better person, and live a more fulfilling life – he shows me how. Through real-life examples and personal insights into his journey, Dyer has once again shown me, I truly AM responsible for all aspects of my life, and now I won’t be working towards the “someday”, instead I will simply realize that it is, and it is now.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jul 04, 2012 slgordon

I recently read a great book, that I thought I would share my thoughts on…
In my humble opinion, Dr. Wayne Dyer is one of the greatest teachers of all time.  As the author of numerous best-selling books, his teachings focus on educating his readers how to live the life they are meant to have.  He does not teach a “one size fits all” when it comes to how time is to be spent here on Earth.  Instead, he teaches the importance of life’s congruency and the capacity of obtaining all that is meant to be – on an individualized basis.

Dyer does not disappoint his students in his new book “Wishes Fulfilled: Mastering the Art of Manifesting”.  As a spiritual teacher, Dyer inspires his readers to look within themselves for the peace and happiness that they were born to experience.  He encourages and inspires everyone to seek what has been within them all along, and utilize it to fulfill their desires.
In Chapter One, Dyer introduces the concept of looking beyond the ordinary self, and live from the extraordinary self (divine or spiritual being).  As he explains, the ordinary self is created from experiences of the past and becomes the belief system that directs all choices, decisions, and self-beliefs.  The extraordinary self is the higher being within – “Your Higher Self”, as Dyer writes about in Chapter Two.

Changing a lifelong belief system requires effort.  Dyer warns that “resistance is what will almost immediately appear for most people.   Simply allowing ourselves to imagine that we can create a higher concept of ourselves will bring resistance that we must recognize and overcome”.   “Wishes Fulfilled” is straight forward guidance that urges its readers to look deep within to move forward.

Dyer shares what he says is important for “miracle-making” to occur – your imagination and feelings. “Once you place a thought into your imagination about who you want to become, I encourage you to live from that end, as if it had already materialized into the physical realm.  When you are able to passionately feel whatever it is that you wish to have or become, as long as it is aligned with your highest self – that is, God – you become it and it becomes you.”
In his book, Dyer shares his personal experiences and miracles.  He speaks of miracles others have experienced, such as the wonderful story of Anita Moorjani, a woman on her death bed – dying of cancer, healed herself after a realization of her true loving nature.  In reading these experiences, you begin to understand how miracles are linked to individuals, unique as they are.  Miracles directly linked to the thoughts and dreams of these individuals.

Dyer summarizes the book with the excellent advice to “Let your imagination explore your invisible realm in a way that will allow this new energy to permeate your life.  Move to a place within yourself where Wishes Fulfilled is a new way of being rather than just the title of a book.”

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the product.

+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 19, 2012 ryseup
When my friends over at Hay House Publishing offered me the chance to review a copy of Wayne Dyer's "Wishes Fulfilled," I jumped at the opportunity. After recently watching Wayne on YouTube and after seeing his film, "The Shift," I had a strong desire to read one of his books. Well the universe answered that desire when they aligned me with Hay House, so how could I say no?

Wayne promises that after reading his newest book, Wishes Fulfilled, you will be able to tap into the amazing manifesting powers that are already hidden within you and that you will be able to create a life in which all you imagine for yourself becomes a present fact. Wayne states that you can achieve this by using your imagination and by practicing the art of assuming the feeling of your wishes already fulfilled. In this review, I will take an in-depth look at Wishes Fulfilled to see if it lives up to his claims.

Dr. Dyer starts out his book with a few stories and reflections from his own personal life. These are stories where Wayne used the principles found within, Wishes Fulfilled, to manifest his desires. Wayne talks about the mentors who had a strong impact on him as well as the importance of having an active imagination. Dr. Dyer says, "When you are able to passionately feel whatever it is that you wish to have or become, as long as it is aligned with your highest self - that is God, you become it and it becomes you."

I enjoyed the opening to his book and found reading his stories very interesting, however I found one of them to be a little far fetched. In one story Wayne tells us that he was giving a lecture to a group when he could actually feel Saint Francis enter his body and give him power. "I experienced him, not only by his words and not only around me, but in me - as me - while speaking," said Wayne. He then goes on to share a letter from a member of the audience, stating that she actually saw Wayne transform into Saint Francis. I enjoyed the message behind the story, and well, only Wayne and this lady could say what really happened that day, but I personally had a hard time swallowing this tale.

After the intro, Wayne goes into details discussing the importance of changing your concept of yourself, which is created by your beliefs. Chapter one is all about getting the reader ready to enter into a realm where all of their wishes are guaranteed to be fulfilled. Wayne tells us, "there's a plane of awareness that you can opt to live at wherein you can, if you are willing to change your concept of yourself as an ordinary being, find yourself fulfilling any and all wishes that you have for yourself."

Wayne then introduces readers to their connection with Source. He says that our higher-self, the one that is not held back by ego, is free to expand, is full of greatness, and is completely turned on by the idea of expanding without limits. "Your invisible self is extraordinary because it is a fragment of the universal soul, which is infinite. The part of you that knows you have greatness, and is stirred by the idea of you expanding and removing any and all limitations is what I am addressing here in Wishes Fulfilled. This is your new self-concept, one that is inspired by the soul," tells Wayne.

In chapter two Wayne goes into further details about how we all have a higher, divine self. He informs us that there is a spark of God within all of us that we can expand. To prove his point of view that we are all really spiritual beings enjoying a human experience, Wayne shares a very interesting idea. He says that we are not really our bodies because we are constantly outgrowing our bodies and growing into new bodies, yet the "I" that is you still remains, your consciousness, your divine self, your soul.

"It's become absolutely clear that you are obviously not your body. Why? Because the "I" has remained, though it continually sheds the body that it occupies," says Wayne. This chapter helped me look at my divine self in a new way, the example he used was cleverly put together and afterwards I was left feeling a deeper sense of connection to my higher self.

Next is the chapter that may scare some people. With chapter three he builds upon the concept of your higher self and helps you evolve into your highest self - God! Yes, Wayne wants you to recognize that you are God. He wants you to say it loud and proud, I AM GOD! This is the chapter in the book where I can see a lot of controversy starting since most religions teach that God is a separate and mysterious external force. But Wayne, like many other great spiritual teachers emphasize, all things are one, all things are God.

Wayne then opens our eyes to some passages in the Bible that show us that Jesus was trying to share the same message with the world when he said, "Let his mind be in you," and "Is it not written in your law, I said, Ye are gods?" Wayne assures us that saying I AM GOD, is not blasphemy and shares many more stories and examples why in the book.

After helping us overcome our limiting beliefs that were brought on from our self-concept by recognizing that we are all God, Wayne begins the journey of sharing his secret to manifestations with his five wishes fulfilled foundations. Chapter four is where you will find his first foundation, imagination. Wayne says, "the greatest gift you were ever given was the gift of your imagination."

I completely agree with this statement because before anything can be created, it must first be imagined. Your imagination is the source of all-being. Wayne explains to us that, "if you live from those imaginings, the universe will align with you in bringing all that you wish for." Wayne then further tells us that anything which is placed in our imagination and held their, will ultimately become our reality.

Basically what Wayne is teaching us is the law of attraction. The biggest problem most people have with the law of attraction is that they usually spend most of their time imagining what they don't want, instead of what they actually want. Thankfully, Wayne also addresses this issue in this chapter as well. He also shares four golden rules for maintaining a healthy imagination.

With the second foundation, "you are going to be retraining your imagination so that it accepts the idea that anything placed there isn't for a future experience, but represents your reality, right here, right now," Dr. Dyer says. This chapter of the book is all about seeing the end as if it is already here. Act as if.

Wayne shares a fun story of how he uses this principle himself whenever he writes a new book. Wayne will have the book jacket for his finished book made before he even begins to write a single word. He then places the book jacket around the spine of another book so that he can see and act as if the book is already done. Wayne then leaves the book on his desk and begins to write, seeing the book as if it is finished. He claims that this allows the words to flow through him with great ease.

I can relate well with this story because I have done many similar things in the past. In fact, just the other week I had plans on creating a new online self-help training program for my website readers. Instead of creating the product first, I created the website first. This ended up helping me visualize my finished product better and pushed me forward in my writing. I had been putting off writing that project for months, but once I could see the end game, I was able to finish it up in just a few short weeks.

During the third foundation you will discover how to make your dreams come true by assuming the feeling of the wish already fulfilled. Here you are being encouraged to not only act as if, but to actually feel as if your wish is fulfilled. "By literally feeling the reality of the state that you seek, which is firmly in your imagination, you have the means of creating miracles," says Wayne.

For us to be able to assume the feeling of the wish fulfilled, requires a fundamental awareness of how our subconscious mind works. Wayne uses a great quote to explain it, "The subconscious mind is the womb of all creation. It receives the idea unto itself through the feelings of man. It never changes the idea received but always gives it form."

What Wayne is teaching here is that the subconscious mind accepts as true whatever you feel to be true. Your feelings will determine your reality because they're impressed on the subconscious.

With the forth foundation Wayne discusses the importance of keeping your attention on your manifestations despite what others may say or think. "You can do everything right in the first three foundations of a wishes fulfilled life, but if you allow your attention to be diverted by outer stimulus and abandon even for a moment the I AM in your imagination, you will delete the entire project," warns Wayne. This chapter reminded me of the talk by Steve Jobs at Stanford University where he said, "Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life." Which is exactly what happens when you lose your attention and stop focusing on your wishes.

The fifth foundation I kind of expected to be about taking action or maintaining persistence with your manifestations but instead, the last foundation focuses on getting ready for sleep. It is still a good chapter though, with a lot of good advice that I have already incorporated into my own life a few years ago so I didn't take many notes here.

One important note that I did write down however, was the fact that Dr. Dyer says the last five minutes of your day are the most important. This is because, "throughout the hours while your conscious mind is resting, your subconscious mind is receiving and processing all that you've downloaded onto it, and getting ready to turn it's impressions into form and circumstances," informs Wayne.

The final chapter is when Wayne pulls it all together. It was written to help assist you in "achieving that immensity that your soul is seeking." It is comprised of seven questions for you to reflect upon and explore as you begin your wishes fulfilled life.

Wayne then closes the book with three personal stories of manifestations. While I enjoyed the last two stories, Wayne should take a photography class before calling a lens flare, created by the sun in the background, an orb.

The book was great, but I was a little disappointed that Wayne never gets into acting on your desires, intentions and wishes. Instead, Wayne wants us to believe that if we just align ourselves with Source, miracles will happen and everything will fall into place. I understand that there is truth to this because I have witnessed it in my own life, but you still have to understand when to act or react to your wishes. The fact remains that Wayne still had to take massive action to fulfill his Dharma, but he glosses over this in his writing.

You see, it has been my experience that when you take action, you will inevitably trigger all kinds of things that you would have never even imagined. It allows you to declare to the universe that you are serious in your intentions. Other people with similar goals will begin to show up, take notice and become aligned with you. Things that once seemed confusing begin to become clear. Things that once seemed difficult begin to get easier. All manner of good things begin to flow in your direction once you begin to take action.

So, since I enjoyed this book but felt it was missing that one ingredient to finish it off, action, I was going to give it a three star rating. But after sitting on this review for a few days and letting the teachings sink in, I noticed something, a new found awareness. I have become much more aware whenever I am about to use the phrase I AM. I instantly take notice and make sure that I do not take the Lord's name is vain by saying something congregant with love. Since I now feel like this book is going to have a life-changing impact on me long-term, I have increased my rating to a four out of five stars.

Oh, by the way, Hay House Publishing was nice enough to send me this book for free in exchange for my thoughts. This has in no way effected the outcome of my review and I received no compensation to write this review. This book was great read!
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Jun 05, 2012 ckennedy
Wishes Fulfilled: Mastering the Art of Manifesting

By Dr. Wayne W. Dyer (Hay House Publishing, 2012)

Embarking on a life-changing transformation, this book will open your eyes to the power of “I Am,” which refers to the divine power of God. Dr. Wayne W. Dyer shares that we all have this power available to us to leverage in helping to fulfill our own wishes. Real life stories of people that have experienced this power and shared it in their own words are scattered throughout the pages of this book.

“Recall that your concept of yourself is everything that you believe to be true about your inner and outer self. Those beliefs have created the life you’re now living-at what I call an ordinary level of awareness. To move into the extraordinary space that I’m writing about in this book requires you to change what you believe is true. This can be a laborious project and an undertaking that, in my experience, few people are eager or willing to take on. I am writing this book to give you some very specific guidance and help in doing just that,” (Dyer, 2012, p. 31).

There are photographs, as well as a notes section in this book. Bound in a durable hard cover, this book will last for several years of reading.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free through Hay House Publishing book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255vf: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
May 09, 2012 WellnessWoman
For the past 4 years, I've been listening to Wayne Dyer's radio show, reading his books and seeing him at live events when possible. His philosophy on life and what he teaches has had a powerful impact on my own life and I credit what I learned from him to helping me through some of the most difficult times in my life. Once I started to embrace, believe and incorporate his teachings, life started getting easier and more enjoyable. The things I had previously wanted in life but struggled to attain now came almost effortlessly. So, I was not surprised when his latest book, Wishes Fulfilled, arrived on my doorstep from Hay House for my review.

Reading Wayne's words and his personal stories (of which I particularly enjoy), reinforce the power of the steps he provides. As I read the book, I realized that adopting this mindset and living my life from this place created the magical life I live and love today.

This is not a book for someone who wants to get rich quick or achieve fast results without any real effort. If you are new to this type of thinking, it will be an effort to open your mind to the 5 Wishes Fulfilled Foundations Wayne describes in the book. Wayne keeps in mind readers new to this type of thinking and makes it easier by sharing suggestions at the end of each chapter so you are clear in moving forward.

He also shares his own personal life experiences on how he achieved great success today. After being raised in foster homes, he achieved great wealth in spite of choosing a career where he was often told was not possible. He continues to incorporate these steps in his daily life and openly shares his personal stories of success in regards to other areas, including his health.

In Wishes Fulfilled, you are given the tools to build your life. If you are ready to open your mind and create a mansion, I strongly encourage you to read this book.

**I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Apr 20, 2012 mybookchatter
“Wishes Fulfilled is designed to take you on a voyage of discovery, wherein you can begin to tap into the amazing manifesting powers that you possess within you and create a life in which all that you imagine for yourself becomes a present fact.” Hay House by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

First, I must disclose that I am relatively new to this-way-of-thinking or this train-of-thought, this spiritual path. Because I know how silly it may sound to some well-educated or well seasoned individuals when I say: WOW

I read this book in a day. This was the first of Dr. Dyer’s that I could so easily absorb and I felt hungry and wanted more, so pushed through to the end. Again, please pardon the oh so common phrases but at the end, I felt that my experience was mind-bending and life-altering.

I have heard of similar events, that Dr. Dyer has personally experienced and writes about, but had not given them much credence. I feel that because this is reported by Dr. Dyer – this opens up a whole new world of thought and possibilities – as was intended.

I am deliberately being vague because I don’t want to spoil, for the next readers, what I thought were some amazing stories and events. They’ll have to choose for themselves if they are to be altered.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
Mar 19, 2012 timlarison
“I am God”

Early in his book “Wishes Fulfilled: Mastering the Art of Manifesting” Wayne Dyer encourages his readers to declare this bold statement. The key to manifesting your desires, Dyer believes, is recognizing your divine nature and live from that.

Now this statement will immediately cause some readers to toss the book aside. “Much of organized religious teaching proclaims that God is an all powerful being outside of you,” Dyer says. People of that mindset will no doubt consider “Wishes Fulfilled” heresy.

I would encourage you to stick with Dyer and let him explain this different concept of God than what you may be familiar with. “There exists within all of us a Divine spark, called the I am that I am, and when it is kindled and nourished, it is capable of miracle-making at an astonishing level,” Dyer writes.

Two keys to “miracle-making”, says Dyer, are your imagination and feelings. “Once you place a thought into your imagination about who you want to become, I encourage you to live from that end, as if it had already materialized into the physical realm,” he writes. And “when you are able to passionately feel whatever it is that you wish to have or become, as long as it is aligned with your highest self – that is, God – you become it and it becomes you.”

I liked these ideas and looked backed at the accomplishments in my own life. Did I not first “imagine” that I could create something special, and “feel” it was possible, before my past visions became reality? Yes! Reading Dyer’s detailed explanation of this process encouraged me to make these mental exercises a part of my daily routine. I created a one page summary of the book’s key points and pasted it to my “quote wall” at home, where I look at it every day. I am excited to see what future “miracles” occur in my life by following these principles.

Dyer gives many examples throughout the book from his own life and from others on how this process can change lives. One in particular I was impressed with was the story of Anita Moorjani, a woman who was on the brink of death yet healed herself of cancer after a realization of her true loving nature. Dyer also touches on other spiritual phenomena, like the presence of mysterious “orbs” in photographs at his lectures, and his own remote healing from the Brazilian “John Of God”.

Wayne Dyer in my opinion is one of the great spiritual teachers alive on the planet today. “Wishes Fulfilled” is another in his series of inspirational books that have had a positive impact on my life. “Let your imagination explore your invisible realm in a way that will allow this new energy to permeate your life,” Dyer suggests. “Move to a place within yourself where Wishes Fulfilled is a new way of being rather than just the title of a book.”

This is another book review in my partnership with Hay House. I was not financially compensated for this post. I received the book from Hay House for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
+
Read on Blog
0 people found this review helpful.
 

Reviews

Browse Reviews